Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
184 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oak Mountain Academy 1

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
Paula Gillespie harshly disviplined my child based on hearsay that' she could not prove when asked. She refuses to communicate with parents after disciplining the kids. However she does allow cocsine use by the kids whose parents are on the board. I would stay far away from this school it's very poluticsl and the academics are not up to par

Oak Mountain Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
The teachers and administrators are incompetent and only truly concerned with the "country club" children.


Oak Mountain Academy 1

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
Worst decision we ever made in regard to our child. If you want to send your child to a school that not only allows but also justifies bullying, then you have found the right place.

Oak Mountain Academy 5

Posted January 21, 2013
- a parent
We are continuously impressed by the quality of education that our son is receiving. This is our son's second year at OMA. The art and music programs are truly amazing. The teachers do an excellent job at teaching the fundamentals and children are taught the next higher grade's curriculum (so that first grade learns second grade math, etc.). This is challenging, but not to the point of frustration and the homework is not overbearing. The teachers are great - patient, caring, and very devoted to the students.

Oak Mountain Academy 5

Posted September 24, 2012
- a parent
This is my daughter's first year attending Oak Mountain Academy's Lower School. She loves her teachers and classes. OMA has made her feel welcomed and accepted. She is being challenged academically and she is striving. If you are looking for a school in the West Georgia area - check OMA out - you will be surprised at the number of opportunties for students.


Oak Mountain Academy 1

Posted July 10, 2012
- a parent
After several years of paying top dollar for (what we thought was) a high quality school, we learned that my child had not been taught the basics for reading. When my child started begging me to go to another school, we knew there was a problem. We had to get a specialized tutor to assist in catching up to grade level! We should have know earlier, when most classmates left before us. NOT worth the money!

Oak Mountain Academy 1

Posted May 03, 2011
- a community member
I am very disappointed in this school. I am a student who has gone there for 4 years and have not liked it at all. If you are looking tho place your child in OMA, then ask them these questions first: 1. Do want to be in a class of five snotty rich kids? 2. Do want to have only ten friends in the entire school, and those ten friends BEING the entire school? Parents, ask yourselves these questions: 1. Do you want to pay almost eleven THOUSAND dollars per year on your child's education, while your child going there for 3 years can add up to the cost of a luxury car? 2. Do you want to be constantly harassed by donation requests sent in the mail, email, and even over the phone? If you and your child answered yes to these questions than go ahead: waste your hard earned money on a bunch of nonsense.

Oak Mountain Academy 1

Posted April 11, 2011
- a parent
Almost 2 summers ago, dropped by OMA.I wanted to pick up more detailed curiiculum info.The director of admissions was out and the person who "helped" me said that I could call back or drop in another time. I realize this is a small private school but with a fairly large price tag and I would have thought someone might have professionally said," Our director is out today but please let me have your name and number and she will call you tomorrow." At the time I had 3 kids I was looking to place somewhere.This incident has kept me from looking at OMA any further.And I wish you had more details on your site.


Oak Mountain Academy 5

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
Our children have attended OMA for the past 7 years. We could not have picked a better environment to help them develop intellectually, socially, physically, and spiritually. We love the family atmosphere, the challenging academics, the opportunities to compete in athletics, the supportive faculty and administration, and the wide variety of clubs and activities. With the help of the OMA family, our children will be well-prepared for college and for life.

Oak Mountain Academy 5

Posted February 03, 2011
- a teacher
The curriculum is very rigorous. The athletics programs perform at the state level. Teachers give assignments that allow students to be creative. Christian values and morals are important, but the school is not "preachy." Overall a great independent school education.

Nearby schools

Oak Mountain Academy
222 Cross Plains Road, Carrollton, GA  30116
(770) 834-6651
Last modified Oak Mountain Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top