Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Canton, GA
Students enrolled: 1,125
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Avery Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
We just moved and were nervous about the move. We are very happy with Avery my child is a special education student and has received excellent educational services from the IEP team. She is excelling and very happy.

Avery Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
My son completed attended Avery for all 6 years, from K-5. Absolutely love the school! He had engaged, skilled teachers each year (except one but that teacher is no longer at this school). He looked forward to class each day and the school does a great job fostering a positive environment.
1 person found this helpful


Avery Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
We have had our daughter in Avery for the last 4 years (since 1st grade) and could not be happier. I work at home so could move anywhere but right now, Cant imagine leaving Avery. The teachers are not only involved with the students but are very involved with the parents. The student to teacher ratio is excellent at about 21 students per class room. The classes are segmented into 3 groups (7 students each). Green, Yellow and Red (I may have the colors incorrect). The Green group is advanced and the red group is falling behind while the yellow group is on pace with the teacher. The assistant teachers come in and give assistance and extra help to the group that is falling behind whereas the teacher can keep moving along. The system has proven to work very well.
1 person found this helpful

Avery Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
We just moved from Roswell and were a bit nervous about the transition, etc. We could not be happier with everyone, the class, the teachers, the communication. Our daughter has fallen right into line and is doing great. Thank you Avery and we look forward to this year!
1 person found this helpful

Avery Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
The test scores speaks for itself on this school. What a wonderful school! Teachers are well educated and very involved. Principal is very visible. I love that most teacher have there master degree.


Avery Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a community member
I love this school. The teacher are excellent and way over qualified. The staff is helpful. The parent involvement is so great! I can't say enough about this school!

Avery Elementary School 1

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
Ordinary. Such a simple word but not one that bode's well for your child's achievement in school. Avery is an ordinary elementary school that only strives to move on average students. They hold back way too many kids pointing the blame for this on the parents & child. Instead of where it should lie. Squarely on the teachers and ultimately the entire school system for their mandated teaching approach.

Avery Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
There is something special going on at Avery. Our kids are challenged, excited and motivated to do well and see school as a place to enjoy and contribute. When I have opportunity to visit the school, I am always struck by how positive and giving the entire school community is toward one another. Parents are welcomed. Children care for one another. Teachers are clearly invested and care about their school and their students. The administration participates. I have been to several award ceremonies or other school-related functions outside of Avery (at other venues, county-level events, etc.). I ALWAYS see Avery administration and faculty attending these events well outside of school hours. Our children experience differentiated curricula and are consistently receiving individualized attention. We have experience in the private school environment and though the class sizes were smaller (a clear benefit), the overall experience did not compete...lots of hype and propaganda. Avery is focused simply on educating and doing so for the whole child. Parent-teacher communication is excellent. We love the school and are blessed to be able to send our kids there.


Avery Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
Avery is like a private school without the huge expense! The teachers, leadership and academic programs are fantastic. Parents are always welcome to volunteer and the school strives to be part of the community through PTA events as well as children being able to use the wonderful outside facilities. Go Cubs!!

Avery Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
This is our first year at Avery after being at a private school for several years. We are so glad that we made the switch! Avery has exceeded our expectations in so many ways. Their teachers are wonderful, and it is so obvious that they really know our children's personalities and learning styles. The Principal and Assistant Principals are always friendly and smiling and available if you need them. Avery has lots of great parents who love the school and love to be involved. Both of our kids have been challenged academically more than they did in our previous school. Our kids are happy and love their school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avery Elementary School
6391 E Cherokee Dr, Canton, GA  30115
(770) 479-6200
Last modified Avery Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Avery Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top