Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Cobb High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2005

I am currently a sophmore at South Cobb high school and have to sadly say that I am dissapointed. 'Teachers' do not 'teach.' Yes, this sounds very spurious, but is unfortunately true. All I did in my French class is view Disney movies in ENGLISH! No subtitles in French or anything either! In my English class I have never been asked to write anything longer than half a page. The last time I checked, teachers were supposed to encourage you. The administration is nonexistent. I blame these problems on the 'principal.' I know not what she does with her time, but what I do know is that she doesnt try and neither do the majority of teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2004

I am a senior at South Cobb. I am continually let down by the school's low academic performance and nonexistent extra curricular activities. I have been a student at SC for four years and I feel that I have not learned enough to be successful in college. I have taken the toughest courses at SC, but many of these courses do not allow the student to gain deep insight into the curriculum. I have also had a lot of trouble with some of the teachers, because some fail to realize the need to instill a proper education in their students and instead continue to review the same material that most students learn in middle school. I hope that SC will someday be able to excel, but it does not seem likely due to the lack of extracurricular activities, the inept teachers, and the limited course selection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2004

My child has enjoyed attendint this school. She is a junior this year. I am impressed with the eargerness of the teachers to communicate with me about my child's progress. I have never had a problem with communicating with my child's teacher. The administration was excellent in handling a concern I had with one teacher, who is no longer at the school. The cooperation of the staff and administrators at this school regarding academic or teacher concern is excellent! I'm looking forward to my so attending this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2004

i am a not a parent but a frshmen and the problem that i see is that the school is way too crowd and everything else is cool, communication between parent and teacher is good however most of the time teachers read their emails more than they do their answering messenges. the teacher are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2004

I was a student at South Cobb High recently. I enjoyed all my classes and teachers. This school is a good school. Some kids take advantage of that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2004

I'm not a parent of a child at South Cobb, I'm actually a student and South Cobb is a good school for children who are trying to receive the upmost, top education. The administrators are great also in trying to make South Cobb a better place to learn. This school, is very good if you're into receiving an education with the upmost high respect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2004

My 16 year old nephew that I am raising has been attending South Cobb for the past three years, here is what I have noticed: 1. Poor communication between the teacher and parents, they send communication through the students - they expect the teenagers to tell you what is going on by way of handouts or verbal, most of which are lost or forgotten. 2. The teachers wait until it is too late to notify you that your childs grades are suffering-this problem I am sure is linked to the above issue. 3. When notified of my nephews failing grades, I tried to contact the teacher to see if there was a way that we could work to improve them. My calls were never returned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2003

What the previous parent didn't tell you is that drugs and booze are rampant in the school and the administration seems to be almost totally unaware. They are more concerned with a kid (not mine by another parent's child) arriving 4 minutes late than the fights in the hall ways. The physical plant is old and run down, the halls dreary and classes are sometimes spread so far apart is it almost impossible for a kid to get from one class to another without being late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2003

South Cobb is a good school. It's principle is great and most of the teachers are very helpful.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

381 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

358 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

376 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

379 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
42%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
56%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
3%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
48%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
39%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
21%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 66% 37%
Hispanic 16% 12%
White 14% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ashley Hosey
Fax number
  • (770) 819-2613

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1920 Clay Rd
Austell, GA 30106
Phone: (770) 819-2611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Colonial Hills School
Lithia Springs, GA


HoneyFern School
Marietta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT