Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Reese Road Leadership Academy

Charter | PK-5 | 548 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

My kids love their school and I am so thankful and grateful for teachers who care for their students as their own children. I can honestly say that parents who have not been involved in any of their child's school work or activities and do not show up for meetings, are the main ones who have complaints and have negative things to say about our school. My kids were blessed to have had one of the best Principal's ever, Mrs. Pendleton who is now retired, but is always coming back to visit "her kids". My boys have been attending RRLA since Kindergarten and they will continue on 'til they leave for middle school. Great job to Principal and Staff. We love you Mrs. Steinhauser!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

The teachers do not care about their students. The curriculum is right off the CRCT. Bullying is a problem that is ignored. Very poor communication between staff and parents. As a military family we have seen a lot of sub- Parr schools, this is by far the worse. My kids will not be attending aging. I could go on forever about the problems bit the main issue is this town needs a clean sweep of its horrible administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

Our son is in the 5th grade atReese Road Leadership Academy (formerly Reese Road Elem) and has been a student there since PreK. By far the very best teachers! The Principal rocks and the PTA is great too! We are so happy to of been a part of RRLA for all the years! This is the best school in Columbus, Georgia!!! I promise you that!!! :P
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

This school rates as 10 stars as far a we are concerned. Our son has been going there since PreK and will be in the 5th grade this year. He is doing great. The school has great teachers and an awesome prinicpal. Thank you RRES...Go Roadrunners :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

Both of my children have attended Reese Road for the past two years..And I love everyone there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

I love being a RoadRunner!!! I have been at this school for 3 yrs now and I could not ask for anything better for my kids. All the teachers are so involved with the students and the parents. You always feel welcomed when you walk in. The PTA does so much for the kids and for the school. More than anyone will probably know. Also Mrs. Pendleton is great. She is always there to answer any questions you may have. When you walk in these doors you feel like you are at home!! Go Road Runners!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

Reese Road is above excellence! I love the school my kids are doing so well the teachers really care about the kids. Mrs Pendleton is the best she is an excellent job! I give the school 10 stars!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

My children have gone to this school since Pre-K. The faculty here truly care about each individual student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

The best Principal - Asst Principal - Teachers - Staff- PTA - Students and Parents!! Eveyone works together as a family to acheive what is best for the kids. You will not find a friendly family oriented school that excels at everything they do!!! This school is 5 stars all the way!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

My daughter has attended Reese Road for 4 years now. It is an outstanding school with top notch teachers and an outstanding Principal and Assistant Principal. The PTA is great, and the education received at Reese Road is exceptional!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

my son is in pre-k at reese road and will be attending kindergarden there also. I was alittle worried about him going to a 'big boy' school in pre-k but he is doing great! the whole school is very family focused. I could not have asked for a before starting point in his education. reese road rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

In a word, awesome! The Principal, Assistant Principal, Counselor and teachers work together, tirelessly, to ensure the best educational environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

Reese Road Elementary is the best school n Columbus, Ga. My son has been going there for 4 years now (will be in 3rd grade) and we could not love a school any more than we do RRES. Mrs. Pendleton, pricipal is the foundation of this school. She expects nothing but the best from her students and is respected by all the students and parents. The PTA is off the chart. They do so much for the school and they rock when it comes to giving back to the children. The teachers at RRES are awesome. RRES is like a family. We feel so proud and blessed to have out son in such a wonderful school. Children grow up so fast and we feel so good about the education that our son is getting at RRES. Go Roadrunners!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2004

Reese Road Elementary is an awesome school with great teachers and a wonderful principal and asst principal. The school motto, where everyone fits, is so true. I am thankful that my son goes to such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

We have been at Reese Road for 2 years now, coming from a title I school here in columbus. For my 5th grader it was a little tough last year because as I said we were coming from a title I school in which they did nothing in the 4th grade. For my 3rd grader who is now in 4th at reese road it was a little easier conforming to the better academics they have because she was in a lower grade. Both of my children love Reese Road. Ms. Pendleton is definately the rock of this school. She is an excellent principal with some very good and dedicated teachers. We had 100% PTA last year and are trying again for this year. My daughter is still there and wants to be there until she goes to middle school. My son is now in middle school and is doing very well. I have to attribute some of his success to his 5th grade teachers at Reese Road. This is a wonderful school with wonderful people who only want for your child to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2003

We have been involved with Reese Road Elementary for 3 years know, and really enjoy it. It's one of the best schools in Columbus, with quality leadership and great teachers.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

71 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 37%
White 28% 44%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/A51%
Female 51%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3100 Reese Rd
Columbus, GA 31907
Phone: (706) 569-3684

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Anne School
Columbus, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT