Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 44 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


50 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Columbus High School 5

Posted November 01, 2014
- a student
CHS is a great school for anyone who is fully comitted and dedicated to the educational part of life. The faculty and staff are very nice and they do their best to motivate the student body to do their best. Some of the teachers are strict, but that is to the students' advantage. While attending CHS, you are given a bit more freedom than most schools, but with that freedom comes responsibility. Any student that attends CHS eventually learns proper manners. CHS is truely a college prep. I highly reccomend this school for any student that wants to succeed in college and their carreer. GO BLUE DEVILS!

Columbus High School 5

Posted May 30, 2013
- a student
Columbus High is for students that want to work hard to achieve goals. Any student that says this is a bad school because they kick students out for bad grades is not the type of student CHS caters to. CHS does some rude faculty in the office but majority of the teachers are respectful. CHS is a school that prepares you for college. There is a heavy workload and assignments are challenging, but it is supposed to be that way. CHS wants to push it's students to go above and beyond the requirements. The security of the school is also fine. If you visit other high schools in Columbus, you will see that the campus is open to the public. CHS does have police that stay paroling the area and school just like any other school does. Overall, CHS is a great school as long as you have the motivation and self discipline to do the work.


Columbus High School 5

Posted April 14, 2012
- a student
Columbus High is a great school for somewone who is self motivated. I love It! The teachers and students are super nice and polite. This has been by far my best experience with any school. Go blue devils!

Columbus High School 5

Posted December 17, 2011
- a parent
My daughter graduated from CHS in 2010. The teachers were no more rude than what you'd find in the general population. CHS was a **very** good experience, way better than what she would have had in our former town in a different state. Was it sometimes stressful? Yes, of course. Were there rewards? YES. Is it right for the school to kick out kids getting below a C average? Of course it is! The school's mission is to prep kids for college, and if you can't do C level work here, then you should WANT to go to another high school more in line with your objectives. There are a couple of other GOOD high schools in town, so it is not a case where there are no options. As for CHS, not having to cater to non-academic oriented students (that is not a criticism, by the way, for either the school or non-academic kids), allows it to excel in the areas that it does well in. Good thing is that CHS is a magnet school, so you can live anywhere in Muscogee County and apply. Lots of kids from other counties, and even Alabama, come to CHS as well.

Columbus High School 5

Posted September 16, 2011
- a student
While CHs is challenging they do this because they only expcept the best of the best. It can be stressful at times but the teachers are all willing to help.


Columbus High School 3

Posted May 19, 2011
- a parent
My child does seem over whelmed with homework alot of times but she manages. The staff I would have to agree, they are rude. Myself or my wife can go to check our child out and the office ladies don't even acknowledge your there. Anyone could enter the school and write down someone else name and do what ever and go anywhere. It has happened more times than I can count. Thats the only reason I give a low score. Security! Our children's lives are at stake also!

Columbus High School 2

Posted May 06, 2011
- a community member
I would only give this school 2 stars. To much STRESS on the kids. They need to understand that HEALTHY growth and development is much more than a grade on a piece of paper. The teachers are EXTREMELY RUDE, the students are so stressed about getting kicked out of school for a C or less (Which is the only reason this school has a 100% graduation count.) by the time they finish High School they are a nervous wreck. They can't hold on to friendships much less a real relationship. There are so many times that teachers cross the line and no disciplinary action is taken. If a student crosses the same line they get ISS, suspended, expelled, ARRESTED, etc. This school needs a SERIOUS revamp!!!! I am very disgusted that our government don't protect our children any better that this. I wonder how many Columbus High School graduates over the past 10 yrs. have stress related medical problems now. Best guess is at least 85-90%
1 person found this helpful

Columbus High School 3

Posted April 07, 2011
- a student
I went to CHS as a freshman this year and i had conflicting feelings about the school. The work was hard but doable. The faculty though was very disrespectful to the students and sometimes short tempered. The school has very high test scores when they can throw out any kid that gets below a C on their repot card! I think college is important but this school takes it to an extreme. They put an impression on the students that if they dont get into college then they'll be failures in life. Overall i didnt enjoy my time here and was glad i moved!
1 person found this helpful


Columbus High School 3

Posted January 12, 2011
- a community member
People think "CHS is so great" based upon it's performance according to state standards. For example, CHS was the first school to have 100% pass (more than one) Georgia High School Graduation Tests on the first attempt. However, this website is misleading. CHS is currently an ALL MAGNET SCHOOL. Although it is a "public school," students must be accepted into the school based upon an essay and academic performance in previous grades. I attended CHS and was a member of the first ever magnet program class, and I am currently a teacher at another school in the same district. Although I commend CHS for it's high scoring performance according to state standards, I do wonder how well the remaining schools in MCSD would perform if given the same option of screening their students....

Columbus High School 5

Posted December 09, 2010
- a student
Columbus high is awesome. it is challenging and the students here are super nice. it is so easy to make friends. dont let anyone tell you different. The work is challenging but we work hard and play hard.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbus High School
1700 Cherokee Ave, Columbus, GA  31906
(706) 748-2534
Last modified Columbus High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Columbus High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top