Advertisement
Advertisement

Oak Grove Montessori School

Private | PK-8 | 100 students

We are best known for authentic Montessori program.

 
 

Living in Carrollton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2011

This is a wonderful place of learning in a great setting. Dedicated and passionate teachers provide a caring and nurturing environment. This ensures that children are well prepared, have a love of learning and are able to maximize their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

My kids are learning to understand the basics of common sense the way nature intended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Fantastic. No complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

There is no other choice! We love Oak Grove Montessori School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

I love Oak Grove Montessori. My children are getting a wonderful education there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

There is no substitute for great education, from teachers that truly care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

I am a parent and have know about the Montessori Method for 25 years. My child attends Oak Grove Montessori School. I would highly recommend Oak Grove to be a part of your child/children's education. It is a structured environment that has allowed my child to build her self confidence, self esteem and independence. The method has also helped her emotioally, physically and socially. She has come from an attached to the hip toddler to a fibrant outgoing elementary student. I suggest, as a parent, to call and make an appointment to visit this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

My daughter loves Oak Grove Montessori. I am very pleased with what she learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I love this school. My son attended Blackstock for three years and it was the best money we ever spent. The only draw back was that when he went into public school this year he was 'too ready'. He spent most of his time helping the other kids in his class because he was so far ahead of everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

As a parent of a child that has attended this establishment beware! This is a poorely ran school. Be prepared to spend way to much money and the expectation of spending all of your time otherwise you are not treated as a significant part of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 44%
Two or more races 27% 3%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Black 3% 40%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Laura Gayle McCord
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (770) 214-0113

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • judo
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • judo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • At Oak Grove Montessori School your child is an individual with unknown potential. We will encourage your child so that their innate sense of wonder and desire for knowledge might be lifelong, not simply until the test is given.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Carrollton City Schools
Oak Mountain Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

180 Oak Grove Road
Carrollton, GA 30117
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 214-0112

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Central Middle School
Carrollton, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT