Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jordan Vocational High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 17, 2009

I've read through all the postings and realize most of them are dated. Mr. Tovey and Dr. Kelley have been gone for some time now. As the parent of a Jordan graduate, I can tell you that my child's experience at Jordan was awful. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. My children who attended another school in Columbus have had much better experiences and much better educations. My son attended chose Jordan for the academy, and the skills he acquired there have been beneficial. He even had a couple of great teachers who are to be commended for staying at Jordan instead of accepting positions at other schools. But the good was far outweighed by the bad. The 'bad' was a number of teachers and a counselor who were not interested in helping certain children succeed. They have an agenda that is rather obvious. Please don't send your child to Jordan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

This school has caused so many problems for my children. I have notice a lack of concern in the faculty. My children will be attending a different school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

I am a current student at Jordan. I have been to almost every school in Columbus,Ga including Harris County High. I have enjoyed Jordan the best! Majority of the teachers are really dedicated to their students. I also like how the office staff tries to learn each student as an indivdual. As my senior year comes to an end I realzie how much I'm going to miss Jordan High.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2005

My son is a sophmore at Jordan and he loves that school. He is in the JROTC program and on the Principals List. He had an opportunity to go to Columbus or Northside but chose Jordan for their Culinary program. He signed up for JROTC last year and has never looked back. (students cant be in the culinary program until they can drive) The faculty at Jordan are awesome for the most part and made his freshman year a great year for him. I can only imagine how great his next three years will be compared to last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

I am a Jordan alumni and my daughter is a junior at Jordan. She is a National Honor Society member, a Who's Who Among American High School Students, and a HOBY alumni. She is getting a great education and has teachers who believe in her and all the other students who attend. Most of the kids come from working class families who don't have a lot of money. Somehow, this makes it seem that Jordan is a low class school but that is completely untrue. They have heart and work hard. If they are willing to reach for the sky, then the administrators and teachers at Jordan are there to help them succeed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 8, 2005

I am a former student of Jordan High School, and I must say that I agree with Kristin, below. I received an awesome education from some very awesome teachers. . The current principal there, from what I hear, is doing a great job. JORDAN IS THE BEST SCHOOL IN THIS CITY and all who oppose that statement can just get out.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 7, 2005

well i go to Jordan and i think that it is a great school and we have got a new principal that cares alot about us and helps us in anyway and is trying to make jordan the school that it was long time ago. He is also trying to bring the quality of eduction up. So please consider Jordan for your children!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2004

I'm not a parent, I'm a student at Jordan. I don't think that Jordan is a bad school. As with any school, there are going to be teachers that are awesome, and there are going to be teachers that don't care about their job. It also depends on the student. If they're willing to learn, then they're going to get a quality education. If not, then they're going to be relying on the government and McDonalds for the rest of their lives. The school can't make kids learn. As the old saying goes 'You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink.' I think Mr. Tovey is doing a great job so far. He's definitely staying on top of things!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2004

Hopefully, Dr Kelley has begun to emphasize the importance of the College Prep degree program. Unfortunately, both my children graduated from there, and the level of education they received compared to their friends who attended other high schools in Columbus became very apparent in college. Avoid Jordan at all cost if you intend for your children to go to college. It will be a waste of their time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

147 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

136 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

144 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

145 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
53%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
41%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
64%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
47%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
61%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 37%
White 33% 44%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Alton White
Fax number
  • (706) 748-2829

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 Howard Ave
Columbus, GA 31904
Phone: (706) 748-2819

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Anne School
Columbus, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT