Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clubview Elementary School

Charter | PK-5 | 491 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Clubview is a very good school, from day one my son started this school he has been growing in knowledge and skills. I see the advancement in him daily, I also see how much advance he is than some kids his age. This school should and is #1 in Columbus and I am proud to have my son FRED ETHAN VANOVER go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

This school help my child learn .I love this school.My child life will be good
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 20, 2012

My oldest daughter went to Clubview for two years. I can say without a doubt that it was the best school she's gone to for academics, and it's close to the best for great teachers. We ended up leaving Clubview by her choice though, that's not to say the school is to blame, but she felt like she didn't really fit in. I feel like there are a lot of cliques in this school, and my daughter never really found her way into one. My husband and I really loved the school for it's great grades, and all the amazing things it offered the kids, but we weren't going to force our daughter to stay in environment she wasn't comfortable with. I still hope she'll change her mind and go back one day; she had a lot more opportunities in that school than any other we've been in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

Clubview is amazing! the teachers are very nice and enthusiastic. i was new in kindergarten and by the time i was in 1st grade everyone was like family!


Posted August 28, 2010

This school is full of caring teachers and staff. The office personnel and the teahcers know the students and their parents. I feel safe knowing that if my husband or I are not the people there to pick up our kids the teachers will ask questions. In my 2+ years experience with Clubview I have had excellent communication with the teachers and office staff(Even by phone). My child went from just knowing the alphabet to reading everything around within a couple of months of attending this school. Pick up and drop off is very convenient and the staff work very well together and are very quick and efficient. I am very impressed with how well my children are progressing. I am thrilled with the AR program, the organization, family activities and the overal pleasant experience of this school. It is ,in my opinion, the best school Muscogee County has to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

My two kids came from Honduras with very limited knowledge of English & went to Clubview from 3rd to 5th. They got 200% support from teachers and staff. Back home they where regular to struggling students; now they are in middle school and are high achievers with mostly A's and an occassional B. They even enjoyed going too school; excellent leadership. For the sake of your children, move to this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My daughter wento Kindergarten till 2nd grade in Clubview for 3 years. I am surprised that Clubview is rated 9. It should be rated 10 or more. They have excellent teachers under Ms. Lindsey's leadership. It is IB World School. They have uniforms. My daughter was very happy to go to school every day. We think we are very fortunate to be able to send our daughter there. I would recommend Clubview to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

Very disappointed in the special education of this school. They had no time for the disadvantaged. That is the reason we transferred out of Clubview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

As a military family that moves frequently, we were warmly welcomed late in the year. Our child was a gifted student at her previous school, and has been happily challenged with the IB curriculum at Clubview. There are many programs all throughout the year that keep the students, family members, teachers, and community involved. The enrichment classes such as art, Spanish, music, and PE are really innovative. Some of my favorite activities & programs at Clubview are the healthy start breakfast for all program, Fall Festival, the Recycling program, Amazing Ambassador Breakfast, AR reading program, Good Manners Program, Book drives, Clothes drives, wonderful PTA, & many more activities. We are also proud to be a charter school & users of the 'Smart Board.' Keep up the good work Mrs. Adele Lindsey, Mrs. Kelly Jackson, Senora Marlene Culpepper, Ms. Jill Thompson, & Mrs. Meredith Hemmings, Mrs. Thigpen, & Coach Carol Wink.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

I am a parent of a child who just completed Clubview IB program and one who is now in the 3rd grade. We could not be happier! Now, as of this year all classrooms will have Smart Boards in the classrooms! These are computer boards that are positioned in the front of the room and used instead of a dry erase or chalkboard. Teachers are able to put a problem up on the smart board and ask each student to work the problem and submit their answer on a remote control at each desk. Now, the teacher knows exactly who understands the problem and who she needs to work further with to help them learn more effectively! Clubview is definitely keeping up with the computer generation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

Clubview is an excellent school. We have thoroughly entrusted everyone at Clubview with our children's education. Now, we will have all three of our children in attendance there. We could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2007

Clubview is truly an exceptional school. Having served on the local school council and the PTA Board, having three children attend and being an involved parent the school seeks to develop the whole child through IB Curriculum. The result is children involved with and enjoying the experience of learning. Teachers are incredible in their teamwork.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

Clubview has an extraordinary learning environment. When you walk through the doors, you cannot help but be moved by an overwhelming enthusiasm for learning. Creativity, character and critical thinking skills are promoted while students are challenged with meaningful and engaging learning activities. Teachers and staff inspire students to dream, problem solve, and give their best. Music, Art, Spanish and Physical Education specialists provide exciting programs to cultivate a well-rounded, balanced learner. As an International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme, Clubview is phenomenal place for children to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2005

Clubview is a great school.I have a seven year old attending classes there.His favorite teacher is Mrs. Hemmings.I also went to clubview many many years ago and on return visits,it seems just as friendly as it was when i was there.A+ Great school.K Cooper
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

My daughter attended Clubview before we moved and I loved the school. The environment was clean and safe. Her teacher Ms. Cummings was great. We are hoping to move back into the area next year so she can go back to Clubview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

I am a 5th grade student at clubview elementary. I can assure you that when your child attends Clubview he or she will be a smart,talented and happy kid! My years in Clubview has been the greatest year of my life. The teachers (Ms. Adams, Ms. Peed, Ms. Lane) are very understanding and caring! I went to Clubview in the middle of the year. And i was warmly welcomed!! this is really the best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2004

As a teacher at another school, and a parent of a child at Clubview, I have been very impressed with the principal, the teachers, and the level of parental involvement. My child is gifted and is being challenged in her class, and I think that part of this is because of the involvement in the International Baccalaureate Program as well as the commitment of the principal and the extremely highly qualified and caring teachers. I thought about sending my child to a private school, but can truly say that I don't believe she could be getting a better education anywhere else in this city. Clubview, it's administration and teachers are top notch and I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

Currently we have 4 children attending Clubview, in the following grades: second, third, forth, and fifth. So we are experiencing an overall view of most of the grades and teachers at the school. I can truly say we are extremely impressed with the motivation of the teachers, which in turn motivates the child to do their best. All children are different so they learn differently. Clubview relizes that and attends to the need of each child individually. If you are a parent who enjoys being involved in your childs education and your child has a love of learning and needs to be challenged. Clubview is definately the school for your family. We are now an IB school, Go Clubview! Willaims family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

This school is a very great school and your child will enjoy having all great and inspiring teachers. This school is a top school and is now an IB program which maens it is a magnet! This is a great school for your child!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

80 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 44%
Black 20% 37%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2836 Edgewood Rd
Columbus, GA 31906
Phone: (706) 565-3017

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Anne School
Columbus, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT