Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kendrick High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2010

I am a Senior and Kendrick High School and I love it so much I wouldn't rather be anywhere else but here. I love my principal Dr. Griswood, she is doing her very best and I truly appreciated so all the negative comments aren't true and this comming from a student of 4 full years. I am proud to say that I am and always will be a Cherokee, I rate Kendrick High School a 1,000,000,000,000,0000!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2005

I would like to thank the administrators and teachers at Kendrick for the great jobs they are doing. The curriculum is such that will prepare the students for whatever they choose to persue in the future, wheather it be college or trade school. What happened to the football program last year? They really did an awesome job. Hats off to the head coach and his staff. I had an opportunity to watch the cheerleaders compete at the Civic Center and they did a fantastic job. The choreography was clean and peppy. Mr. Leverett really encourages his band students and is also giving them the opportunity to experience different types of music, which will ultimately lead them to Marching Contests. Do we see 'Music Scholarships' in these student's future? Having all these great extracurricular activities coupled with the Super academic programs at Kendrick High, where else would you want to be?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

i am not a parent but a proud cherokee alumni. i graduated from kendrick in 2001, and i will soon be graduating from kennesaw state university in suburban atlanta with a bachelors in social science education. say what you will about kendrick, but i feel that i was truly given an excellent education there. when i think about teachers like ms. banks and ms. owens, who really influenced my thinking and my academic career as a whole, it makes me want to return back to kendrick to teach to continue their legacy. i encourage any current students at kendrick to really apply yourselves and value the education you are receiving. if you do, you can and certainly will succeed. --roger prill
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 17, 2004

I am very impressed with Kendrick. Focus is being placed on Academics as well as safety and discipline. In order to maintain the type of environment needed to motivate the students, quality teachers are a must. I agree that parent involvement is vital. We should get involved from day one, encourage our children to become involved in an extracurricular activity, & know where they are. We should let them know that we support the school and their teachers. If a problem arise, schedule an appointment and come in and sit down with the administrators and find out what the problem is. If we as parents have a good attitude about the school, this will encourage our children to do so also. The Band Program is changing. I like the direction Mr. Leverett is taking it. Our students are very smart, and 'dancing' isn't the only thing our kids can do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2004

I think that the school is a great school and is one of the best in muscogee county. Kendrick is a school that gets a lot of negative press and is always on the news or in the paper for something little and they change the story to make Kendrick seem bad. The teachers are always there for the students and they are there for the students and always makes time for them. the school is one that is very disciplined and well mannered. The school only needs some renovations because it is in bad shape. They took the money that was supposed to renovate Kendrick and built northside high school and left Kendrick in shambles.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

I think that Kenedrick High School is a good school. They are in need of parent involvement and the school may need building renovations. The principal and the teachers are good and provide a good example for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I currently have one child who entered Kendrick as a Freshman and is now a Senior. Aside from a few problems with the class schedule at the beginning of the year, she has been able to acquire every class needed for graduation as well as teacher assistance with any situations that she felt she couldn't handle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

I Know that the school has/had some problems in the past and seem it will, if they don't get the parent involved at the school. The summer school on-line courses were a mess at Kendrick High School this summer. The quality of the teachers was the problem. I just do not see the need for a Good teacher to tell students how they will not be over worked while in the class room. Why? say this to a class of young men and young women. I never had an issue with school until this summer. What a mess a few teachers can make of a school and a program in just a short period of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2003

Well, I'm not a parent, but to me, Kendrick high school is a strict/ but well behaved school. We have a few decipline problems, and they are handled right on the spot. We have a strict principal. There is no such thing as a 'bad' school, every school has problems,even private schools. The students make the school. To me Kendrick is an all right school. We are working hard on our behavior.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

148 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

131 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

147 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

146 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
64%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
20%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
34%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
19%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
54%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 91% 37%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
White 2% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Alonzo James
Fax number
  • (706) 565-2971

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6015 Georgetown Dr
Columbus, GA 31907
Phone: (706) 565-2960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Anne School
Columbus, GA





Carver High School
Columbus, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT