Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $136,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

If you are looking for academic excellence and a partnership in raising young men and women with character and integrity with a biblical worldview, then Calvary Christian School is for your family. My daughter graduated from CCS and now I have 3 grandchildren who attend. It provides a safe and positive environment for learning and their most valuable assets they offer are their teachers who care for the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

My two children have been at Calvary since K3 and they love it (now in 3rd and 6th)! Calvary has a family atmosphere that cannot be beat. Teachers are accredited and the school is accredited by SACS and ACSI. Graduates go on to college and/or the military. Test scores are above the national average. My children are learning from a Godly viewpoint, but also a high academic standard. The school has a varied demographic of families. My children are growing both spiritually and academically. We love all the athletic programs that are offered. We value the fact that the school has a qualified on campus school nurse. I could go on and on about the school! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

Great school! I have one child that started in K3 two years ago and our second child will be starting K3 this upcoming school year. Highly impressed with the care and love that teachers have for their students. My daughter was reading at a high level in K4. Love this Christian School!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

School administrators micromanage teachers and force them to alter academic standards and requirements that were previously agreed upon by the teachers, administration, students and parents. Students are passed on to the next grade or allowed to graduate who did not earn the right to do so, all in the name of showing 'grace' and 'mercy' to lazy children. The end result is a group of children who are not challenged, held accountable, or fully prepared for college or life as an adult. Furthermore, good teachers become discouraged and leave, resulting in high educator turnover each year. The only good I can say of Calvary is that most of the teachers genuinely care about the children and will go above and beyond to help those who ask for it. Do not send your children to Calvary if you want them to learn in a rigorous environment where they are challenged to grow and prepare for adulthood.


Posted December 13, 2012

This is our son's 6th year at Calvary after moving to the Columbus area. We could not be more pleased with the academic rigor and feel that he is definitely being challenged and prepared for college. It is great to see that older students are being accepted to and are attending larger universities (UGA, Ga Tech, Auburn, Univ of Alabama). Colleges reps are on campus weekly to recruit students and students are receiving lots of scholarship offers. Most importantly, our son is learning to think for himself and ask questions, and is getting a solid foundation that will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

Calvary Christian School is a great school. We have a son in Preschool there and he absolutely loves it. The teachers are so caring and seem to really love their job. Our son is reading, can count to 100 and is learning Spanish. CCS is a good balance of great academics, a Biblical curriculum, and extra activities outside of the classroom for the children. They leave the classroom every week for Chapel, Art Class, Music Class and Library. I also like that the entire school is incorporated together for Pep Rallies and other events. Our family looked at all the schools in the area before choosing Calvary and we believe, by far, it is the BEST school in the area if you are looking for a truly balanced education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

Our child began at Calvary in 6th grade and is now in high school. We have found the academic rigor to exceed our expectations. Graduates of this school have been accepted to Univ of Alabama, Univ of Georgia, Georgia Tech, Auburn Univ, Univ of South Carolina, Univ of Mississippi, Baylor University, SMU, Mercer Univ, to name a few. Over 90% of each graduating class attends college, while others enter the military. We have found caring, professional Christian faculty and staff, many with advanced degrees who challenge each individual student to excel and to learn. Extracurricular activities include sports teams (football, basketball, soccer, baseball, volleyball, softball, cross country, tennis, cheerleading) on the middle & high school levels, and intramural teams for the younger students. Both their choirs (offered at every grade level) and drama and literary arts departments have received regional and state awards. Various clubs are available and most are service oriented. (Spanish Club, Key Club, Natl Honor Society, Chess Club, SGA). With the inaugural middle school football team in progress, the next program slated is band. Above all, a great Christian learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

I had two children at Calvary recently in the elementary and middle school for a few years and both no longer attend. There were so many issues that we had with this school and how it was run. Many of the teachers are not well equppied for the subjects they are teachers and often give little to no homework. The students are not challenged at all in the middle school. Also they put nearly all of their focus and money into their athletics program, lacking in all fine arts with no drama or band program of any kind and do not have a very academic focus. The faculty at Calvary are not open minded. If students do not see eye to eye with them in politic tal issues hey are ridiculed by the teachers. Overall, just a poorly run school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

My son has attended Calvary Christian School for eight years now and the school offers a very good educational program. The school not only prepares a child academically for college, but every bit of importance teaches a way to live life and have have a relationship with God and prepares them to go out into the world and live a good life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

Great school!! As a military family, we have moved often, but we have entrusted 2 children to Calvary Christian School and do not have any regrets. Great teachers, great athletics, great teachers and coaches. I love the school and what it stands for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

I have a child currently enrolled in Calvary and another who will be next year. The environment is very loving & nurturing. As a public school teacher, I am perfectly satisfied with the academics provided to her. If there is a question, please check out the average standardized test scores. Also, the average SAT scores are higher than the surrounding school systems. Above all, my child loves going to school. Not only is she receiving great academic growth, but spiritual growth as well! We will remain a Calvary Knight for many years to come!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I give the school high marks for its activities and religious orientation, but as an educator I was very disappointed with with the school's academics. The headmaster tends to micromanage programs and dictate policy in a manner that truly hampers the learning process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

We have only had experience with public school for three years and another Christian school for seven years. CCS has exceeded our expectations for Principal Leadership, Teacher Quality, Extracurricular activities, Parent Involvement and, most important, Christian Education and Christian Influence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

Many people think this is a good school but when getting into especially middle school you begin to notice how unorganized it is. It is a very unprofessional school and their are not even teachers supervising when hyper middle school students are running outside and waiting to get picked up. They pretty much have no fine arts here either. Overall not a very good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2007

As a student of Calvary Christian School, I feel their academic standards are not always up to par. But I do feel we are a great Christian school, who is excelling everyday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2007

I have two children who were enrolled at Calvary and honestly we were not impressed with the quality of this schools academic standards. I've found that private school does not mean good school and Christian academy does not mean Christian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

Calvary Christian School is an excellent school in all areas - spiritually and acadmically, and is the only Christian School in the area that holds 'three' accreditations (ACSI, GAC, SACS). My children have been attending for 9 years now, and I have had nothing but a positive experience. The school has an excellent website with information -- so, check it out for yourself www.calvaryknights.com
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

One would expect a private school to have a higher level of academic teaching than 'public' schools. This school has one level of teaching and it is not aimed to allow the smarter kids to excel further in their studies/education. The tuition is reasonable, but not worth the entire cost. Many students leave after the 5th and 8th grades to attend public schools. Some of the kids going to public high schools have to have remedial classes in math due to the lack of preparation at Calvary. Muscogee County is fortunate to have several excellent public schools for those who want their children to obtain a good education that will prepare them for college and whatever life offers them in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

We are on our second year with our first child (Pre-K & K). We plan to continue by sending our second child when she's of age. We have truely enjoyed the experience. The education is great and the personal attention better. The teachers get very involved with the children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

Calvary Christian School is a great school. Our kids have been attending for 8 years. Highly qualified and caring faculty and staff. Our children are receiving an excellent education in a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 44%
Black 9% 37%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7556 Old Moon Road
Columbus, GA 31909
Website: Click here
Phone: (706) 323-0467

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Shaw High School
Columbus, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT