Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

S. L. Lewis Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 577 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2014

My child attended S.L. Lewis for kindergarten last year and I was very nervous and skeptical about her going to this school after reading all of the bad reviews. But our experience was nothing like the reviews. This school was awesome to my daughter, the teachers and staff knows every student by first and last name. They make every kid feel welcomed and loved. My daughter was on the honor roll the entire school year. The teacher (Ms. Everett) that my daughter had made sure that she communicated with me and the other parents regarding our children educator and behavioral status. She made sure to keep us updated on our little ones and that made me feel confident and safe that she would take care of my child. I appreciate this school and everything that have done for my child. The only reason we didn't attend this year is bc we had to move to a different city in a different school zone. If it wasn't for that we would have attended and continued our education journey at S.L. Lewis. So in conclusion Thank you S.L. Lewis teachers and staff for doing a wonderful job you are appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

This school is horrible. The communication between the teachers to parents and even the prinpal is horrible. Should anything happen during the day with your child or the school, you as a parent will not be notified. The teachers do not care about the childrens education. Its just an overall horrible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

This is a terrible school. As a parent, I felt as if my child is not getting challenged at all. The conditions of the school were similar to a jail. No windows in interior classrooms, No proper ventaliation, the hallways smelt of urine and feces, and the staff members were frequently absent. My son was in the 4th grade (before we moved) and during the first semester of the 11 - 12 school year, he had a substitue once a week. This is unacceptable. How is a child suppose to learn when his teacher is never there. The principal was frequently absent from school as well. From what I hear from fellow parents and students, there were frequent fights and teachers often yelled at the students. I WOULD NOT reccommend this school to anyone. I am so glad that we moved and my child switched schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

I was not happy with S.L.Lewis. I made it clear that my son was having trouble with his reading at the beginning of the last school year. They placed him in a class to help with taking the CRCT that gave the student more time to take the test. They only did this 3 month before the TEST was given. I was not happy at all. When I attended school back in the 70's Title 1,2,and 3 were offered to students that needed help. What happen- Teacher should lift up students that need help as well as those that don't need help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

I started out just having a daughter that went to this school and then I my son started the next year. My daughter had just transfered from another school and was going through a hard time, her teacher took the time to get her settle and worked through everything with her. My daughter excelled at the school recieving tons of awards thoughout the year especially at the end of the year. Now my son is on the same path as my dauhgter. They have recieved numerous awards for the outstanding achievemnet in this school. I have to say that this has been a great school for my daughter at her other school she wasn't being pushed enough and now the challenge her to use her full capability and I am thankful for her teachers as well as my sons teachers for all they do for them!!! Hats off to S.L. Lewis!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

I like this school! Good rating and good tests scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

My son attendend Suder from pre-k through 3rd grade in Clayton, I am happy with the progress that he is making at S.L. Lewis, because he was not getting it at Suder. One of the most important things is he has a different teacher for each subject unlike Suder, however I do feel that some of the teachers are impatient when they have students that come to them below grade level and do not spend enough time to help that child. Not being focused can mean I just don't understand. My son, Ray has a 29 year old sister that's in grad school, a 22 year old brother that just graduated from college and parents with college degrees, we want to see him do better. Teachers that teach and help students learn, earn their pay, others are just there to get paid. Thanks to the earners. P. Battle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

My son attends kindergarten at SL Lewis. The teachers are very friendly and cooperative. We get a reasonable amount of homework for reinforcement, and because my son has special needs, the school also has good resources for speech and occupational therapy, so we do not have to go outside for services. The principal puts a great emphasis on test scores and attendance which is a plus for regular students. The Assistant Principal is more hands on and you see more of her in the hallways.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

106 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

101 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 95% 37%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Josephine Richmond
Fax number
  • (770) 306-3581

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6201 Connell Rd
College Park, GA 30349
Phone: (770) 969-3450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nolan Elementary School
College Park, GA



Liveoak Christian Academy
College Park, GA



Bethune Elementary School
College Park, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT