Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carver High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2011

I am a current Senior at G. W.Carver High School. I am privileged to be a part of the graduating class of 2012. The reason i have come to this website, is to voice my opinion of this school. I always hear people commenting on our school. And its not always positive. And a lot of people speak of G.W.Carver High School in reference to the football team, which is great. But what about the academic portion of our school. We have some of the most phenomenal administrators that I've ever had the privileged of being taught by. And our principal Mr. Lindsay is one of the best there are. I thank him as well as the school administrators for being the amazing staff that they are.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2011

I am a junior at the George Washington Carver High School...I love my teachers, classmates, and administrators...many say that Carver is a bad school but in all actuality its not..I also participate in many clubs and organizations..Carver is a family environment. the teachers treat you like you are their own..I love Carver and I wouldnt give it up for the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2009

I am a first year parent. My son is in the the magnet program and on the football team. I am very happy with the administrators. They are in control of the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

Graduate 0f 71 and have had 4 kids graduate through the Carver High School Math Science Technology Magnet program with Dr. Tina Cross. Great school with lot of school spirit
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

I love the school after being here for 2 yrs
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

It is often said a school is only as good as its educators but I say a school is as good as the support its educators receives from the parents. Educating a child does not start at school, it begins in the home. The home should be the foundation upon which education is built. In the past few years a noticable change has taken place at Carver. Carver graduated one of its largest classes in years this May 08 and we could not be happier with the care and attention our daughter received as a student. Too often it has been stated that unless your child is in the magnet program you should send them elsewhere. Carver loves all its students and encourages them all to be the best person they can be. Thank you Carver and many blessings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

I think carver high is an fantastic high school. This only my first year at carver and i love it. Thank you carver high
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2007

I was a student at Carver high school, and I loved every minute of it.I had the best teachers in the city prepare me for the life ahead of me.I was in best marching band in the city and I am proud say Im a alumni of Carver school.I really think that students would be very happy that they make the decision to go to Carver high school.


Posted April 2, 2006

I'm not a parent of Carver High School, I was a student there...it was a good school. Carver has alot of activities for students to do after example: FBLA, football, spanish club, and that is just to name a few...Some of the teachers listen to there students; cause they want they student to learn and be able to be success in life. Overall I give Carver High a 9;
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 5, 2005

I belive carver high is a very good school.The Band program is the Best in the city.Also caver has a very good staff.carver is more of a ladeback school and that what make caver high so different from any other school in columbus.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2004

carver could be a good school if ,they had strong leadership.The students control the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2004

Overall, Carver is a nice school, but I would only your child attend if he/she was in the magnet program. The rest of the student population is ok, but just like every other school, it has it's bad crowd too. Carver offers numerous extracurricular activities to keep it's students occupied after school like football, basketball, FBLA, Key Club, National Honor Society, and the famous 'Tiger Marching Band' just to name a few.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2004

This school has excellent teachers and principals. However, the leadership skills that they obtain are very poor. It seems as if the school is controlled by the students. There are more fights and this school than any other school in this district. It would help if the teachers and principals, enforced the rules!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 13, 2003

The teachers at this school needs to listen to the students more. The students are very talented and have bright ideas to make the school a better place. Otherwise, this school is excellant! I think they should keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 2, 2003

Carver High is a very good school. Even though when featured in the paper its only for the bad things, there are good students at this school who come to learn and are happy to be taught.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

215 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

205 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

215 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

215 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
70%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
52%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
69%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
44%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
57%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
66%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
50%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 37%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Chris Lindsey
Fax number
  • (706) 748-2512

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1215 Benning Drive
Columbus, GA 31906
Phone: (706) 748-2499

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Spencer High School
Columbus, GA



St. Anne School
Columbus, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT