Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Columbus Magnet Academy

Public | 6-8 | 603 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2013

My child will be attending this school in the fall and I'm super excited for her! The principle Mr.Scott is the best! I look forward to this new beginning for my lovely daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

East Columbus Magnet Academy is the best kept secret in Columbus, Georgia. My son and daughter have just left to go to high school. The teachers are great. They worked with my children to make sure they were successful. Mr. Scott, the Principal, has really done a fantastic job here. He really cares for all of the students. And the students love him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

This is a awesome school, if your child is there to learn. they have a lot of rules which for me as a parent are great. The academics are excellent same as the personnel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

I love ECMA. Im an magnet 8th grade student there and the teachers are oh so wonderful! Espically Mr. Scott(the principle). He gets everybody on track.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2009

The teachers work with my daugther and I belive it is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

Great atmosphere and learning environment. Teachers and staff are wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

this school is the best of all of the schools not only because i am an student at ecma it is the bbest of all
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2009

I say this is excellent because everytime I go in that school I see many many parents supporting thier children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

I am a stuent at East Columbus and EC is a very well eduacated school.our Mr.Scott does his job very well and is very professional when he does it.East Columbus IS indeed the best middle school in columbus.We have lots of leadership and lots of well eduacated teachers to teach their students what they need to know.I must also say that just because we have a day call 'buy-outs' doesn't mean anything.It just the children getting a tiny little break from all the hard work they are doing or trying their best to do.And Mr.Scott wouldn't allow us to have this activity if it was going to represent the school badly,because as a principle he does what he can to make sure ALL the students in East Columbus Magnet Academy passed the CRCT and go on to the next grade.So, yet again EC Knights Is indeed the best middle school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

This is the worst school I've ever dealt with. The teachers do make the kids feel dumb and the focus is not on teaching the students or reinforcing positive behaviors but more on the negative. I have never known for a school to have lockout where all the kids pay money to stay out of class all day. The lockout is in the gym and kids are walking around talking amongst their friends. I will never recommend this school to anyone. Poor leadership and poor teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

well i am a former student and athelet of east columbus. i attended EC all my three years of middle school. Mr.Scott became my principal when i was in the 8th grade. He had a vision of how he EC should be ran. You could really tell he knew what he was doing because the previous years EC was not 'that good'. Mr. Scott and mostly all of the teachers there, really do care about their students education. Even though there may have been some teachers who just want a check, but what school doesn't have 'those types'? And when we did good things, we got rewarded. The Sports programe there is awesome too. I love the coaches {ms.tanzie.mrs.crooks.coach marino}. And having the best football/cheerleading team in the city {for middle school}, is just a bonus! So as you can see i really do love East Columbus.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2008

I am a 8th grader at EC. We ae very well behaved around Mr.Scott. He has done an excellent job. Last year he whipped us into Shape for the CRCT test. I love that school so much go EC knights.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2008

I went to ECMA for my 6th & 7th grade year. I am currently in the 8th grade at Rock Lake Middle School in Longwood, Fl. I love that school more than any school I ever been too. I was a 07-08 ECMA cheerleader & loved it! The school teachers can be strict but only if your or the class is really misbehaving. the teachers there will always try their best to help you succeed in their class. The athletic programs in the school are very good also. I was there when they had Mrs. Hutchinson and the school seemed really out of hand when she was principal. I didn't know exactly who she was till January in my 6th grade year. Mr. Scott was my principal for 7th grade and he is an excellent principal. He really knows what he's doing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2007

We have four children, two of which attended East Columbus Magnet School under the leadership (if that s what you call it) of the former principle Mrs. .Hutchinson. It was obvious she hated being at that school, but I guess she needed a paycheck. While there my children suffered mentally, emotionally from the treatment they received from staff. They went there as honor students but came out feeling crushed, dejected and torn down. The staff was a product of the principal s nasty attitude. They were lazy and unprofessional in everything they did. Mrs. Hutchinson, the principle didn t care enough for the children to attend the PTA meetings; it was hosted by the assistance principal. I felt as if my children were in a cult, as the school did not welcome parent s visits. I pulled them out of that school. Complaint made by the parents went unnoticed by the school board. I personally made several complaints on this principal and did my neighbors, the superintendent never responded!! East Columbus has a new principle, BUT I wouldn t trust that school unless the principle does a complete overhaul on the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2007

I am so glad that we have a new Principal at East Columbus Magnet Academy. I can tell the difference in the hallways and in the classroom on how the students are acting. The students are well behaved.I feel more secure knowing that there is control at ECMA now. The teachers are teaching with a smile on there face like they enjoy being there. My child is in the 7th grade and she is enjoying this year much better than last year. I talked to the new principal and he want us parents to come to the school anytime. And that his door is always open. I know that is true because he made time in his schedule to meet with me and to just say hello. I recommend your child coming to ECMA. A.L
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

This school is by far the worst that I have dealt with. The leadership is lacking and the staff seems to only be there because they haven't any other choice. I have had great dealings with the vice Principle, and I to agree that she should be the Principle. The Principle there is very unprofessional when it come to associating with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2006

I am really not pleased with ECMA. My child attended there last year and it was not a great environment. My child had teachers telling him at the beginning of the year that he was going to fail and he did. I told my son if he had questions ask, but he was told that his question was silly. The principal doesn't return phone calls. My son is an LD student and half of the time did not have the resource teachers come in to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

I was a student at this school for all three grades. The athletic program is a great one, the coaches really care. The assistant pricipal, Mrs. Kinney, should be the principal. The real principal is only seen when there are visitors. Some teachers can't handle teaching at this school emotionally. To sum it all up, it is not a stable environment. Although, your child can get a great education at this school. The teachers are smart, but not stable.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 12, 2005

The teachers talk loud to the students, and some yell frequently at the students. The teachers don't seem to have the compassion in dealing with the 6th graders in their transition to the middle school in trying to understand the these children are going through adolescent changes and are adjusting to this new phase in their life. Some of the teachers give busy work and never use the blackboard to explain class work. The school focus more on the student's dress rather than on academic acheivement. The reading teacher seems to be more understanding, and cares about the student learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

East Columbus is a good school. The teachers are very devoted. The administration is also hardworking. Student achievement is very high. Extracurricular activates are excellent. This school over all good but needs more parent involvement.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
35%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

200 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 91% 37%
Two or more races 5% 3%
White 3% 44%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kevin Scott
Fax number
  • (706) 565-3031

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6100 Georgetown Dr
Columbus, GA 31907
Phone: (706) 565-3026

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Anne School
Columbus, GA




Fort Middle School
Columbus, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT