Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Avery Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

They used to provide an appropriate education for special education students, but due to budget cuts, they are providing sub par education to these children. Resource class sizes are above state regulations. They are combining 3 levels of classes, which is not appropriate! How can a 3rd grader be taught with 5th graders!? Shame on you Cherokee County Special Education department. I guess they are waiting for a lawsuit. This is a shame!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

The test scores speaks for itself on this school. What a wonderful school! Teachers are well educated and very involved. Principal is very visible. I love that most teacher have there master degree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

I love this school. The teacher are excellent and way over qualified. The staff is helpful. The parent involvement is so great! I can't say enough about this school!


Posted October 6, 2013

Ordinary. Such a simple word but not one that bode's well for your child's achievement in school. Avery is an ordinary elementary school that only strives to move on average students. They hold back way too many kids pointing the blame for this on the parents & child. Instead of where it should lie. Squarely on the teachers and ultimately the entire school system for their mandated teaching approach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

There is something special going on at Avery. Our kids are challenged, excited and motivated to do well and see school as a place to enjoy and contribute. When I have opportunity to visit the school, I am always struck by how positive and giving the entire school community is toward one another. Parents are welcomed. Children care for one another. Teachers are clearly invested and care about their school and their students. The administration participates. I have been to several award ceremonies or other school-related functions outside of Avery (at other venues, county-level events, etc.). I ALWAYS see Avery administration and faculty attending these events well outside of school hours. Our children experience differentiated curricula and are consistently receiving individualized attention. We have experience in the private school environment and though the class sizes were smaller (a clear benefit), the overall experience did not compete...lots of hype and propaganda. Avery is focused simply on educating and doing so for the whole child. Parent-teacher communication is excellent. We love the school and are blessed to be able to send our kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

Avery is like a private school without the huge expense! The teachers, leadership and academic programs are fantastic. Parents are always welcome to volunteer and the school strives to be part of the community through PTA events as well as children being able to use the wonderful outside facilities. Go Cubs!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

This is our first year at Avery after being at a private school for several years. We are so glad that we made the switch! Avery has exceeded our expectations in so many ways. Their teachers are wonderful, and it is so obvious that they really know our children's personalities and learning styles. The Principal and Assistant Principals are always friendly and smiling and available if you need them. Avery has lots of great parents who love the school and love to be involved. Both of our kids have been challenged academically more than they did in our previous school. Our kids are happy and love their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

I have a kindergartener at Avery Elementary. This is my first experience with my child in school, we have had a great experience so far. My child is reading in Kindergarten, and doing advanced math for her age. I am very happy with our teacher and her ability to recognize my child's aptitude and push it to the limit. There are so many volunteer opportunities at Avery, and I am always welcome to eat lunch with my child whenever I want. I feel very welcome here. The staff and administration are also very friendly. Couldn't say enough good things. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

Our family has been at Avery since it was first created. We have had such a wonderful experience each year. First with my son who is now in 7th grade and now my daughter who is in 3rd. The teachers are very caring and give a warm and loving environment to the students. I feel very welcome each time I help volunteer whether it be in the library or classroom. I love the small town feel of the school even though we are a large school. There is a great sense of community among the teachers, parents, and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

We have had very positive experiences at Avery. I am one of many active volunteers at the school. I'm there often and I always feel welcome and appreciated. The Avery volunteers are a friendly, well organized group. It's easy to get involved at any level. My 3 children have had outstanding teachers. All public schools are facing tight budgets and crowded classrooms. Avery teachers put the kids first and handle those challenges in thoughtful and creative ways. They extend themselves beyond what I would expect to make sure that students get what they need. They care about my children and their academic success. The communication has been excellent on all levels. I love that I can email the teachers and get a quick response to any questions or concerns. We were at a private school for 3 years before moving to Avery. Before we switched, we visited. We took a tour and met with the principal and staff. We were very impressed with everything we saw and heard. The school has more than met our high expectations. Putting our kids there has been one of the best decisions we've made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

This school is Great! My children and I felt welcome from day one. Superb Teachers!!! Very friendly staff! Parents are VERY welcome as volunteers! Can't say enough great things about Avery Elementary!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

This school is awful. Was previously at Hickory Flat and got rezoned to Avery when it opened. How bad could a new school be? Boy was I wrong! The administration runs it like a prison for elementary kids with no logic and treat parents as the enemy. They reinforce teachers poor performance and inability to teach and serve their students with more of the same. There is no creativity allowed. Currently searching for a private school or considering moving into the Hickory Flat zone. Avery is staffed with amateurs. What a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

This school has not lived up to its reputation. It has been a horrible school year. The classes are too large, the teachers are overwhelmed and the principal is totally out of touch with her school. The parents are not welcome there and the vice-principal is out right rude to parents. So unfortunate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2012

Both of my kids (K and 2nd) have only went to this school. I love this school. Parent involvement is awesome, the staff has always been attentive and friendly, and carpool is organized. We are about to move into another school district and comparing the two schools has made me want to petition to stay here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

Love Avery Elementary! Parents very involved, school very spirited. Can come and have lunch with my child any day. PTA puts on some great events. Only complaint my kids have is about a 'mean' art teacher (this is from 4 of my kids). My only complaint is the turnover from top administrators, who were all excellent. New principal is not as visible. My kids are getting an above average education in a public school and are benefiting from a unique technique in responsibility in actions through 'love and logic'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

We have 2 children at Avery and they love the school. We had one bad experience in the 4 years we have had a child there, and it was rectified by the administration promptly. I read some of the other reviews, and I am baffled at those experiences. Most of the teachers at Avery left other schools when it opened, and most came from the better schools in the County, and were reagrded as the "better" teachers from those schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

I have found the Teachers my older has had to be grouchy, rude, and downright discouraging -- not just to me -- more importantly, the students! I have had not one positive experience interacting with them. My poor girl must be very unlucky. My younger daughter has had a great teacher in the 1st grade, but this daughter is not the one who needs the extra attention. I have also requested to speak to a member of administration about possible dyslexia testing for my older daughter. None of my requests for contact have been returned. I hate it. I want to take them elsewhere...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

My daughter attended Avery for three years and currently attends Creekland Middle. All three years we had teachers that were very devoted to their students. My daughter's reading skills improved greatly. The principal was very visible and accessible. I was very involved as a volunteer as were many other parents. My only negative experience involved the front office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

We are EXTREMELY disappointed. Very unwelcoming and unfriendly staff. Principal is not visible. Overcrowded school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

We have had a wonderful experience at Avery. The teachers have been World Class and the administrators are VERY Professional. It actually feels like a private school. The facility is top notch. I would highly recommend this school to anyone. Please don't listen to the other reviews. I don't think they would be happy at any school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

187 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

188 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

187 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

198 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

199 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

198 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

189 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 44%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Black 3% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6391 E Cherokee Dr
Canton, GA 30115
Phone: (770) 479-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brenwood Academy
Canton, GA


Brenwood Academy
Canton, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT