Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Columbus, GA
Students enrolled: 571

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Calvary Christian School 4

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
If you are looking for academic excellence and a partnership in raising young men and women with character and integrity with a biblical worldview, then Calvary Christian School is for your family. My daughter graduated from CCS and now I have 3 grandchildren who attend. It provides a safe and positive environment for learning and their most valuable assets they offer are their teachers who care for the whole child.

Calvary Christian School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
My two children have been at Calvary since K3 and they love it (now in 3rd and 6th)! Calvary has a family atmosphere that cannot be beat. Teachers are accredited and the school is accredited by SACS and ACSI. Graduates go on to college and/or the military. Test scores are above the national average. My children are learning from a Godly viewpoint, but also a high academic standard. The school has a varied demographic of families. My children are growing both spiritually and academically. We love all the athletic programs that are offered. We value the fact that the school has a qualified on campus school nurse. I could go on and on about the school! We love it!


Calvary Christian School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Great school! I have one child that started in K3 two years ago and our second child will be starting K3 this upcoming school year. Highly impressed with the care and love that teachers have for their students. My daughter was reading at a high level in K4. Love this Christian School!!

Calvary Christian School 2

Posted May 16, 2013
- a community member
School administrators micromanage teachers and force them to alter academic standards and requirements that were previously agreed upon by the teachers, administration, students and parents. Students are passed on to the next grade or allowed to graduate who did not earn the right to do so, all in the name of showing 'grace' and 'mercy' to lazy children. The end result is a group of children who are not challenged, held accountable, or fully prepared for college or life as an adult. Furthermore, good teachers become discouraged and leave, resulting in high educator turnover each year. The only good I can say of Calvary is that most of the teachers genuinely care about the children and will go above and beyond to help those who ask for it. Do not send your children to Calvary if you want them to learn in a rigorous environment where they are challenged to grow and prepare for adulthood.

Calvary Christian School 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
This is our son's 6th year at Calvary after moving to the Columbus area. We could not be more pleased with the academic rigor and feel that he is definitely being challenged and prepared for college. It is great to see that older students are being accepted to and are attending larger universities (UGA, Ga Tech, Auburn, Univ of Alabama). Colleges reps are on campus weekly to recruit students and students are receiving lots of scholarship offers. Most importantly, our son is learning to think for himself and ask questions, and is getting a solid foundation that will last a lifetime.


Calvary Christian School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
Calvary Christian School is a great school. We have a son in Preschool there and he absolutely loves it. The teachers are so caring and seem to really love their job. Our son is reading, can count to 100 and is learning Spanish. CCS is a good balance of great academics, a Biblical curriculum, and extra activities outside of the classroom for the children. They leave the classroom every week for Chapel, Art Class, Music Class and Library. I also like that the entire school is incorporated together for Pep Rallies and other events. Our family looked at all the schools in the area before choosing Calvary and we believe, by far, it is the BEST school in the area if you are looking for a truly balanced education.

Calvary Christian School 5

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
Our child began at Calvary in 6th grade and is now in high school. We have found the academic rigor to exceed our expectations. Graduates of this school have been accepted to Univ of Alabama, Univ of Georgia, Georgia Tech, Auburn Univ, Univ of South Carolina, Univ of Mississippi, Baylor University, SMU, Mercer Univ, to name a few. Over 90% of each graduating class attends college, while others enter the military. We have found caring, professional Christian faculty and staff, many with advanced degrees who challenge each individual student to excel and to learn. Extracurricular activities include sports teams (football, basketball, soccer, baseball, volleyball, softball, cross country, tennis, cheerleading) on the middle & high school levels, and intramural teams for the younger students. Both their choirs (offered at every grade level) and drama and literary arts departments have received regional and state awards. Various clubs are available and most are service oriented. (Spanish Club, Key Club, Natl Honor Society, Chess Club, SGA). With the inaugural middle school football team in progress, the next program slated is band. Above all, a great Christian learning environment.

Calvary Christian School 1

Posted August 13, 2010
- a parent
I had two children at Calvary recently in the elementary and middle school for a few years and both no longer attend. There were so many issues that we had with this school and how it was run. Many of the teachers are not well equppied for the subjects they are teachers and often give little to no homework. The students are not challenged at all in the middle school. Also they put nearly all of their focus and money into their athletics program, lacking in all fine arts with no drama or band program of any kind and do not have a very academic focus. The faculty at Calvary are not open minded. If students do not see eye to eye with them in politic tal issues hey are ridiculed by the teachers. Overall, just a poorly run school.


Calvary Christian School 5

Posted January 13, 2010
- a parent
My son has attended Calvary Christian School for eight years now and the school offers a very good educational program. The school not only prepares a child academically for college, but every bit of importance teaches a way to live life and have have a relationship with God and prepares them to go out into the world and live a good life.

Calvary Christian School 5

Posted January 03, 2010
- a parent
Great school!! As a military family, we have moved often, but we have entrusted 2 children to Calvary Christian School and do not have any regrets. Great teachers, great athletics, great teachers and coaches. I love the school and what it stands for.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calvary Christian School
7556 Old Moon Road, Columbus, GA  31909
(706) 323-0467
Last modified Calvary Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Calvary Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top