Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cass Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

Open House this past Thursday was not a good experience . Why wouldn't you split the days up instead if having 1000 + kids in 2 hours come to the school ? Cars were parked on both sides of the road which made it a one lane road . It was grid lock for 20 minutes ! Bartow Sheriff drove by and kept going !! Didn't stop and help fix it ! Secondly , only 2 people giving out bus Info ? Probably 50 people In line waiting because of this. They asked me to take a survey about the school . It asked about how all the teachers did In the classroom and things to that nature . We haven't started school yet !! How do we know how the teachers and academics are doing ! CASS MIDDLE open house grade D -
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2012

I read the previous posts and feel things are changing for the better in how the school feels about the academics. This is my childs last year and considering how I felt about my middle school, my child seems to be doing very well. (advanced classes and straight "A"s) I went to one of the higher rated middle schools in east Cobb and hated everything about the school. Other schools may offer higher academics and more diversified courses to choose from, but you can not put a price on a child who loves their teachers, fellow students and school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2010

I am a student at Cass Middle School and I think the school couold be much better. My teachers in 6th grade are nice but the advanced classes are too easy for me. The school cares more about sports than smarts. The ISS teacher is what keeps the school from falling apart. I would rather go to Excel Christian Academy but it's to expensive for my family. :(


Posted April 23, 2010

Very typical school, but I do sometimes believe they think athletics are more important than academics. The teacher are altogether nice, there is a few here and there that could be better. The ISS teacher is what keeps this school from tearing apart. Overall a good school. :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

WHERE do I start? This school is overcrowded and has a huge disiplene problem atheletes are supposed to be the role students but ther the worst! Half the teachers could care less and most non athlete students are forgoten. I wouldnt wish this school upon anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

This school is rather shavy I belive my child is not learning to his full potential because of restrictions. They treat sports more important than acedimics and turn a blind eye to teasing and bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

Cass Middle is a great school! CMS has wonderful teachers, who love and care about their students! You could not ask for better administrators! The school's motto is 'Whatever it takes' and that is the attitude of the school! The student's learning comes first at CMS! I am very proud to be apart of Cass Middle and I do not plan to leave anytime soon!


Posted April 5, 2005

This school is very nice. It is clean, the teachers will work one on one with children if need, and the teachers always make sure learning is fun for you. You can learn so much if you go to this school. There are great extracarricular activities too, like band, P.E., Spanish, Home Economics and alot more.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

331 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
93%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 44%
Black 12% 37%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kristy Arnold
Fax number
  • (770) 606-3835

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

195 Fire Tower Rd NW
Cartersville, GA 30120
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 606-5846

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Excel Christian Academy
Cartersville, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT