Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbus High School

Public | 9-12 | 1333 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2008

I recently graduated from Columbus High School and have to say that those were the best four years of my life (at least so far). The teachers were great and I learned far more than I ever expected. Because of it being a college prepatory magnet as well as a liberal arts magnet, I feel so much more comfortable in college than I thought I was going to be. I feel prepared (sometimes more so than other students) when a difficult task or assignment is put in front of me. Because I am attending a local college, you can always tell who was a Columbus High graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2007

CHS is just like any other high school. Sure, our academic standards are set high from the get-go of freshman year, but thats why we are Columbus High; that's why we require an entrance exam, and that's why we maintain our magnet program at such a high level of education. One parent posted, 'teachers and students are unfriendly at CHS', and I guess it really depends on who you talk to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2007

Columbus High School is the best public high school your tax money can buy for your kids in the Columbus area. Students know they have to work hard and the school expects the best out of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

I've had two children attend CHS. One is now a sophomore in college and the other a sophomore at CHS. We have seen the great, bad, and ugly, but overall, my two have been well prepared. My oldest was not near as motivated as my second child, however, he still did well enough that he is now bored with college. CHS was much tougher than most of his college classes. My second is much more motivated and making the most of what the school has to offer academically. With all the extracurriculars any student can find their niche. My only real concerns came with the wasted time that often occurred with block scheduling and not enough planned, the teachers who were kept on to coach but taught classes with minimal instruction, and the nit-picky rules the administrators were obsessed with. Overall, however, my two were well prepared and happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

I have had two children graduate from CHS and have one presently enrolled. It is academically a wonderful school and has terrific extracurriculars, also. It has cliques, like any other high school, and I'm sure there is some funny business in admitting talented athletes who don't necessarily meet the academic requirements - which also goes on everywhere. My caution would be this - it's only a good school for your child if your child is motivated to work. My oldest lost her motivation in her junior year, and the last year was awful. The teachers were not motivated to assist a child who was not a top performer, and I wish I had transferred her. My second child Was a top performer, and he had a great experience. Don't keep your child here just because it's a great school - it has to be the Right school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

Although Columbus High has a high quality of academic programs I find that the students and teachers are, for the most part, unfriendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2006

Columbus High School, is the Best school. It challenges my children to do better, knowing most sutdents are smart and hard working. The faculty is excellent and the school offers a lot for their students in all aspects including sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2006

School is mediocre. Misleadingly rated best in state (or 2nd best).
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2005

We have had a our ups and downs will Col High. Overall they are an excellent school. Especially when you compare to what else is available. The special Ed department could use more money and opportunities for the kids. They need to work with Diabetics a little better but we have seen a tremendous improvement over the last two years in that respect. The drama, English, history, and sports areas are excellent. It would be nice if the teachers had more time to spend with the students when they have questions. Overall, be prepared to put in the work, organize your time, be prepared to study, expect to take a very early bus, and enjoy yourself. It is a great school that is still moving forward and will continue to progress. Put your application in early so that the school is not full before you decide to apply.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

I am actually a past student at Columbus High School. I would encourage anyone to attend this school. It provides you with a great advantage. You will have to earn your grades but they will be worth it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2004

Columbus High School is without a doubt the best public high school in the county, and perhaps even the state. The school time and again proves itself to be on par with any private school, and yet is tuition free. CHS churns out one well rounded student after another. I graduated from the magnet program at Columbus High several years ago, and can honestly say that it has prepared me well for college as well as professional school (so far). One word of advice to perspective students, Columbus High is very competitive, even though the talent pool may be much stronger than at other schools, there can still only be one valedictorian. I graduated with a 4.31/4.0 and was still ranked only 15 in my class. Put in the work at Columbus High, and you will soon be rewarded with a great education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 25, 2004

My daughter graduated from CHS in 2003. CHS is a wonderful asset to the community. The students are given many rigorous opportunities to prepare for college. Regardless of your child's strengths they will be challenged and developed at CHS. The culture of the student body is so positive for scholars. Students encourage and celebrate academic success. AT CHS, it is the norm not the exception for students to value their education. My daughter received 2 wonderful scholarships to college. Their guidance staff really works over-time looking for scholarships. Thanks CHS! You saved us money, nurtured our daughter, and gave her the skills to succeed in college. Thank you teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

Columbus High is the best school in the area and one of the best schools in the state. I am a senior this year and have attended all 4 years. The environment is safe, diverse, and very enriching with all the extracurricular activites and APs offered. Students leave CHS prepared to do well in college (obviously by their SAT scores) and in life. I recommend that everyone attempt to send their children. This school is however challenging and does require an entrance exam.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

My daughter graduated from Columbus and has gone on to college.The curriculum prepared her for college and,better yet, for the trials of life. I highly recommend tis school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2003

The greatest achievement of the administration and faculty of Columbus High School is their abiltiy to motivate students. You will find CHS a public high school which, instead of lowering the bar, has chosen to raise the standards for education. In response, the student body has overwhelming accepted the challenge and exceeded all state and national test score averages! As a parent of one Columbus High School graduate and a current sophomore, I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2003

Excellent school. I have had two children attend here, one is now in college. Columbus High prepared her well. She has received many compliments from college teachers on how well she can write and express herself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2003

Super college prep school. CHS provides outlets in all areas to allow the student to 'try'. Teachers, coaches and admin staff are all supportive of the students. Upperclassmen are always willing to assist the lowerclassmen. Since Columbus High is a liberal arts magnet it allows the student to develop and be prepared for college in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Our daughter just completed her high school education at Columbus High. To say that we were pleased with the administration, the faculty, the curricula, and the environment would be an understatement. We could not have asked for a better experience for her. If more schools were like Columbus High School, the number of students actually prepared for college would be significantly higher. Columbus High School not only provides an academic education; it also provides a life-experience education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Wonderful school for anyone that is willing to put in the effort.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 14, 2003

A great college preparatory school. A myriad of experiences allows students to select the right college for them as well as providing them with a firm foundation for success in college.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

319 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

319 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

319 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

318 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

337 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 44%
Black 22% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marvin Crumbs
Fax number
  • (706) 748-2546

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 Cherokee Ave
Columbus, GA 31906
Phone: (706) 748-2534

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Anne School
Columbus, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT