Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ball Ground Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2014

The Principal is awesome! Very interactive with the students and is definitely a positive attribute to the school. The STEM program is a plus as well. My son is very happy here and loves the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

BGES is an above average school, with exceptional teachers and staff. My daughter went to kindergarten at Ball Ground last year and she had an excellent year. Her teacher certainly went out of her way to provide a wonderful education; she was organized, disciplined, and loving. The principal knows the school, the kids, and even gets to know the parents. A great school...unfortunately we had to move out of state. We will miss BGES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

BGES Always has the most awesome teachers and the most up to date technology. My nieces attend here and my son will in a few years. I can't wait!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

Having a child at Ball Ground Elementary School has been a blessing. My child started in Kindergarden, his teacher just won teacher of the year...his First grade teachers just got her Master's Degree and was awarded honors with Cherokee County. His second grade teacher gave him a love for reading and spelling beyond my dreams...His third grade teacher has a Master's in Science and brought helped my son to maintain an honor's status and love of all subjects...she told me my son was a wonderful student and she enjoyed him so much...now...this child...I could not get past the pre-school desk without a yellow note..LOL...BGES principal Doug Knott goes above and beyond his duties as Principal. I am so thankful for finding this little town and loving it so much. I also have had the opportunity to serve on the executive board of the PTA for the last 2 years...what a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

I have a daughter who will be in 3rd grade this year at Ball Ground and a son who will be starting the preschool program here. The 2 years my daughter has been at Ball Ground has been the best two years ever. She has learned so much from wonderful teachers. I can't wait for another great year. Mr. Knott is very hands-on, and knows how to display great leadership skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

My daughter only got to attend Ball Ground for 5 months in her Kindergarten year and she and I LOVED it! Mrs. Redman is OUTSTANDING and so is Principal Knott! We felt so welcome and got that warm fuzzy feeling that you hope to get at an elementary school. We had to move and would come back to Ball Ground if we could just so our daughter and son could attend there. We are in a very high rated school now but it can't compare to Ball Ground in any way shape or form! Learning should be fun and it is at Ball Ground! We miss you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

I have had a student in Ball Ground Elementary since 1999. I loved it then and love it even more now. While our old principal was efficient and hands-ons our new principal is even more so. He also has new ideas about how to make things work for the betterment for all students at our school. He cares about everything from student test scores to how the flower beds are maintained. I could not be happier anywhere else. The teachers are top-rate...some nationally certified...this is the greatest elementary school in cherokee county and perhaps in all Georgia counties, but shhh! don't tell everyone we're getting pretty full!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

Ball Ground is terrific growing community and I believe that my daughter is achieving socially and academically in this 'Mayberry' environment. As a former teacher with 10 years experience and a child entering her 3rd year at the school, I feel that BGES is an excellent school and run by a principal that has a vision and 'realistically' works within the system to provide a wonderful learning and working environment for the success of students, teachers, and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

One parent wrote:'but he's trying to run a small, rural school like he would in New York'. If upgrading the library to be one of the 21st century, not the 18th, having a 300% growth to the PTA,motivating the teachers to upgrade school test scores, being available to whoever needs him --is running a school as in NY, well bring him on ! The previous principal let the school coast. This new principal is the leader that this school needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Ballground Elementary school is one of the better public schools around, but it is still a public school that needs some changes made. Since we have gotten a new principal this year, it's changed quite a bit for the worse. No one will ever beat the principal we had. He leaps before he checks things out and does things because it's standard. He doesn't look at the individual case. I believe the principal can make or break a school. Given a few years, he will be fine, but he's trying to run a small, rural school like he would in New York where he's from and it just won't work that way. Anyone interested in 5th grade needs to find somewhere else to attend. The teachers are wonderful until you get to the 5th. That's why my family won't be attending there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

Ball Ground Elementary has been wonderful for our children and our community. There is great communiction between the school and parents and everyone works together for the betterment of our children. We are so glad we live here!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

65 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

65 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

65 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

58 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 44%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 37%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

480 Old Canton Rd
Ball Ground, GA 30107
Phone: (770) 735-3366

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Brenwood Academy
Canton, GA


Brenwood Academy
Canton, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT