Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sand Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 739 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

This was my child's first year in sandhill and it has been by far the worst experience. From the time we went in for open house we have had issues with the teacher. No matter how many times I have gone in & spoke with the principal & office about issues we have had it was never taken seriously. We turned in fundraisers And the money & never received the products. They say they never received the money or fundraiser. Which I know for a fact they did because I turned it in myself. Now they tell me its out of their hands & won't do anything about it. I will never have anything good to say about this school. I will make sure to let everyone I speak to about this school know how awful it is. All staff not just the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

I was really worried after reading some of these reviews BUT my son entered Kindergarten this year and has been having a great time, he is advanced for his age so they give him more work so he will not get board, i do not know about art, which really is not a big deal because he does alot of art in class already but he dose have music AND my biggest surprise COMPUTER LAP! Yub they teach kids in Kindergarten how to use a computer. And besides recess they also have Gym class. They have a "track team" kinda and are raising money for a track around there new facility's. Everyone is wonderful and my son loves his teacher and loves going to school. I am not to worried about art or sports in elementary school, My son plays rec. The important things like teaching math skills and reading skills, computer skills that is all there in fun ways for kids to understand!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The teachers and staff are wonderful.We tried another school out for a year and they are nowhere as good as Sand Hill
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I have been very pleased. I have 2 children there, and my wife and I have been pleased with the teachers every year. If you parents want art send them to a private school were there are only 10 kids in a class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2009

This school does not offer many extracurricular activities to 3rd grade elementary students(cheerleading/chorus/swim/gymnastics nor track). This schools offers nothing to boost the school spirt nor school moral. Sand Hill does not offer any Arts-Band/Dance/Theater/Drama.The teachers seen to not take the parents concern for their children lerning iserious. The school does not offer anything for the children whom are having difficulties in their studies(homework help,tutors).This school does not offer any other languages(French, nor Spanish).This school does not offer any other special programs.The school does not offer an rigorous academic program. This school seems to not follow the Universal rule- No Child left behind.(If your child does not understand, or is having trouble in a subject...that's fine with the staff,this school does not go above & beyond. The teachers don't do no more/no less. Most of all the teachers act uptight & unfriendly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

My son just graduated 5th grade at Sand Hill and my other son is entering 4th grade. We have been so pleased with this school! Their grades improved so much at Sand Hill. They came from Temple where they were really struggling. The teacher involvement at Sand Hill is AMAZING!!! We are in constant communication with the teachers. They now have an art program that is awesome!! They even had an art show this year where the kids were able to show off all their artwork from the year. It was great! Thank you to all the wonderful teachers and the whole staff at Sand Hill!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I use to teach at Sand Hill, but have moved to another state. My new school has an art teacher, an after school strings program, math competition programs, chess, as well as Foreign Language 2 times a week ( a spanish teacher comes in to the classroom to teach). Georgia is behind in education!


Posted July 23, 2008

Sand Hill is a wonderful school. I have two children there and have been very happy with their performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

Its a great school, the staff really care for the students and their education, yes it would be nice to have a art prorgram and there is always more need for parent envolement.But I truly know Mrs.Harmon and the rest of the staff are giving the children the best education possible and we do have a wonderful music teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

I personally am disappointed with the academic programs offered at Sand Hill Elementary. There needs to be an Art Education Class, and the level of parent involvement is declining.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2005

Our school has wonderful, caring, well educated teachers. We need more sports. We have no art opportunities now. We have a wonderful music teacher. We have a great need for more parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

122 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

123 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

108 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

108 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

108 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

125 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 44%
Black 15% 37%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Hispanic 6% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carla W Meigs
Fax number
  • (770) 830-5034

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

45 Sandhill School Rd
Carrollton, GA 30116
Phone: (770) 832-8541

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Georgian School
Carrollton, GA





Oak Mountain Academy
Carrollton, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT