Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Johnson Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 425 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2014

This school is a great school the teachers and principal has been super. My daughter went there and now I have two sons there all the teachers have been involved in their education more than was expected. The teachers are always there for the parents any time they have any questions and work well with the parents. My youngest son has ADHD and has had the teachers work with him. They also have a great speech program, and the office staff is very friendly. The principal has an open door for all students and parents that have any concerns or questions. He's very polite and very involved with the students, parents, the students education, and fundraisers. I wish I had more kids to send here and would recommend this great school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

My son finished kindergarten last Spring. He went to Pre-K somewhere else and they didn't properly prepare him for Kindergarten. He started off way behind in all of the basics. By the end of the school year he was caught up to where he was supposed to be and even ahead in some areas. His teachers did a great job of working with him and were always available if we needed to talk to them. The school has a great principal as well. He is very active in fundraising and always greets the kids in the morning. The parents are asked to volunteer, but there is no PTA type organization. All in all, I am glad that my son attends Johnson. Hopefully our other kids will be able to attend as well. I have heard great things about their Pre-K program, but I have no personal experience with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

My daughter will be in 3rd grade next school term 2010-11. She has been there since K5 and has done very well! Her teachers have all been extremely nice and Principal Hanner is amazing! I plan on keeping my child there til she's ready for middle school..it's GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Johnson has been a great school for my son. They have a wonderful caring staff that really care about their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

The right principal makes all the difference! Johnson now has a male principal who gets my vote of confidence! He encourages parental involvement and fundraisers. He is willing to work with parents who have children with special needs. He's always congenial, and I've never heard a single teacher complain about him. Great leader. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

I think this school started it's downfall after a new principle came in a few years ago. I have never seen a person come in and have such a negative attitude towards parental involvement and fundraisers. She tried to act like she was better than everyone else and quite frankly I am so glad my kids are out of that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

57 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

57 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

57 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

53 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

53 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

53 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
36%

2009

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 44%
Black 40% 37%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Stephen Hanner
Fax number
  • (706) 748-2799

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3700 Woodlawn Ave
Columbus, GA 31904
Phone: (706) 748-2795

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Victory Academy
Columbus, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT