Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gordon Central High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2013

This is an amazing school . They have the best teachers ever who make learning fun and they always have something going on. I love this school . It's ALOT better than Calhoun is.


Posted July 26, 2010

I also go to this school, and I am very satisfied with it. The teachers are caring a fun. They won't bore you. They know how to make the school year fun and exciting. Makes living in Calhoun better..
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2008

i go to gordon central it is a very safe enviroment !
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2008

I attend GC and I love it I think it is one of the best schools in the country we do not have any problems with gangs. We also have a wide range of extracurricular activites and sports making GC great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 4, 2007

Am a past student graduated in 2005. Was`a pretty good school. Loved the art program with terry knight,pottery with ms. Jacobs,and social studys with erin miller
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2007

My oldest daughter graduated from Gordon Central in 2003. I will be sending my youngest daughter there in 2008. If I were not extremely pleased with Gordon Central, I would not send my youngest there. I am very pleased with GCHS. I do wish that Terry Knight were still there however to teach Art. I think that the Art dept., has suffered due to his leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

I am a former student of this school. I graduated from it in 2001 and I am glad that I went to this school. The teachers and other staff are amax=zing and I will happily send my daughter there when she hits high school. The honors class that I had were great, the teachers really did care if you passed or not. When I was a student, Mrs. Diane Dobson was the choral director and I loved being in her class. She didn't just have you singing, she taught you how to read the music you were singing. Terry Knight is a great artist and teacher. All the coaches are wonderful. They helped you to better your self health wise. Unfortunetly, my parents weren't involoved in my schooling much, but others parents that I knew were and they were listened to with everyone's full attention. No school uniforms please. Ever!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 28, 2005

I am not a parent, but I attended Gordon Central for three years. They have the most helpful staff and the best teachers I've ever had. They've helped me grow as an individual. Gordon Central also has spectacular extracurricular activities. The cheerleading sqaud was challenging' but so much fun! Unfortunately I'll be changing schools my senior year; however, Gordon Central holds some of my best memories! And I'm definetily going to miss this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 26, 2005

Visually - scary! JKids need better control on dress code and appearance. Nutritionally - fried, fried, and iceberg lettuce.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 30, 2004

The staff at Gordon Central are the most professional and hard working people I know, The special education program is ran by the most efficient and dedicated people I know. I have researched other schools and progams and nothing compares to Gordon Central, They also care about my children and thats rare and much appreciated ms. deperro
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

I love this school it is a great place for my child well better then the last one she went to.I would like to say that you are changen the dress code agian; well I would like to say that is good but I would rether see the childern in uniforms soon...Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

187 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

187 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

187 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

187 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
94%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 44%
Hispanic 17% 12%
Black 4% 37%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

335 Warrior Path NE
Calhoun, GA 30701
Phone: (706) 629-7391

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Adairsville High School
Adairsville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT