Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Columbus, GA
Students enrolled: 1,302
 

4 stars
Based on 48 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

45 reviews of this school


Columbus High School 5

Posted March 06, 2015
- a student
The bad comments on the staff are not true. The teachers are of all different personalities as to be expected of any school. I would disregard any comment by a "former student" who could not succeed. Make no mistake, this school is not only for the most intelligent students but more for students whom are concerned with being academically competitive on the highest level. Do not attend/ send your child to Columbus high school without a passion for learning or an outstanding work ethic. There may be stress but this school is meant to imitate a college experience which it most certainly does. This puts students in an exponentially better position to attend a top college of their choosing

Columbus High School 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a student
CHS is a great school. It prepares students for college more than any other school. Yes, students do kicked out for getting below a "C" if you cannot do C work at Columbus High than you need to be at another school. The work is manageable if the student prioritizes. CHS does not teach students to be arrogant or egotistical, it teaches students to work to the best of their ability. I would recommend Columbus High School to any student willing to be dedicated to their work. It really pays off in the long run.


Columbus High School 1

Posted December 13, 2014
- a community member
I honestly hate that I'm having to say this about the "best" high school in the county but, I do not recommend this school. While I'm sure their education is great, what they do to their students is saddening. I saw one of their clubs at a competition and they reacted very obnoxiously upon winning. They really wanted to let everyone know that they won. They really enlarge the student's ego, not in a good way. And if you're not already acting like you're better than everyone, others are incredibly stressed out. The stress levels are high, mainly because of the grade deal they have, which I still don't understand. Plus, the teachers and staff there are really rude. Now, other schools in the district, they're welcome to help you. They do everything they can to make sure you meet your needs. It's a shame that I see this is other high schools and not Columbus (which is #4 in the state of Georgia) I'm sorry to say this but CHS does not deserve its position. 1/5

Columbus High School 5

Posted November 01, 2014
- a student
CHS is a great school for anyone who is fully comitted and dedicated to the educational part of life. The faculty and staff are very nice and they do their best to motivate the student body to do their best. Some of the teachers are strict, but that is to the students' advantage. While attending CHS, you are given a bit more freedom than most schools, but with that freedom comes responsibility. Any student that attends CHS eventually learns proper manners. CHS is truely a college prep. I highly reccomend this school for any student that wants to succeed in college and their carreer. GO BLUE DEVILS!

Columbus High School 5

Posted May 30, 2013
- a student
Columbus High is for students that want to work hard to achieve goals. Any student that says this is a bad school because they kick students out for bad grades is not the type of student CHS caters to. CHS does some rude faculty in the office but majority of the teachers are respectful. CHS is a school that prepares you for college. There is a heavy workload and assignments are challenging, but it is supposed to be that way. CHS wants to push it's students to go above and beyond the requirements. The security of the school is also fine. If you visit other high schools in Columbus, you will see that the campus is open to the public. CHS does have police that stay paroling the area and school just like any other school does. Overall, CHS is a great school as long as you have the motivation and self discipline to do the work.


Columbus High School 2

Posted July 11, 2012
- a parent
I am really appalled that this school scares the hell out of kids if they get a grade C in a class. They are allowed to threaten the kids with disenrollment. It is an extremely stressful school environment. They expect the kids to perform at a level that is sometimes overwhelming for a HS student. Kids are suppose to enjoy their high years, not worry if they are going to be kicked out if they receive a low grade.

Columbus High School 5

Posted April 14, 2012
- a student
Columbus High is a great school for somewone who is self motivated. I love It! The teachers and students are super nice and polite. This has been by far my best experience with any school. Go blue devils!

Columbus High School 5

Posted December 17, 2011
- a parent
My daughter graduated from CHS in 2010. The teachers were no more rude than what you'd find in the general population. CHS was a **very** good experience, way better than what she would have had in our former town in a different state. Was it sometimes stressful? Yes, of course. Were there rewards? YES. Is it right for the school to kick out kids getting below a C average? Of course it is! The school's mission is to prep kids for college, and if you can't do C level work here, then you should WANT to go to another high school more in line with your objectives. There are a couple of other GOOD high schools in town, so it is not a case where there are no options. As for CHS, not having to cater to non-academic oriented students (that is not a criticism, by the way, for either the school or non-academic kids), allows it to excel in the areas that it does well in. Good thing is that CHS is a magnet school, so you can live anywhere in Muscogee County and apply. Lots of kids from other counties, and even Alabama, come to CHS as well.


Columbus High School 5

Posted September 16, 2011
- a student
While CHs is challenging they do this because they only expcept the best of the best. It can be stressful at times but the teachers are all willing to help.

Columbus High School 3

Posted May 19, 2011
- a parent
My child does seem over whelmed with homework alot of times but she manages. The staff I would have to agree, they are rude. Myself or my wife can go to check our child out and the office ladies don't even acknowledge your there. Anyone could enter the school and write down someone else name and do what ever and go anywhere. It has happened more times than I can count. Thats the only reason I give a low score. Security! Our children's lives are at stake also!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbus High School
1700 Cherokee Ave, Columbus, GA  31906
(706) 748-2534
Last modified Columbus High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Columbus High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top