Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Double Churches Elementary School 1

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
The reason for this rating lies less with the teacher and more with the horrendous office staff! Complete lack of people skills and extremely rude. Example: We were running late and needed to check-in our daughter through the office. Through the whole process, the staff talked to us as if we were children while making snide remarks. Then, one very rude member in particular became offended when we tried to gain more understanding of a new policy change that was explained VERY poorly. Would not recommend this school because of rude staff.

Double Churches Elementary School 1

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
Only 5 weeks into this school year and I am not impressed. I have had to go out of my way to find out what's been going on in the classroom with my child's grades and behavior because school work and notes are never sent home. It seems as if the only priority is preparing students for testing. Never in my life have I dealt with teachers who are so defensive and rude. My child had a great teacher last year but I unfortunately cannot say the same for this school year.


Double Churches Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
You can't be an effective educator if you have no passion for your work and completely lack in communication. Test scores have apparently been good, but there is alot more to learning than simply teaching children how to take a test. Testing is probably the LEAST important skill you need as an adult.

Double Churches Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The first week I would have answered too much. And I'm still on the fence as they require two AR tests a day in second grade. However, this week it appears that the second grade teachers consolidated homework and that the amount now is more reasonable.

Double Churches Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
We have not had enough time or experience with this school to answer this question fairly.


Double Churches Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Three weeks in and my daughter has complained of being pushed off a swing and made fun of. At her old school they went out of their way to talk about these types of things. There doesn't seem to be enough supervision to help develop these traits.

Double Churches Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
I don't have much experience; however, communication is key in developing these traits. And this school has been horrendous at communication!

Double Churches Elementary School 2

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
I have never experienced a school that is so unorganized and non communicative with their parents! We chose this neighborhood in part because of this website's ranking and although we're only three weeks into the school year my child has complained about children and faculty not being nice to her and I've had to become a complete nag in attempting to obtain information regarding homework expectations, how to find her grades, where pick up and drop off is located, how the public after school program works, how to see AR books, and the list goes on and on! Normally I can find the silver lining in any given situation, but so far this school hasn't given me anything to work with other than my daughter says school lunches taste really good!


Double Churches Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2015
- a parent
Double Churches Elementary is an awesome school! The teachers and staff really know the students and truly care for them. It has a very warm and friendly atmosphere and you feel like family. They discipline with love and educate in fun and exciting ways. There are many ways to be involved and a great sense of school spirit.

Double Churches Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
My son is in Mrs Cooper's Pre-K class. He has really blossomed as a student. Getting him to practice reading and writing was difficult but her methods have made it so much easier. His confidence has grown and he is excited to learn.

Nearby schools

Double Churches Elementary School
1213 Double Churches Rd, Columbus, GA  31904
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (706) 748-2660
Last modified Double Churches Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top