Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Oconee High School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
We moved to Oconee County for the school system. My child has had rigorous classes & an opportunity to excel at NOHS. My only regret is that my child has experienced racial bias by some students, teachers & administrators.

North Oconee High School 1

Posted September 22, 2011
- a parent
This school is really disappointing. It supposedly has high ranking in the state, but it is only good for middle of the road students whose family does not want them in Clarke County. My daughter is disabled and the school has refused her accommodations, made the IEP process bitterly difficult and tried to intimidate our family. We are moving out of GA at the end of this school year to find a better high school for our very bright kid.


North Oconee High School 5

Posted September 18, 2011
- a student
As a student, I can honestly say that I can't imagine a better school. We are challenged everyday and more importantly, encouraged to challenge ourselves. The counselors work extremely hard to help students in any way they can, and our principal is the most respectable man. He gives us respect, and without force, he gets it back. Our class choices are wonderful for such a young school - about 15 different APs (not selective- anyone can sign up), core classes with techers who make the topics interesting, and many many CTAE courses and pathways. Our extracurriculars are encouraged - we have a huge amount of clubs to join and North Oconee excells in the fine arts as well as sports. Ask a parent, teacher/faculty member, or student, NOHS is a fantastic school.

North Oconee High School 5

Posted July 12, 2011
- a parent
North Oconee High School is EXECELLENT! The teachers and staff that my child has had have given 150 percent. I cannot say enough good things about them.

North Oconee High School 1

Posted September 03, 2010
- a parent
We moved her for this school and are more and more disappointed. The teachers and textbooks frequently push a liberal agenda on our children. The french teacher showed our kids "Farenheit 911" in class and gave the honors 3 kids a test on which every single question was about islamic religious doctrine. A government teacher told our son that conservatives are undereducated and liberals are well educated. The text for AP world history has chapter after chapter about islam, islamic cultures, the spread of islam, etc... but has very little about Christianity. This school uses "block scheduling." That means that kids only have 4 classes at any given time. Usually two of those are real academic classes and the other two are some fluff from a list of electives. My son ended up in "current events." In this "class" he sits around reading Time and Newsweek magazines.


North Oconee High School 5

Posted March 19, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

North Oconee High School 0
no rating

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
I think North Oconee is the best high school I have seen. Great teachers and staff, pushing kids to be part of the community in a positive way! ZTeaching them to be not only good students but good people!

North Oconee High School 5

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
This has been the greatest school my child has ever attended.


North Oconee High School 1

Posted May 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

North Oconee High School 5

Posted February 07, 2009
- a parent
This is an excellent school. The staff and administration truly care about each student. The community is awesome as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Oconee High School
1081 Rocky Branch Rd, Bogart, GA  30622
(706) 769-7760
Last modified North Oconee High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Oconee High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top