Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Needwood Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Needwood has improve tremendously on parent /teacher communication.Teachers at Needwood are willing to help and have answered all my emails or phone calls. I would recommend NEEDWOOD MIDDLE TO EVERYONE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

My son been in Needwood so far 3 yrs and so please with the school. I love it my son love it great staff and personal, really training personel and kind most important they do care about your child if any problem of your child or struggle they make a back up plan to help your child and i can tell it work they work hard and so grateful with Needwood Middle School i love it. Great principal any concern the parent has he will help and resolve every single matter of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

The school is slowly getting better. I think the principal is really trying to make the school a better learning environment than it was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

This is my granddaughters first year at Needwood and so far I am quite pleased. The principal is very attentive to the students needs, the teachers are wonderful. If ever I have a question about my childs academics or anything regarding the school they have been quick to answer. I look forward to 3 GREAT years at Needwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

I love the reviews of parents claiming the schools have failed their children, yet there are numerous typos and bad grammar! Parents should be the number one educators of children. It starts at home... Think about it.


Posted June 1, 2010

This school was awful,my daughter attended all three years there and all they did was talk about high expectations for the students.And in return could not control the classrooms.The higher standards for the teachers is what they should of been talking about .The Principal was unaware of anything,the Guidance Counselors were helpless anytime you had questions no one new the answers.There were so many incidents at this school.I feel like they left my child behind she said they didn't teach her anything and if you look at their recent scores they didn't teach nuch to other students as well.2009-2010
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

My daughter just recently completed 8th grade at Needwood Middle. Coming from Florida, I thought that this middle school would be comparible to what she was used to, I was very wrong!! It was horrible! There were several issues that my daughter was involved in that warranted my attention but I was not aware of the issues until another parent told me! It was as if they tried to cover up and deal with it behind closed doors. As far as academics go, her last year (7th) teachers were wonderful and saw her academic needs and talents. I can not say the same for her 8th grade teachers. She is now in 9th grade and failing/struggling in her strongest subject because in her own words, 'the teacher didn't teach us anything!' Think twice before you choose this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My Daughter attended Needwood Middle for a year. I was also the PTSA president. I was very unhappy with this school. I felt as if my daughter wasn't given the education she deserved because of over crowding and lack of 'qualified' teachers. A new principal was hired this year who had a bunch of ideas but refused to tackle the current problems first. I am also sorry to say that the PTSA couldn't thrive in this school because the principal didn't appreciate what we were there for which was to help the children and our school. This school didn't seem to welcome outside volunteers very well. At any rate we have since switched schools and my daughter is doing great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

I am satisfied with the overall academic programs, but the new administration (06-07), including the guidance counselors, do not provide adequate support of parental concerns and are inconsistent with their management of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

My daughter has finished 6th and 7th grades at Needwood. The teachers, with the exception of one, have been exceptional. However, the front desk (secretary, receptionist, etc.) are horrible. They treat the parents like bad children. It made you to not want to go in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

178 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 37%
White 34% 44%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jim Pulos
Fax number
  • (912) 261-4491

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

669 Harry Driggers Blvd
Brunswick, GA 31525
Phone: (912) 261-4488

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT