Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eddy Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

my son is a student at middle school I was reluctant to send them there first but I'm glad I did, they helped him to become successful student his math grade drastically improved and all the teachers and faculty are great regardless of the bad reputation the neighborhood as well as the school had I'm glad he's part of the Eddy general's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Eddy middle school has come a long way over the last couple of years. I have had the pleasure of sending my gifted daughter to this school and have had nothing but great experiences. I was a little hesitant at first because of its reputation but it proved me wrong. The teachers there are great and provide my daughter all of the tools she needs to be successful in life. Oh and another thing my daughter is white and has had nothing but great times at Eddy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

This us to be a good school. You still have some good teachers and students but Eddy is on a downhill slope and no one seems to care. There are students there that have stayed back so many times till it is just sickening. Everyday someone stuff is stolening and the whole attitude of the school is there is nothing we can do. This school need to be overhauled from the principal on down or they just need to close it down. The Board of Education do not seem to care about what is happening at this school because it is majority black.


Posted March 8, 2012

i dont know what eddy's school is doing to our kids my son been there for 2 yrs now and when he was in elem.he was making a's and b's now he's getting f's and i went to the school and tlk with the principal and nothing is getting done.i went again and talked to his teacher and this lady was reading the news paper while the kids was cutting up.so how are the kids going to learn anything when the staff of eddy dont care
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

This school lacks everything! If academics and NOT athletics were placed at the forefront the school might begin to see improvement in there academic profile. Their math score AVERAGE is BELOW a failing grade. And it is Eddy's fault! Hire quality staff and teachers and Not just someone looking for a job. We know the school is not in the best area and that the majority of the homes have single parents who work. This just means that as a community (teachers and staff included) we have to show a passion for our childrens success and future. What happened to it takes a village to raise a child? And as far as the past comments about having well behaved children that aren't disrespectful to their elders....I only have this to say...Most of the teachers/staff DO NOT carry themselves or behave in a respectful manner. Respect is EARNED! Not owed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

I love this school even know there a few children who like to play alot there till good kids. If yo kids know better than they want be gettin in trouble. Thats what i think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

I feel that this scholl lacks leadership and quality teachers. There was a specific teacher in 7th grade that spent more time being a friend than a teacher. This school needs an internal make over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2006

As a parent of a Eddie Middle School student I think the school is a good school, but like all schools there are a few students that need a little displine.You can't fault the school for those students that don't respect their elders and are unruley.The teachers don't have time to babysat these students,when they are teaching those other students that want to learn.And as far as the academics of Eddie I think that its right on track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

I am currently in high school, but I attended Eddy in 2003. I'll agree that it wasn't the best school in Columbus, but it is most certainly not the worst. The students' behavior could have been better, but it is not Eddy's fault. It's the parent's fault for not raising their children to be respectful to their elders.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 23, 2004

I went to eddy in 1989 and loved it, but now I was sending my little girl there and I think now there is no leader ship and no control.I have took her out of that school and would never send a child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
30%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
29%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 37%
White 8% 44%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Roslyn Tymes
Fax number
  • (706) 683-8789

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2100 S Lumpkin Rd
Columbus, GA 31903
Phone: (706) 683-8782

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Baker Middle School
Columbus, GA



Faith Middle School
Fort Benning, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT