Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomson Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

I have two boys in this school. My oldest has been there from 6th till now he is in 8th grade. My younger son is a 6th grader. We love this school, the teachers really care and do thier best to help a child do great. The staff is also awsome. My 6th grade son can be a handfyl at times and these teachers and staff have shown paientence and love towards him. Thanks Thomson Middle for doing such an outstanding job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

I used to go to TMS but i currently go to BMS. Thomson is superior contrary to what many say.Students who go here easily acclimate easily to the school and the athletic and musical departments are award winning.Go TIGERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted August 12, 2013

My son is doing great at Thomson. He's in honors classes and the curriculum is challenging. Teachers and staff are very friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

We used to love Thomson Middle School, our son is in 7th grade now. We have had problems this year with bomb threats, the school can use the automated phone system for every fund raiser in the world but they can not call to advise you of a bomb threat. We did not find out about these until we arrive at school to drop off your children and you are greeted by Centerville Police telling you that they will call when school is opening my child has missed two days of school for this reason because we were not able to make the arrangements for our son. Lets not talk about the football for this school, the coaches are wanting to get a trophy so they want the boys to practice until there about dead and then send them home. Our sons grades started falling and when he was kicked off of the team for missing a practice, I called the coach and the call was never returned, with this being said they did not get their trophy. We moved to this area for the school system but we are looking to move before our child starts high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

The school isn't challenging at all and I was in all honors classes. I truly loved my teachers and friends at thomson, but it's not the greatest school.Many things were band last year from student like silly bands. Sports were amazing but, acedemics weren't. I'm currently going to 8th grade i recently moved after 1 year and a half at thomson. I moved from a very i quality school so maybe my expectations are high. On a scale pf 1-10 i say 6.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2009

i love it!my daughters think it is the best and she has finally made lots of friends,which is really great because she never had lots of friends.ive met them and theyre great and have no problems!she still has time for academics because shes an honors straight a student and was in the play and is going to play soccer! im just so happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

This was my sons first year and his last!We moved.My son is a straight A student and has never even got detention.With this being said,the first month in this school he has gotten into 3 fights and cussed out too many times to count!I volunteered to just to see what was going on.Some of the students are out of control.I feel it got more about self defense for my child then about education.I would like to say not all was bad.My child and I got to know some amazing teachers in team C.The principals make you feel very welcome.Boy do they have their hands full!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I recently moved from out of state and I'm very disappointed in the policy and enforcement of both the teachers as well the admin staff . I know enough to know that it travels from on top. My daughters teacher is rude ,a bully and for some reason this is condoned. I feel as if everyone is afraid of her and I see no value AT ALL that she has added to the education of my child. My daughter is a hard worker and doesn't need to be talked to in a disrespectful manner to get her attention so to take this approach with each student or any student is insane to me . And furthermore this policy about being one minute late is a mark against you is also insane . Instead of the focus being on one minute lateness they should channel it to making sure these kids have homework everyday book clubs, things like that . My daughter can't even get out of her class to sign up for any clubs the teachers response is always some kind of excuse as to why she can't follow-up. If my daughter had another year in this school I would move just so I could make sure she didn't spend another year there . They have a long way to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

Thomson is a great school! My daughter is an A student. The Teachers and Administration are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

I have had no problems with the Administration at Thomson Middle School...that could be because I don't have a child that is constantly in trouble or in fights at the school. This is middle school folks. Kids are finding out about themselves, they are on the cusp of growing up, and are maturing. To blame the Administration on 'bullying' and 'arguing' is throwing out a red herring. My son is loving his time at Thomson. This year he is on the football team and in band. I only wish they had a debate club! Quit complaining and do something about it. You and your child have a lot to do with how successful and happy they are in Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

Break Detention and ISS given for every little thing. No communication with parents regarding discipline. Lack of continuity in disciplinary procedures. Low test scores. There are by far better schools in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

265 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 37%
White 42% 44%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tammy Dunn
Fax number
  • (478) 953-0484

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 Thomson Rd
Centerville, GA 31028
Phone: (478) 953-0488

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westside Christian Academy
Warner Robins, GA



Northside Middle School
Warner Robins, GA


Warner Robins Middle School
Warner Robins, GA



Feagin Mill Middle School
Warner Robins, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT