Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 565 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2013

You can make a lot off good friends at fort not only with the student but with the teachers you can have a really good time there


Posted April 19, 2013

Fort Middle School Columbus GA is garbage!!!! My child was jumped on twice and they did nothing about it but wanted to suspend my child. My child has never been in trouble EVER!!!! The people are ghetto!!!!! If your child dresses like garbage they will have friends falling at there feet but if your child dresses nice they will get attacked. Please please do not let your child go to this school it needs to be shut down!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

I attended this school while in the 7th grade. They were racially discriminate, religiously discriminate, and was by far the worst experience of my childhood. Had I known then what I know now, legal action would've been the result, given the multitude of Laws and Rights this school violates. Judging from the other reviews, not much has changed.


Posted March 24, 2011

Fort Middle School is an EXCELLENT SCHOOL. We have wonderful, intelligent, beautiful, well-rounded, highly educated students - great parents and a very supportive and involved community. The faculty and staff members are hard working, caring, smart, dedicated, and always willing to go the extra mile. We educate the total child. We are Fort Middle School, The Best Middle School in the World!!! I am so proud to be a Patriot!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 24, 2011

After having many issues with bullying at this school, I took my children out and put them in a more diverse atmosphere. For any parent who is concerned with gang activity, bullying, or lack of caring, you might take heed and listen more to those comments then the biased comments coming from the so called educators that drag themselves to Fort Middle School on a daily basis to spit the garble verbatim from the book. Their motto is, "The Best Middle School in the World". To me, it should be, "The Best Middle School on Woodruff Farm Road. The bullying was so bad that the police were called after some child this child sent a nice uppercut to my son's left chin and left a nasty bruise for a week. All because my son was standing in the front of the classroom paying attention and the other child wanted that particular spot. Then they had the nerve to WAIT 2 hours to call me! It wasn't the first time my children had been bullied at that school, but it will certainly be the LAST. My children are now proud Veterans Memorial Rangers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

This school needs a serious turnaround. They are disorganized, and sadly, somewhat prejudiced. The curriculum, focus, ( on art, history, and theatre especially ) is overwhelmingly African-American based, which is wonderful for those students. The Caucasian students feel left out and isolated. ( and will always, ALWAYS be wrong in a dispute ) Aside from these issues, the school itself claims to help with various online databases for parents that are never kept up to date, etc. The communication to parents is absolutely horrible and lax. Overall, I wouldn't send my child here if I could help it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

The teachers at Fort work very hard to enrich and educate my child. I have the option to put my child elsewhere but choose to stay at Fort and I am glad I did. I have never seen individuals so dedicated to helping students and reaching children on all levels. Plus I have yet to drive by another middle school and see teachers still at work at 6:30 - 7:00 pm. These teachers work hard and expect alot from their students. I love their policy of zeroes are not an option. My child has learned this the hard way. It woke them up after staying afterschool twice to complete a missing assignment. I think with the new adminastration and new group of deciated teachers Fort will recover from its past reputation. I can't wait till they become a charter school based on service learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

The teachers at Fort are wonderful. They go above and beyond to help students who open to getting help. The put in extra hours to be sure students excell. The principal changed during our three yrs here, and Ms. Coxam is excellent. The school needs to stop letting some many children hardship out and keep the well behaved kids in their school. There does seem to be a lack of respect with a lot of the students there, that needs to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

Fort middle school is a horrible learning environment for the students because my daughter went there and she didn't like it. The students would always disrupt the classroom and would never do there homework. Most of the students there don't want to learn. I am not saying all of the students but a majority of them don't care about there education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

i think fort middle school is the best. teachers are so caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2004

This school is better than other schoo that my child has attended but needs to work on helping thew students in 8th grade that is still in regular math.I think the team teacher needs to really and actually needs to help then if they needs tutoring they might be afraid to ask their teacher for help just of the embarrassment of other students. I don't think it is necessary to give them work that they don't understand and whenthe teacher gets back, grades it and the students gets an f just because on one section of the section they didn't know how to do because the teacher wasn't there to ezxplain how to do it and the student is wondering why they got an f because it wasn't their fault that the teacher left them and didn't explain how to do it before he/she left. I think my child worked hard the 1st nine weeks but wanted honor roll really bad but messed up in math in 8th grade. She recieved a c in regular math class and i would like for her to be in pre-algebra and works hard and hopefully the teacher on that particular team gives more help that and take a break from giving all grades and just make them do assignments, check it and help them on what ever they didn't get right.Overall i'm glad my child attend fort middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

172 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 82% 37%
White 7% 44%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sonja Coaxum
Fax number
  • (706) 569-3616

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2900 Woodruff Farm Rd
Columbus, GA 31907
Phone: (706) 569-3740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT