Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Lourdes Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 74 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $47,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2011

I went to OLOL from K-8th grade. I graduated in 1976 and would recommend this school to anyone interested in giving their child the most execellent education possible in the Columbus Ga area. There are many graduates I can personally name that went out into the world that became very successful because of the education they received at OLOL. If you want the only the best eduaction for your children send them to this school for their future, you will be glad you did. The students are not only taught school studies but are taught to be caring, kind,condersiderate, and loving children towards each other and others as well. As part of the regular practices of this school parents are kept informed of their child's progress and encouraged to be involved in their child's education.


Posted October 21, 2011

The best work place a person could ask for. Great kids, great coworkers, great fun! The best! Parents are very involved and students are active within the school and parish. I enjoy going to work each day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2011

Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic School has been one of the best decisions we have ever made for our child. The teachers and staff work tirelessly to provide each student with a top notch education. The daily prayer, weekly masses, and monthly service projects help my child to remember that God and others always come before self. It just feels good to know that the values we try to teach at home are being reinforced at school. We are just so grateful to be a part of this school family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2011

I have had the awesome opportunity to have children attend Our Lady of Lourdes from the early 90's to the present. Two decades has brought about so much change in the world in which we live, but the one constant for an excellent education in a family like environment has been Lourdes. The teachers and administration know each child as if they were their own. Each student's gifts and talents are nurtured and encouraged. For my family, Our Lady of Lourdes will always be our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

I am so grateful to have found this gem of a school for my children. We are a military family who recently relocated to the area and are thrilled with the support the school provides to military familes. How many private schools do you know offer a military discount? Many of the teachers and staff have a military background either as a spouse or child of a service member. They are very patient and loving coping with the challenges unique to our military children. The school is a wonderful community which has embraced our family. Our previous school was academically challenging but Our Lady of Lourdes brings a whole new level of academic excellence. The boys come home from school everyday happy and excited about their day. My oldest said, "Mom, I just love this school. They explain things so I can understand." For military families, the Victory Drive and Torch Hill Road area is not what you remember from 10 years ago. With the Infantry Museum off Lumpkin Road, the reopening of Oxbow Meadows, and the Columbus Riverwalk nearby the whole area is revitalized. I feel totally safe having our children at the school and you can't get any closer to Fort Benning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

My son has attended OLOL School for the past two school terms (K-1). In his own words 'My school has nice teachers. The work is hard but it gets easier each day.' His father comments on the superior academics offered at OLOL School. He also appreciates the small class sizes and the family-friendly atmosphere at the school. I would have to add that the focus on the Catholic faith is expressed to the students throughout the school day and is further emphasized in their attendance (and involvement) in weekly mass. OLOL School sets a high level of expectation on the teachers and the students to insure success. The principal is very involved in making sure the mission of the school is upheld. I highly recommend this school to anyone who is seeking a faith-filled and quality education for their child(ren) in an environment that is an extension of their home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

My daughter has been going to OLOL since Kindergarten and absolutely loves it. What can I say about this school that makes is different from other school is that we are one big family! We are diverse, small but big at heart, and the education is great! The teachers are wonderful and caring. The tuition is reasonable comparing to other private schools in the area. My daughter is in the 8th grade and will be graduating in May, but the education that she receives will help her progress on to High School. I will honestly miss the school and the camaraderie of the parents and teachers as well as the students. Go Leopards!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

OLOL is a small, diverse Catholic school that is absolutely fabulous! We are a military family stationed at Ft Benning. We have seen many schools throughout the nation and in GE, and this one ranks #1. The academics are superb. The kids score consistently in the top quartile on national exams. I feel confident that my children will be well prepared to transfer anywhere in the country and do well. The class sizes are small. ESL is available. Tuition is reasonable with financial aid available. I would reccommend this school to anyone I know. They really work with the kids who have high functioning special needs although there is no special ed program. I want my children to be successful adults, and this school will help them to reach for the stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 44%
Hispanic 28% 12%
Black 18% 37%
Two or more races 9% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Savannah
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1973 Torch Hill Road
Columbus, GA 31903
Phone: (706) 689-5644

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eddy Middle School
Columbus, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT