Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Calhoun, GA
Students enrolled: 1,038

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sonoraville High School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
I'm a proud parent of 2 children. One just graduated and the other attends sonoraville middle school. Sonoraville High is without a doubt the best school in Gordon County. My children attended Calhoun High/Middle two years ago, but there were two many politics and favoritism amongst the student body. Since they opened in '07 their academic standards have gotten better and better. Sonoraville Middle has the best middle school ranking around and the high school is well on its way to being in the top 100 academic schools in Georgia out of nearly 500 schools. My child was extremely happy with most teachers and absolutely loves Mr. Potts. I Highly recommend SHS to anyone considering high schools.

Sonoraville High School 3

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
It seems like there is an epidemic of teenage pregnancy at SHS. It is a rural school but a wholesale change of the value system is needed. I am very nervous sending my daughters there. A disproportionate number of kids drink and smoke pot. There is also a very cliquish environment which is hard for incoming students from other areas. This also holds true for the sports teams. Instead of fielding the best players, they tend to play the kids who have been in the feeder programs over better players. Unfortunately, there are no good private school alternatives.


Sonoraville High School 1

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
and dont get me started on the only 1 way out of the whole parking lot...i wish we had experienced what everyone else has but there have been several lock downs the past few years(bomb threats mostly). bullying seems to be a big problem along with favoritism. we have had both to the point my kid has had to drop classes due to 1 girl being nasty and physical with my kid. no real help or solutions. that girl still continues her bullying but with other kids. it also is expensive to go here. every time i blink my kid needs money for a new different shirt or outfits for every club or field trips, equipment,clubs, ect. easily spend $300-$400 a year now. cant use whatever you have they all have to match. and theres only 1 way out of the whole parking lot. not a very smart development plan

Sonoraville High School 5

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
With so much diversity in our world today it's amazing there are people and places where erverone can go and be just one! Im blessed I have 2 children that were fortuneate to have so many people that had a long lasting impact on their lives.

Sonoraville High School 5

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sonoraville High School 5

Posted February 04, 2009
- a student
Sonoraville is a school without bias. The school doesn't focus on sports alone or academics alone. It's a well rounded school.

Sonoraville High School 0
no rating

Posted February 03, 2009
- a student
I've been at sonoraville for four years and i can't complain. They offer help to everyone who needs it. The school is all about the students success in the future. Help is availible and those who choose to take the offers, tutoring if absolutely needed, then they are more than likely going to pass there years of school at sonoraville high school. I can't say much about the teachers because for one i haven't had the chance to talk with all the teachers... But if the students do well in most classes then the teachers are very compliant to the stundent's needs.....

Sonoraville High School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a student
This is the best school I've been at! They are so nice and welcoming. I think that if you are looking for a school to go to, Sonoraville High is the one you should look at for your first choice.


Sonoraville High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2008
- a student
I believe that SHS is a great school and it should be considered for anyone in the area!

Sonoraville High School 0
no rating

Posted May 28, 2008
- a student
Sonoraville High is a great place to go to. The technology is very recent and the teaching methods as well. Although the atmoshere at sonoraville is great, there is a few teachers that should be weeded out. If you are looking for a school for your child, Sonoraville would be a good choice.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sonoraville High School
7340 Fairmount Hwy SE, Calhoun, GA  30701
(706) 602-0320
Last modified Sonoraville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sonoraville High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top