Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Double Churches Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 475 students

Our school is best known for a quality education to a diverse student population

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

This is my daughter fourth year in school in Columbus and second year at Double Churches and I am sad that she can't stay for high school. She is a good student but at Double Churches she became a great student. She loves going to school unlike her last school where she would be dragging to get ready. The new principal is out every morning greeting the students and parents, the vice principal is also always ready to greet and talk to parents. I think if your child attends this school they will love it.


Posted September 10, 2014

This is my niece's first year in middle school, and she loves Double Churches Middle School. She is very happy there, and she is learning a lot. Every morning the principal is outside to greet the children when they arrive. In the afternoons, he is outside until every child is safely picked up. My niece loves all of her teachers. The teachers are focused on exactly what the children need to learn, and they make it fun. The teachers are nurturing, and yet they maintain excellent discipline. Physical education is a big part for 6th grade students because that is a new experience. My niece so enjoys the PE teachers, and the activities they do. When I have been in the front office, they are consistently helpful and nice. That gives a great first impression of what the school is like. The new principal is an excellent leader for the children of this school. He works hard, and takes his work seriously. The best evaluation of the school for me is that my niece comes home everyday happy, and she is excited about learning. The school does a nice job of mixing learning with fun. The children really respond to the pride coins incentive system!! Go Wildcats!!!! : )
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2014

I love Double Churches Middle School! My children were homeschooled, so when I had to put them in regular school, DCMS was the only school my kids wanted to attend. They had friends there already and I heard some good things about the school. I was still a little weary, but my fears were quickly laid to rest as I met the staff and got involved. The late Mr. Cox was a fantastic principal. He really cared about everything DCMS. The new principal, Mr. Fitts is fantastic as well. He's only been with DCMS a short while, but he really cares about everything DCMS. He really loves for parents to be involved, and they should be. All the teachers my children have had are WONDERFUL! The front office staff, Ms. Shelley and Ms. Webster, are great and very helpful ALWAYS! Mrs. Harper helps to make sure all the kids are doing the right thing. I can't list everybody, but the whole staff at DCMS is great! I can't begin to say enough how wonderful they are. And sports...we have the best sports teams in Muscogee County!!! DCMS really is a wonderful school. The teachers challenge the students daily to prepare them for high school and beyond. I am glad I chose DCMS for my children!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2014

This is one of the most culturally diverse schools in Columbus with so much to offer students in both academic and extra curricular activities. It is a hidden gem and my son had enjoyed the middle school experience he has had. The course offerings are top notch and he is taking all advanced classes. The new principal is very enthusiastic and the assistant principal has done wonders with positive behavior support for the students. The climate at the school is always nurturing and caring and the staff is super friendly. I love DCMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2014

DCMS is a great school that offers all kids an opportunity to grow and have great experiences in a safe environment. We have an academically challenging atmosphere that meets the students where they are at and allows them to grow mentally, physically, and emotionally. Our Wildcat P.R.I.D.E. Program is a Positive Behavior Intervention Plan that is proactive in preventing discipline issues as well as working to create a Bully-Free environment. In 2013-2014 we saw our Discipline Referrals decrease by 22%, while our CRCT scores saw the greatest gains of all Middle Schools in Muscogee County. Middle School is a challenging time for all students but the Faculty and Staff of DCMS works tirelessly in helping our students grow and achieve. If you ever want to visit the school, give us a call or just come on by and we will be glad to show off our Wildcat P.R.I.D.E. - GO CATS!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2014

Very unprofessional school, lacks the initiative that an academically advance school needs. This a direct reflection of their leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2013

My son transferred from Arnold to Double Churches middle and the difference is amazing. His grades are improved, the teachers care and want the children to learn. There is no bullying or fights which happened all the time at Arnold. The principle is strict but I think that is what is best to keep the trouble makers in line. The school is in a great area and is kept clean. I don't care what others say this school is amazing in all aspects. I couldn't ask for a butter place for my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This school is not the ideal school to go to. I came from Blackmon Road which is academically the best school here in Columbus Ga. I am in the eighth grade and all advanced classes and I am being taught thing I learned in the 6th and seventh grade. The other students have no respect for adults and the environment of the school is not so great. My rating is zero stars.


Posted September 23, 2013

My daughter transferred here from Midland Middle. She had reservations at first but finds it to be not as bad as she was told. She was assigned to an advanced class and received all As except for one high B. My daughter excells in school but i wonder if the school is too easy. Are the other kids just not trying as hard? Its easy to stand out academically when your surrounded by kids who just dont care to try. You decide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

I went to double churches for 7th and 8th grade. I recently went to two other middle schools, Arnold magnet academy and smithstation intermediate in Alabama. This school was waaaaaaaaaaay better then Arnold. Arnold was the worst school year ever for me, and I got locked outside when i was in 1st grade and the teacher didn't care, and several others things happened. But anyways, There was a lot of great teachers there when i went :) They seemed like a they really cared. I was even in a play in my advance language arts class! :D :P well i was a person that moved the furniture xD but it was fun. I really felt apart of something. I even hung out with some people, out of school c: ...which we aren't really friends anymore. I would recommend this school to anyone that knows how to follow orders and not talk all the time. It seems like the people that would misbehave had a horrible time. I'm in 10 grade now and my review probably means nothing, sigh i'm scared to go to public high school, since i did home-school last year. I just really hope this helps someone out and someone actually reads it ^-^ :) Thank you so much if you actually read this. Good luck.


Posted May 23, 2012

This school's environment directly reflects its rating. It is a 2 of 10. My child was regularly exposed to fights in the hallway, children stealing from other children, and teachers that are only attempting to insure students are minimally passing the crct. They do not teach comprehension and problem solving. My child was an honor roll student, but her performance academically and her homework directly reflected someone being taught the test. I literally spent hours each night teaching her things she supposedly learned in school. The children in this school are allowed to dress like thugs and discipline is very poor. I would imagine the poor learning environment has something to do with why they perform so poorly on standardized testing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

This school is great! I went here 2 years ago and may be coming back soon. The teaching here is really high level. The only problem I have ha with it, is the students. I was a student myself at the school, and I was getting very disappointed at some students because the way they would act towards me. Maybe they were going through some tough times. I don't know. Well, all I have to say is that it's a great school and I can't wait to be back!


Posted May 31, 2009

I requested a hardship for my son this year and it was the best thing that could have happened to him. Last year he had teachers who didn't care about the students (and he knew this). He almost failed. This year He made it to the National Junior Honor Society and had A's and B's all year. He actually likes reading now and loves the teachers. I really believe this school has had such a major impact on my son's life. I couldn't be more grateful to all his teachers this year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

Being a military family, this is now my sons 4th middle school in a little over two years. This school is wonderful! The teachers are wonderful! Linander, K. Roberts, S. Roberts, Clark, and Raines. Everyone has went out of their way to help him adjust and to help me stay on track of my son and his work. Mr. Carter in Guidance is outstanding and the open door policy is in fact open door! Sad to say we are being transferred yet again. We will miss Double Churches Middle School 'great'ly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

Lack of discipline, the kids are really not getting the education they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

We are a military family who moved middle of the school year. My son had failing grades from the previous middle school he attended. He also has ADHD. This school is the best middle school I have ever encountered with our travels. The team of 602 Cares for your child like there is no other. They want to see your child succeed in every aspect of learning! I am so appreciative of Double Churches teaching staff, Mr. Carter, Mr. Hendrickson and everyone involved. My son is now passing with A's! I would recommend this school to anyone! Thank you Double Churches Middle School for your caring support of my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

Being a military family, we moved here just after Christmas 2003. Our son has adjusted to the new school very well. This is in part due to the teachers on team 702. Every teacher shows a genuine concern for their student and they are all very approachable. We feel our son is receiving a top notch education. The Orchestra is small but they pack a punch when they play. The director puts in alot of personal time for one on one instruction after school. The design of the school is awesome along with the different sports offered and elective classes. We only wish they had a baseball team. In all we are very happy with Double Churches and would recommend this school to anyone that asked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2004

We have been very pleased with Double Churches Middle School. We are military and this is our son's third middle school and the best. Dr. Hudson is a terrific principal who is very involved and available. He was at every game home and away, for our son's basketball team ensuring all the kids got safely on the bus most times in the dark. The 8th grade teachers are super and it's been a great preparation for high school. We highly recommend Double Churches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

The Principal as well as other staff members are very friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 37%
White 37% 44%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Science Fair - 1st in Regional (2014)
  • Social Science Fair - 1st in District (2014)
  • Reading & Academic Bowl - 3rd in District (2014)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Jr. Marshal's - 1st in MCSD (2014)
  • Future Cities - 5th in State (2013)
  • GA Young Authors - District/Regional Winner (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
  • It's Academic
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 am
School end time
  • 3:50 am
School Leader's name
  • Craig Fitts
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (706) 748-2682

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Hybrid
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • PCI
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Future Cities
  • It's Academic
  • Math club
  • Movie / Media Club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Velocity
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer at School
More from this school
  • Double Churches Middle School offers a safe, well managed, and academically challenging environment to the students of Muscogee County. Our school population is a mirror of our community with a student population that practices Wildcat PRIDE. The PRIDE program is our Positive Behavior Intervention Plan that has decreased the number of discipline referrals by 22% this past year. This in turn has helped DCMS see the highest gains in CRCT results of all Middle Schools in MCSD. GO CATS!!
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Northside High School
Columbus High School
Jordan High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7611 Whitesville Rd
Columbus, GA 31904
Website: Click here
Phone: (706) 748-2678

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brookstone School
Columbus, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT