Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Columbus Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I would like to tell our teachers thank you for all you do. I know it may be difficult at times but I appreciate all that you do. To our principals you are doing great things here at South Columbus I can see the growth and changes that are being made. Support staff you are the best we are lucky to have you. I feel great knowing that when my child is at school she is in the best hands and that everyone cares about her educational growth and becoming a successful student. They push her because they see the potential and only want the best for her. Thanks for all you do here at South Columbus Elementary. Pochya Sanders

South Columbus Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Most of our teachers are effective with the students but there are times when we have to make adjustments depending on students' needs


South Columbus Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I feel that they are given right amount of homework. There are times where students may need additional work in areas that they may not be so successful at and teachers and staff offer additional support

South Columbus Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I totally agree that South Columbus helps develop determination and explains the importance of each to the students

South Columbus Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
They teach students the importance of be respectful to adults as well as each other.


South Columbus Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Many students have been taught to be caring, compassionate and empathetic to each other in all situations which is very important in life

South Columbus Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
They teach students characteristics that they will be able to use in life to be successful leaders

South Columbus Elementary School 4

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Our principals are great leaders. Teachers and staff members strive to make sure all students succeed.


South Columbus Elementary School 1

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
Some of the teacher there are so mean,they need to follow the bully policy.They talk to the kids any kind of way and talk to other teacher/parents that love to gossip about ppl kids.My kids so far have not got in any trouble but please do not cause they will be a target.My oldest have been to the office but yet she has been yelled at,curse at and even held late after her bus left where I did not know where my child was,another teacher said that little boy slapped her on the back hard that was not happen I have walked in and teacher be sceaming to the top of her lungs but they say cause the cafeteria is insulated well but she was the only one voice that was yelling and fussing.

South Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2013
- a parent
For a school being in the "undesirable" part of town, my 4 year old has excelled. Learning to count in Spanish, learning shapes such as rhombus, the enthusiasm the kids express is amazing. The teachers must be doing something right. They may not have funds for field trips but they make the best at what they are given. I couldn't expect any more for a public school system.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Columbus Elementary School
1964 Torch Hill Rd, Columbus, GA  31903
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (706) 683-8833
Last modified South Columbus Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top