Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Banneker High School

Public | 9-12 | 1239 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

I attended banneker high for one year , I was already nervous about going to a new school or what ever but I mean it's not that bad of a school it has wonderful , caring teachers and it's a good learning environment it's just the kids there that really make it a school you wouldn't want your kids to attend . The kids are wild and act as if they don't care , it shouldn't be like that but like I said before the teachers are amazing and it's a good learning place . The kids just need to get right then it will be a perfect school !


Posted October 6, 2013

This is my daughters first year, I haven't meet not 1 teacher and the principal is new. I'm not sure how to rate them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2013

i am currently an IB student and will be attending bannker. I personally believe hat i will brezze through my class becausenothing is really being taught when asked by alot of students that attends that school now. I have an opion that a school should be ran in oreder and allow he students to get and education instead of rubbing our students now of their education when later on in the furture they will regret it. The kids that ar at Bannker now are our furture and without education sadly to say we not have furture...


Posted October 15, 2012

My daughter is a junior here and I wrote a review a while back and have changed my view completely. Banneker has a new building but still the same old stuff they are just not organized in what they do and this starts from administration on down. They are so focused on the athletic departments mainly football it seems important parts are being neglected. i have seriously thought of transferring my daughter to a better school but she is a junior now and would like to continue to 12 grade with friends and teachers. Banneker has some very good teachers and that's what's really convincing me to let my daughter stay for another year. They really have a long way to go and I'm not sure what can be implemented to get them on the right track. I hope and pray things will get better for Banneker but I'm not sure if it really will they don't sem to be serious enough to change for real and stand their ground as far as grades,academics,students,tolerance,sports are concerned I feel they have their priorities in the wrong place. Im just ready for my child to graduate in 2014. I wish them the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

When we first arrived at the school it seemed like a good school, after a week we realized that it is a zoo!!!!! A non educational day care with admin. Staff from top Mr. Bradley the principal which is psychotic down to his lazy teachers. The children run this school, there is no educational values and nothing being taught. There is maybe three teachers in that whole school Mr. Swarn, Ms. McGee and a few more that still care. But the rest of them like my daughter English teacher had a nervous break down so there is a sub teaching the class, what's been the subject Greek mythology and cyclops seriously they read one page a day! And watch movies! I have called went to the school emailed and everything multiple times and they push me off and do not return my phone calls. 2 week my daughter was there her shoes was stolen, the boys there harass her on a constant bases and teacher do Nothing! If at all possible do not send your child there! Beware of this school ! And for the athletic depart needs a audit on their books these booster clubs or someone is stealing money big time. I am on my way to supertendant office then heck maybe the mayor! School is horrible we are transferring !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

My daughter is attending banneker high for summer school. I am very impressed with the teachers and the overall program. She is more focused than she has ever been; and she tells me the teacher really cares about the students. Thank you guys!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

i dont like bannekar they need a new principal and probably some teachers replaced also one of the officer need to be retrained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

Our school is a great center for students to learn. We have come a long way to make this school what it is said to be 'a great school'.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2007

Too many initiatives ti be successful, Granted, there 'is' NCLB but this 'race' will get the school nowhere fast. Also, cut the frills and go after heavy doses of core common knowledge. If it's sink or swim, Banneker better grab its deck chairs from the Titantic. It's never too late, but it certainly is looking dismal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

I think Banneker is a great school. Yes it does have a few things to work out but overall it is getting much better and test scores are up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

Banneker High School is a decent school. The teachers are hardworking and willing to what it takes to help the students. The principle has a lot of great ideas to improve student acheivement but is trying to many of them at one time. There is very little disciple in the school. There is very little parent involvement the adminstrators and the teachers do all the can to get the parents involved. Overall Banneker is decent school I would give it a C+ to a B-. If we can get the students focused on school Banneker could be a 'A' school but until then the school will stay a C+ school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 26, 2006

My son has attended Banneker since 9th grade he is now a senior. I have watched a big change in this school.The principal,teachers and coaches has set good standers for our childern.Bannerker has a good academic program. We are able to see some of our kids taking college courses and they are still in high school. Moore kids are striving for higher education beyond high school.Bannerker has music,art,sports and other extracurricular activities. I would like to see more kids involved in the ban and in appropriate school club. Parent involvement is poor. They do not support their child the way he or she should be supported.They don't want be to be involved in anything.Wake up parents these are our children not the principal,teacher and coaches.The principal needs your support to help make the school a success. My son said mom having support means a lot. I am lucky. Wake up parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2004

I am not a parent in fact I am only a sophmore and I believe that Banneker is a great school.The teachers are helpful and always willing to do stuff different to accomodate the students.The extracurricular activities provide us with a well rounded structure because we get enough of buisness and fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2004

This school over all is a great school. The new principal is just trying to do to much. The teachers are nice and care about their students well being and education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2004

I feel that Benjamin Banneker is a wonderful high school as far as socially, academically, and environmentally, they just need more funding. A lot more funding...
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2004

I have been attending Banneker for two years and I enjoy Banneker. Everyone is like one big family and everybody gets along. People might put Banneker down because of the way Banneker used to be but that was then, it's a whole new school now. The teachers are incredible and the staff is their for you at anytime of the day for your help. The teachers there really care about how we feel and what we want to learn and how we want to learn it. I am currently in the 10th grade and have enjoyed every year. Anybody would love to come here. We are all like one big family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2004

I have been attending Banneker High school since my ninth grade year, and have since always had an enjoying experience. The staff and students at Banneker are like one large family in the class room and on the football field.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2004

I am not a parent of Benjamin Banneker High School but a currently enrolled senior student, my overall experience at Banneker has been great most of my teachers are very helpful, which makes my experience at Banneker great!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

204 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

200 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

204 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

206 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
54%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
40%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
37%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
58%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
38%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
34%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
17%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 37%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • William W. Bradley
Fax number
  • (770) 969-3418

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5935 Feldwood Rd
College Park, GA 30349
Phone: (770) 969-3410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






North Clayton High School
College Park, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT