Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Allen Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 434 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

This school is excellent. All my three children goes here. Teachers are excellent. Very professional. The principle is such a leader and an example to the rest of the teachers. Very good school in town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

This school is a good school. My son improved greatly in his reading and the after school program is wonderful. The staff also helped me find a provider for him in the morning. Being in the military and a single mom I cannot stress how nice it is to have a good school that I trust and challenges my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

the worst my son only been there this year, all i can do is pray that i can work somthing else by next year. good luck hope you enjoy running to the school constantly when its not called for but when your child is actually hurt or in need you won't get that call
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

Allen Elementary is a wonderful school. As the Principal since 2009, I encourage anyone who is moving into this area to pay us a visit. Our goal is to meet the students individual needs and to do what is in the best interest of each and every student. The staff is caring, loving, and willing to do whatever it takes for their students. The extraordinary interior is warm and inviting, colorfully painted and decorated. WE LOVE OUR SCHOOL.....WE are a true family.


Posted November 1, 2008

My daughter goes to Allen Elementary and she loves it. The security of the school makes me as a mother feel safe leaving my child and worry free when she is there. All the staff is very friendly and ready to help in anyway that they can. My daughter has learned so much while there. We love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

we are a military family and my daughter has actually been in this school for three years we love it and it has a great tutoring program after school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

I didnt like Allen at all. It has taken me the better part of a year homeschooling to get his enthusiasm for learning back. He got good grades all year on report cards. I got him tested for ADHD and he is not ADHD however he is a tactile/Kinesthetic learner & is very smart. He has to be kept busy. I always approached her about them to make sure that my son was doing well. Beware of teachers who dont really want to teach & want your kids to just sit down & shut up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

When others ask me of my childrens' school I have to say that it is the best one that they have been to since they have started school. My kids are military kids and they have been to several. I have to say that my youngest son brought up his grades in a hurry once we moved to Columbus Georgia and he started with Mr Smith at Allen Elementary. What a wonderful school. My first impression was that they were clean and orderly. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2003

This is an excellent school and the teachers and principal especially really care about the students and do everything they can to see that the students have a great learning experience in my opinion and they have lots of different programs for the kids at pta and other curriculum activities that involved the parents and kids also.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

66 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

66 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

66 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

62 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

62 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

62 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 44%
Black 26% 37%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5201 23rd Ave
Columbus, GA 31904
Phone: (706) 748-2418

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT