Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-8
Public charter
College Park, GA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Main Street Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
TMSA has quite a lot of very motivated teachers who have impacted our sons' education greatly.

The Main Street Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
This is another of our school's 8 Core Values and it is strongly taught at TMSA.

The Main Street Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
I see this in the behavior of our sons' classmates at TMSA all the time.

The Main Street Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
The Main Street Academy is specifically built upon 8 Core Values. Those values include Wisdom, Justice, Courage, Compassion, Hope, Respect, Responsibility and Integrity. These are reinforced to the students throughout the school year in many ways, including references by the teachers, intercom announcements invoking them, rules when on field trips, special awards, t-shirts, and much more.

The Main Street Academy 2

Posted May 26, 2015
- a parent
I would not recommend this school. Parents in the area are limited with the schools they have to choose from . This school has become no better than the others in south fulton .

The Main Street Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 26, 2015
- a parent
High turn over rate with teachers . Most have little control over their classrooms . Everytime I visited the classroom students were out of their seats being very disrespectful (3rd grade)

The Main Street Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 26, 2015
- a parent
The grade levels are departmentalized and the teachers do not communicate in regards to homework .

The Main Street Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 26, 2015
- a parent
Students are not challenged and are placed in groups with similar learning . They have no opportunity for advancement

The Main Street Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 26, 2015
- a parent
Students speak to each other with little respect . They behave the way they would in the streets . The classroom should be a learning environment .

The Main Street Academy 5

Posted December 20, 2014
- a parent
I serve on The Main Street Academy's Governing Board and would like to correct a misnomer regarding the rating of our Upper Academy here. The rating shown is a lowly "1." For the more than 500 families who send their children to TMSA, this rating comes as a shock - almost an insult. Rest assured, this rating does not reflect the quality of TMSA. It reflects an issue with GreatSchool's access to our test information. Because GreatSchools is somehow unable to access TMSA's full, current CRCT and ITBS testing information, a "1" rating is listed here. TMSA posts its most recent CRCT test data on our website: http://tiny.cc/cwhpqx While there is room for improvement, TMSA s successes are clear in this data - especially in comparison to other local schools. The school's administration, teaching staff and board are laser-focused on student achievement each and every day. If you are considering applying to TMSA, please contact the school to schedule a tour and see for yourself. I would also recommend attending our PTO and board meetings, which are well-run, well-attended, and reflect the parent participation and student achievement that are our hallmarks.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Main Street Academy
3480 East Main Street, College Park, GA  30337
(404) 763-3900
Last modified The Main Street Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 3-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
The Main Street Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top