Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gentian Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2010

Gentian Elementary is a great school, the staff, teachers, parents, & students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

This is my son's first experience in a Georgia school. I must say that there is a big difference. The parents seem more involved here and at the end of the day when I pick my son up from school, there are a number of parents in the lobby waiting for their little ones. At other schools, the office personnel would have cleared them out in a heartbeat but I feel really welcomed at Gentian!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2005

My daughter began her first year of kindergarten at Gentian. Overall, I would have to say that the teachers, staff, and programs are just middle of the road. My daughter is the only reader in her class and is quite advanced academically. The kindergarten teacher had a hard time meeting her where she was. She was subsequently transferred to a first grade class for part of her day. I think the school lacks in quite a few areas: challenging academics, varied lesson plans, extracurricular activities, etc. I was somewhat disappointed with the kindergarten experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

I have 2 children and my oldest went there k-6 and my youngest now in fourth grade has been there since pre-k. I have nothing but great things to say about this school and most of the staff. They are very devoted to the needs of what each individual childs needs on an individual basis and I am very thankfull that there is a place that my children can go and I feel they are in more than capable hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

It has been great up until this year. It is fine as long as your child doesn't ask for additional help with a subject. Hopefully Gentian will take notice to this before too many children are affected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

I have worked at Gentian for the past four years. I have found the faculty and staff to be very supportive. They ALWAYS SEEK the best interests of the individual child. Good behavior is expected from children because the faculty understands that appropriate behavior makes the classroom environment more conducive to learning. The faculty is cohesive, and works hard to promote student achievement. The school motto, 'Out of many, one family,' truly is the order of the day. I feel privileged to be a member of this family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 16, 2005

My children have attended Gentian for their entire elementary school career. Until this year, it was great.When we encountered a problem, there was no support for us.It seems that as long as the student does not require any additional assistance, things are fine. I am all for high goals and achievement but I believe that Gentian is well on the way to losing sight of the individual child.Everyone wants the very best for the child.However, they shouldn't be damaged in the academic process.I sincerely hope that they give more consideration to other families when their is a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

if i had to some it up gentian is what i would call family !!! , the principal takes the time and know each child by name , and is very supportive of the pta , i have held office for the pta , and the school is a special place , from the principal on down to the custodial staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

I have worked at Gentian Elementary for the past 8 years. I have worked with students and teachers from the first to the sixth grades. I believe that the administration is very supporting of the faculty, parents, and students alike. Students are expected to study hard and do their best in a loving and nurturing environment. Even though teachers have high expectations of their students, they still allow them to enjoy being children. I would recommend Gentian Elementary to anyone in search of a quality school.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 13, 2005

I taught first grade at Gentian for 3 years. I could not have aked for better leadership or support. The faculty and staff at Gentian are like one big family. They really care about each individual child and their development. Children are expected to achieve but they are also given ample amounts of support and guidance.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 28, 2005

Gentian is a wonderful school! My two children went to Gentian from K-5th grade and the education they received was outstanding. Gentian prepares students emotionally, socially, and academically for middle school. The counselor does a marvelous job relating to and helping all the students. The teachers and principal hold the highest expectations for all students. I know my children received the best education possible in a safe and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

Gentian Elementary turned out to be a huge disappointment. Our daughter attended first grade at Gentian until we pulled her out before the end of the first semester, it was that bad. Standards at this school are set so high that the children are not allowed or encouraged to be children. The principal himself told us, my husband and I, that there is no time for fun. There is so much pressure put on the teachers, that the students do not have time to be kids. The kids are expected to sit down, shut-up and study. The principal was not at helpful when we went to him for advice. He flat out told us to deal with it or homeschool. He would not consider changing classrooms or working with us in anyway. I was an active member of the PTA and the PTA President is doing an excellent job!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2004

Gentian has some wonderful, caring, skilled teachers. There does seem to be a grade level where the expectations for the students are too high and the consensus of parents whose children have attended fourth grade there is well known throughout the parent community. It has resulted in parents choosing to remove their children from Gentian before reaching that grade level. The administrative leadership at Gentian could be improved upon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

My children attended Gentian Elementary Kdg. through 6th grade. There are not enough words to praise this school. The teachers are wonderful, caring, understanding and nurturing. They are able to bring out the best in each student, find what that child excels in and then help that student to develop their skill. My children went on to College and are presently on Dean's list. They continue to visit Gentian and their 'old' teachers often to thank them for all they did!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

74 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

74 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

74 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 44%
Black 39% 37%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4201 Primrose Rd
Columbus, GA 31907
Phone: (706) 569-3625

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Anne School
Columbus, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT