Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chamblee Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

Chamblee Middle School has been a great fit for my rising 7th grader. We did the "shadow-for-a-day" Bridge program about a couple weeks before 6th grade began. My child didn't have any "locker issues" (at least that I know of). The principal is extremely responsive and supportive. Ms. Jackson typically responds back to an email in less than 24 hours. She fully supported the Chess Club bringing in an outside instructor who, of course, passed the county's requirements. The 6A teaching team was also extremely responsive with any questions that I had. The band program pushes the students to excel!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

My child recently started in the CMS Magnet program and so far we are very pleased. Teachers and staff do their very best. This is a big improvement from our child's previous school. Our child complains that the teachers give a lot of work. That makes us happy because that means more opportunity for learning. By the way, our kid works hard and makes straight "A"s, so for me this is proof of good teaching. The biggest problem in K12 education in my opinion is lack of discipline. Any school's staff is prevented from applying any meaningful punishment, so they contact the parents. I have seen so many parents blame the teacher or school rather than taking personal responsibility for their child's future. Parents: if you want your child to succeed, YOU have to spend time with them every night. Get involved. Work WITH teachers. Punish your child if they misbehave in school, but also praise and encourage and reward them when their grades are rising. Don't do their homework for them, but support them. Explain why they are working - to build a successful future career which will allow them to have the lifestyle they want. It's up to you...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

coming from a magnet student, the school overall sucked, but the learning experience was pretty good and smooth. just beware the administrators and Mr. Coile


Posted May 4, 2013

I am.. okay with this school. Some of the teachers are nice, but demanding. Some don't teach and are very mean. The students in the magnet program always get the special treatment, and resident students are left in the dust. I like this school sometimes because it is challenging at times. It can have exciting events, and fun activites. I dislike this school because sometimes students are threatened with ISS or detention because of silly things. For example, one teacher almost gave me detention for going up the 8th grade staircase, instead of the main stairs because I am in 7th grade. As well as being threatened, students are taken the privilege of having fun. At prep rallies, students are forced to go into the gym, hear extremely loud music, and hear teachers introduce sport team members a hundred times. Then, students sit there doing nothing.


Posted June 7, 2012

I do recommend chamblee middle school Because i go there.. i am an 8th grade resident on team 8a.. i would recommend chamblee because they expect. From their students nothing but the best.. On the resident team 8a we had a rare but great selection of teachers . We have a science teacher willing to go above and beyond to make Sure that we understand . As well did the other teachers but not with the same level of ambition that this teacher had.. but all in all chamblee is a great school Because they will strive to Give an education no matter Who is not doing their part , chamblee will find a way for us the students to understand each and every standard.. Its just the chamblee way .


Posted April 24, 2012

I do not like chamblee middle school at all. I dont reccomend anyone going. The teachers are no help, they dont assign any homework, their are kids getting bullied and teachers will not do anything. If you do reccomend going to CMS enroll in the magnet program it is a much better atmosphere. I should know because I am a studnet on the resident side and everything i say is true, Im a 8th grade student and my 8a math teacher (whom i had in 6th also) hasnt taught us anything. He does not keep control of his class at all. The teachers are mean except for 3 in the whole school. I am too bullied alot and i have reported it and nothing has happend. The administration, if a child does somthing wrong and mean all they do is put kids in ISS and expect them to stop. It doesnt help at all. I am happy that i am no longer going to enroll in CMS anymore and that next year im going to CHS.


Posted November 30, 2011

I think Chamblee is a good school. I go there right now and i have no problem with it. The teachers are very kind and help you. The education is great especially for magnet. The Physical Education Department is amazing and keeps you fit through the school year. I would suggest trying to get your child either in the magnet program or discovery program at Chamblee. By the way, the German program at CMS is number one in the state and in the top 10 in the country. We have plenty of homework and we learn a lot.


Posted February 17, 2011

I do not recommend this school. The children who attend are barbaric and bullying is an every day occurance. Teachers do not give homework and are not in good control of the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

I am very disapointed with this school. The only good thing is the award winning academic and sport teams. Other than that their is nothing extraordinary about this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2009

I do not recommend this school. The faculty and administration are not helpful or supportive. My child is trasfering to another school next year. Hopefully, she'll start receiving homework!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

I do not recommend this school. The teachers and administration are not very helpful. My daughter is leaving next year. This school has been a big disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

I believe the school is too caught up in pleasing parents than disciplining the students. I say this an educator - it is time to take back our classrooms so the students can get the best we have to offer. The school is very beautiful to look at and there are some quality teachers but the principal should not play into the parents and students every whim.


Posted August 1, 2008

Chamblee Middle is a great school. It is way better than my old school that settled for average. At Chamblee they want above and beyond. They challenge me, but without to much work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2008

Chamblee Middle School is wonderful. My child is having a great time and learning so much. The teachers really go out of their way to show how much they care for each individual student. The administration puts safety and quality education first on their list of priorities. I am so proud to have my child here. I recommend it to any parent looking for a challenging and fun enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

Ok I'm a student and i go to chamblee. The new school is amazing. The tech lab is alot better and the teachers are very exciting.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2007

Chamblee Middle is a wonderful school. I had two kids to attend last year. The staff is wonderful and they didn't play when it came down to the students. The only thing I disagree with is that if a child grades drop then teachers should automatically notify the parents. But other then that my kids and I really enjoyed it. My daughter was a member of the Junior Beta. Plus they offer activities with sororities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Chamblee is a great school, as with all schools it has some issues. Such as old technology and a library system that needs to be updated. The teachers are great and do a wonderful job at challenging the students. Keep up the good job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

I am a student at Chamblee Middle.I think its a great school.I love the teachers there,they givesalot of work so we wont be so bored.I agree with one of the parents the computers are kinda slow,and some of the teachers/substitutes use foul language(a substitute).Otherwise the schools good.!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2006

Chamblee Middle School is a great school. The education is excellent. The technology is not the best, but, a computer lab, library and student labs are available. I am learning everything possible and it is exciting to be in class. Teachers are able to teach and have fun. I have never been so excited about school as I am now. Chamblee Middle may need improvements on technology, but overall the school is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

Chamblee Middle has a great academic program. I believe the teachers are 'top notch.' My child was not challenged academically until she arrived at this school...it has helped her tremendously.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

337 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

345 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 37%
White 28% 44%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cynthia Jackson

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 Sexton Woods Dr
Chamblee, GA 30341
Phone: (678) 874-8202

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Marist School
Atlanta, GA






Sophia Academy
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT