Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blackmon Road Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to all the teachers there that had guided my older child and help him excel academically, too many to name! But I know severals are still teaching there, that's why I am trying to get my younger one there as well, wish my luck!

Blackmon Road Middle School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
How is Blackmon Road Middle School now, I am not sure, but it was great when my older child attended there a few years back. The teachers are exceptional! My child was enrolled in the St. Elmo gifted program since Kindergarten at Britt David, and when transitioned into middle school, it was very smooth and he continues to excel and now he's at CHS, doing great! Thumbs up all the way for Blackmon and for the great schools and programs we have here in Muscogee County District!


Blackmon Road Middle School 1

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
My son has an IEP, FBA, & BIP and the special education teacher has yet to call me. They switch your child's class and rearrange schedules without notifying parents and they suspended my child for an accommodation on his IEP. This school is not only bad it's breaking federal laws. STAY AWAY!!!!

Blackmon Road Middle School 2

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
As a parent I am not pleased with this school. The administration seem to have major ego issues. We have had issues with the school counselor, as well. My child has never been more unhappy in his life!!! I am considering sending my children elsewhere next year.

Blackmon Road Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a teacher
I work in your library and I love my kids.I don't care what we go through sometimes.I will always pray over you !


Blackmon Road Middle School 1

Posted July 28, 2013
- a community member
As a former BRMS student, I am very disappointed about my experience at this school. Drugs and fights were common throughout my time there. Out of my 3 years there, I only had a couple teachers that really were passionate about teaching. Some of my teaches were rude. The work consisted of "busy work" in many classes. Homework overloads were common. Once I was doing work until 2 AM. There were no field trips and no clubs. In 8th grade, I would work really hard writing papers, but I never got any back. I never knew what to improve on, all I got back was a number. The same teacher gave us ridiculous topics, which were bias and practically impossible to write. The cafeteria was disgusting, and there were cockroaches crawling around. They served very small portions as well. Because of this, I always brought my lunch. The lunch times were bizzare. 6th graders ate around 10: 45 and 8th graders around 1:45. Also, bathoom visits were rushed. There weren't any mirrors in any of the bathrooms. They had all been taken down. The teachers encourage you to read, but the library is small and filled with old books. There are no new, and interesting books that teens would like.

Blackmon Road Middle School 4

Posted May 18, 2011
- a community member
It's good school with caring teachers, but sadly the extracurriculars are.... wait, what extracurriculars? This school is lacking in clubs and things for students to d outside of the classroom. Only clubs are NJHS, Velocity, Jr. Marshals, Sports, and a few other organizations. No fun clubs started by students. No field trips. No 8th grade graduation. If you want you're kid to go to a school with lots of options for clubs, go to another county. However, this has been an OK year.

Blackmon Road Middle School 4

Posted December 15, 2009
- a parent
This is one of the best schools around Columbus. I'm proud that both of my boys attend here. Blackmon Road has very good teachers including the music teachers. The Christmas Concert was very good and I did enjoy: The Orchestra, Band, and Chorus was well put together.


Blackmon Road Middle School
no rating

Posted October 25, 2009
- a student
This is a VERY vivaciuosm, fun, educational, and great school! The teachers and staff (plus students) here are very polite, kind, and just perfect! I moved to this school from another state during the middle of 6th grade and I was REALLY nervous, but then I found out that I was afraid of nothing! This school is very welcoming, heplful, and everything! It's also a lot of fun! We have pep rallys, dances, games, and MUCH MUCH more stuff here! This is THE perfect middle school EVER!

Blackmon Road Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
great learning environment for students

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blackmon Road Middle School
7251 Blackmon Rd, Columbus, GA  31909
(706) 565-2998
Last modified Blackmon Road Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blackmon Road Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top