Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

American Heritage Academy

Private | PK-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Canton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $172,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2011

I am currently teaching a child who came from many successful years at AHA. His math background is woefully inadequate. His prerequisite skills are severly lacking. I don't know what they are teaching in high school math there, but their public school counterparts are far surpassing what is being done there.


Posted April 17, 2011

We started one son at AHA due to the public school class size had increased to 25 and he needs the smaller environment. He has soared with AHA, gaining more than he ever did in public school. We love the teachers and Ms. Day so much, and all that they have done for him, that we then decided to pull his twin brother and little sister out of public school, mid-year in February, and they have already seen improvement too. The attention to details is amazing and their relationship with the kids is unmatched. I believe we have the best teachers in the world. I can't wait to see what they can get out of my kids again next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

My very bright 5th grade grandson, who hated his large public school, says American Heritage Academy is "AWESOME"!! Thank you AHA.


Posted March 8, 2011

My children have been at American Heritage Academy for 3 years. They are so happy at AHA. Every year their teachers have been exceptional and I have been so impressed at how my children have grown academically and socially. The teachers and administration are always available to speak with about any need your child or family may have and work one on one with you to reach your goals. Parents are encouraged to volunteer in any number of ways and are always welcomed anytime of the day to drop by and see what our children are doing. We have enjoyed becoming a part of the AHA family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

We are in our 4th year at AHA and have two children there and I have not a single negative thing to say about the school. Both of my children are studying material a year ahead of their peers in public (Bascomb district) and are excelling socially and academically. The teachers are sincere, genuine and caring and the school has a wonderful family environment where you can rest assured your children are not only safe but free from the "social agenda" items of the public school system, as well as receiving individual instruction one on one from their teachers. I don't care how you cut it up, there is no way you can compare a ratio of 12 or 13 to 1 to 28 to 1 no matter how good the teacher. At AHA the teachers have the opportunity to know each child well as an individual and cater to that child's strengths or weaknesses. I can't imagine being anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

I have 2 boys a 1st grader who has been at AHA since prek3 and my youngest is in prek4. My youngest also has Type 1 diabetes and if it wasnt for AHA I do not know what I would do. The Staff, Administration, and basically everyone at the school takes care of my son as though he is there son. They call when they have questions and anytime I want to go see or check on either boy I am allowed without any hassle. The school is the best thing that could have happened to us. Also, the oldest is advanced and the teachers make sure to keep him going so he doesnt get bored! This school is WONDERFUL and if anyone says any less I am greartly sadden by their words. Thank You American Heritage for EVERYTHING you do for my boys!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

American Heritage Academy has been a great school in every way. In the five years we have been here, my daughter has flourished academically and socially, while getting exposure to a wide variety of extracurricular activities. The curriculum provides for much more than just strong academics, helping to make her a well-rounded individual. One of the things that has impressed me the most about the school is the ability to individualize the curriculum to meet specific needs. My daughter is bilingual (English/Spanish) and the school was able to provide her with an individualized curriculum where she can work on reading advanced Spanish literature. She is now able to summarize what she read and put it in writing while also enhancing her already advanced vocabulary. Individualizing her curriculum is something you would not be able to get at some larger schools (ex, Westminster) in Atlanta. This could not be done without a great administration that implements the individualized curriculum and the dedication of their teachers. Thanks again, American Heritage Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

My children have been attending AHA since the school opened it's doors. In reading some of the reviews posted it makes me wonder who are these people? I am a truly involved parent when it comes to my children. That is one of the reasons we chose a private school. The doors are always open for parent involvement. The teachers and staff have always gone over and above to make things happen for the students...to make the school a "home" away from home. My daughter was diagnosed with a learning disability early on thanks to one of the teachers and with help from all of her teachers I am proud to say that she is doing work well above her grade level. My son, whom is in eleventh grade, has been offered all AP and honors classes. I can say that AHA has given my children a safe,caring,and academically challenging foundation for their journey ahead in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

Everything's great when you're at AHA, but when you leave, you find out how behind your child is. My money is gone & my child is BEHIND in public school! AHA, YOU OWE ME A REFUND and your founder declared bankruptcy (it was public record October 2010 & published in the county organ)! AHA's warm & caring environment distracts you from noticing what is really going on. If the AHA administration was at the helm of the Titanic, they'd still be saying it didn't sink!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

My granddaughter has blossomed under their teaching in many ways - academic, social, and is able to speak and act in front of a group. That is something I took many years to learn. A super school.


Posted September 26, 2010

My wife and I are both teachers in the public school. Our son is very bright and well behaved, so we decided to enroll him in this local private school. First, let me say that we work with him ALOT at home. We constantly teach him concepts we feel he should know, so he's not only on grade level, he is above grade level. We found AHA's standards to be very low, and were alarmed that he wasn't learning skills we knew were being taught in the public school. Long story short; we withdrew him early after his first semester of first grade. He is now being challenged more in the public school. We have friends there that have recently switched to public school, only to find their child needs remedial help. What makes it worse is they were on the honor roll at AHA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

READ THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS - they are all founded concerns that I've seen at this school. True, AHA does not keep promises. They are sinking and will tell you anything to get your money. A lot of families left last year and leaving this year, us included. The high school is poor, too - how can you justify $12k tuition and the graduates can only get into local colleges?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

My child has been at AHA since Pre-K4. AHA has given my child a wonderful education and experience. However, AHA has not been able to grow due to the economy and since my child will be entering high school next year it is time to move on. AHA has a wonderful elementary and middle school but their high school is lacking. Overall, it has been a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

I am a student here at aha, that's what we usually call our school. Parents, if you want your kid to have a good edecation, bring them to aha! The teachers are awsome here, I love my school. We have AWSOME administrators, we even have two playgrounds one of them is for Pre-K - Kindergarden, then the second one is for 1st grade - 6th grade. We do that so the little ones don't get hurt. I hope you brigg your kid here because, I'v never gone to a different school ever before. That's how good this school is!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2009

I think AHA is great. I have seen some comments about the school 'hounding you for money'. That is simply not true. There are fundraisers, as with every school, but there is not pressure to participate. Additionally, the teachers go above/beyond to teach the kids. They are completely accessible and responsive. We have been there seven years (two kids) and have exceptional teachers with the exception of one which was good, not great. I have looked at the public school elementary/middle school options in the area and the class size will be essentially double. It is very difficult for a teacher to give individual attention with a ratio of 26+ students to one teacher. I would definitely reccomend AHA to other famiies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

I have two children that have attended AHA since they were in Pre-K. They are both in middle school now and I cannot tell you how amazing the experience has been for them. They excel in every aspect of their lives because of the experience they received at AHA. It is a unique school and worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

The teachers are very loving and committed to providing the best education for our students. I love the familial atmosphere here. Family and education are highly valued here. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

The education at this school is fantastic! I have been here 7 years and i have loved it! The teachers care and help you like they were their own child! I recommend this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2009

We closely investigated over a dozen private schools before choosing AHA and we know we made the best choice. Small class sizes means my daughter gets extra attention, the teachers are exceptional people in addition to being great teachers, and the administration is available to discuss any concerns at any time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

My son has been a student in AHA since 1999. The academic curriculum is excellent. The students and the school have consistantly scored extremely high on the national standardized tests. We have seen firsthand how the students in AHA excel in academics. Overall the school has been a wonderful experience and would not consider another private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2126 Sixes Road
Canton, GA 30114
Phone: (770) 926-7779

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Lyndon Academy
Woodstock, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT