Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wynnton Elementary School

Charter | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

I could not be happier with Wynnton Arts Academy. My son started this year, after attending private school from K-2nd grade. At first, I was nervous about sending him to a public school, but now I wish he had been going there the whole time. The curriculum is challenging, and dare I say, more advanced than the private school he attended. Everyone I have ever encountered at the school from students to faculty and administration have been wonderful. The Arts and Music programs that they offer are amazing, and such a blessing for the children in a day and age where those programs are the first to be cut from other schools. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who might be considering it. I am thrilled that we will have 2 more years there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

We toured Britt David, Eagle Ridge, then Wynnton. Britt David is number one in the state for standardized test scores but wasn't a choice for us due to their waiting list. We feel this was the best thing that could have happened to us! The Vice Principal at Wynnton Arts Academy gave us a tour and it was immediately obvious that this school cares. She took 20 minutes out of her day to talk about the school, give us a tour, and introduce us to the teaching and non-teaching staff during regular school hours. Neither of the other schools did this. We were offered their websites as a reference. I now know why. It's like a family here. All the teachers work together everyday to make sure they are all on the same page covering the information in different ways so that each student can learn the best way that works for them. Our 3rd grader was having a hard time this year. He wasn't adjusting well from last year. His teacher completely understood and took steps to make sure she knew his personality. Our first grader reads on a third grade level and continues to be challenged at Wynnton. We look forward to our PreK student starting at Wynnton next year. We know it will be great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

This school is truly a special place. The historic campus is the most beautiful and healthy-feeling of any elementary school in Columbus. Our son has been attending Wynnton Arts Academy for 3 years, Pre-K through 1st grade. The new principal and all of the teachers truly care for "their" children and you can feel it. Their strongest academics are focused on Reading and developing self-confidence through the Arts. I am proud of all of the polite, smiling children I see in the hallways and classrooms each day. I hope more parents in the district will consider sending their children here - don't waste your money on a private school when you can have it all here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

This is an amazing school...esp. for children who are more arts based, but good for many others as well. There is an incredible amount of opportunity for the children to participate in the arts and for FREE. Thanks to the school being a charter school for the arts, my oldest gets to take violin 4 days a week with CSU retired instructors and in chorus. Another one of my children will be starting in the new cello program there and all have participated in FREE after school arts activities which they wouldn't be able to partake in otherwise. Most of the teachers are wonderful with the children and very friendly when walking through the school. Although I am not sure what the administration change will hold for the 2011-2012 school year, the principal and administration leadership in the past are AMAZING! Being that the school has been around for so long, the Partners in Education are so supportive and the school won the PIE award last year! The special education department is also very skilled and has made a large improvement in my oldest's educational experience. Can't say enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Superb teachers & excellent programming & education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

The children are so well educated and are exposed to lots of different things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

I love Wynnton Arts Academy. My children have gone here from Pre-K to 3rd now and the school and teachers are wonderful! The school has several programs that the kids enjoy, such as the dance and orf specialty classes. It teaches them discipline and they want to strive to do well in this school so that they can attend the specialty classes. Keep up the great work teachers and staff! Special thanks goes to Ms. Hines, Ms. Yarbrough, Ms. Queen, Ms. Jackson and Ms. Patsy Shackleford with the before and after school program. My kids love you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

Wynnton Elementary has one of the finest Pre-K programs in the District. The teachers are dedicated to teaching the youngest students so that they may be successful in their education in the future.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

55 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

56 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

55 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

66 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

66 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

66 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 68% 37%
White 18% 44%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 48%N/A51%
Female 52%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carolyn Mull
Fax number
  • (706) 748-3151

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2303 Wynnton Rd
Columbus, GA 31906
Phone: (706) 748-3147

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT