Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Britt David Elementary Computer Magnet Academy

Public | K-5 | 553 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

This school stands out as a place where the learner is challenged to grow intellectually. The students at this school work together as a community to support each other as academic peers. I have worked at this school numerous days, and I have always felt that I was teaching at the best school in the state! A+++


Posted February 10, 2014

I, myself use to go to Britt David.I feel that I have learned more at that school than at any other. Right now I am in the 8th grade and most of the material I am being taught I have already learned. My point is that Britt David puts your child to the next level, So if your child goes to Britt David you won't have to worry about them not catching on to things or knowing things in their later years.


Posted February 4, 2014

Britt David Magnet has high expectations for behavior and academics. My child was an A student at another local school. She moved to Britt David in the third grade where they determined she couldn't read on grade level. Standardized tests confirmed the assessment to a degree. Did they make my child leave? NO! They worked above and beyond to make sure my child reached grade level! The media specialist, classroom teacher, and others worked with my daughter daily. The faculty and staff works hard with all students, and I am thankful for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2013

It should come as no surprise that Britt David has the highest test scores of any elementary school in Columbus, as any student who does not score well in class or on CRCTs is kicked out of Britt David. And the process that students are put through to make sure the schools testing scores stay high are not fair to the children and do not serve to educate them as they should. I should not have to explain to my child why some of their classmates don't stay the whole school year or deal with my child's stress as teachers tell them they'll leave too if they don't do well. Far from a beacon of excellence, Britt David has shown our family what is wrong with our school system (and maybe websites like this one) where a school that can do so poorly in teaching children still gets applauded for having good test scores. I don't care about test scores, I want to know that my children will learn and grow as intelligent and curious individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

Britt David Magnet Academy is a great choice for anyone who wants their child to excel and to be challenged. They encourage your child to do their best. Most of the parents are involved in some way, so much so, that you have to get to the PTA meeting about 45 minutes early if your child is performing, and you want a front seat! They have an amazing library and a media specialist that constantly orders new books for the kids all the time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

Britt David is a demanding yet very rewarding school. I love the fact that not only is the curriculum excellent and the teachers fabulous but the cultural diversity allows the children to learn about other cultures and are encouraged in proper conduct.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I have been in many schools in this district and not one can hold a candle to Britt David. The staff is excellent, the children are extremely well behaved and the academics are top notch. In my opinion, any parent would be pleased with the education their child receives at this institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

This is a wonderful school. Both of my children attend and they have excelled beyond our wildest dreams. I am confident that they will be prepared for anything where ever we go. Love it Love it Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

Britt David is a very good school but sad to say that all they are concerned with is remaining the school of excellence. They do not have time to cater to you child s individual needs. Their behavioral expectations are very high. But on a better note they are wonderful academically. My Kindergartener reads on a 3rd grade level. You could not ask for a better academic program. I do think they need to individualize a little more because my child really needs to be challenged, in order to reach her full potential. Parent involvenment is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

My children entered BD after being homeschooled. The children who attend BD are well behaved, and discipline is not a problem there. We had been on the waiting list for several years, but I withdrew them after the first six weeks. It's a great school if your children are middle- to upper-class average students, but don't expect them to be challenged. If you are looking for a cute, fun, place for your kids to go where the students have been hand-picked to succeed so that the school can continue to be chosen as a School Of Excellence, then BD-Columbus's pride and joy-is the school for you. If you are not satisfied with a school riding on your child's coattails (90% of the children would be 'A/B students' anywhere because of their parents' obvious vested interest in them), then your best elementary option in Columbus is homeschooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

I have been extremely pleased with Britt David. My kindergartener has excelled in Mrs. Shelton's class. I am so impressed with the amount of parent participation, the curriculum, and the fun things the school does for the children. Britt David truly goes the extra mile for us all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

Britt David is an asset to Columbus. The Faculty has worked very hard to keep the school on top. My child, currently in Kindergarten has grown so much intellectully. I am very pleased. Many parents do not wish to move just because of this school. Mrs. Jones and Mrs. Dent are an assest to Britt David. Thanks for all your hard work. Hetal Joshi
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

My daughter has gained a tremendous love for reading, writing, and overall learning from Britt David, Mrs. Cheal's kindergarten class, a valuable asset to obtain at such an early age!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

Excellent school! Outstanding in all areas!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

86 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

86 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

86 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 44%
Black 24% 37%
Asian 18% 3%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5801 Armour Rd
Columbus, GA 31909
Phone: (706) 748-2617

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT