Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Double Churches Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

Very unprofessional school, lacks the initiative that an academically advance school needs. This a direct reflection of their leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2013

My son transferred from Arnold to Double Churches middle and the difference is amazing. His grades are improved, the teachers care and want the children to learn. There is no bullying or fights which happened all the time at Arnold. The principle is strict but I think that is what is best to keep the trouble makers in line. The school is in a great area and is kept clean. I don't care what others say this school is amazing in all aspects. I couldn't ask for a butter place for my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This school is not the ideal school to go to. I came from Blackmon Road which is academically the best school here in Columbus Ga. I am in the eighth grade and all advanced classes and I am being taught thing I learned in the 6th and seventh grade. The other students have no respect for adults and the environment of the school is not so great. My rating is zero stars.


Posted September 23, 2013

My daughter transferred here from Midland Middle. She had reservations at first but finds it to be not as bad as she was told. She was assigned to an advanced class and received all As except for one high B. My daughter excells in school but i wonder if the school is too easy. Are the other kids just not trying as hard? Its easy to stand out academically when your surrounded by kids who just dont care to try. You decide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

I went to double churches for 7th and 8th grade. I recently went to two other middle schools, Arnold magnet academy and smithstation intermediate in Alabama. This school was waaaaaaaaaaay better then Arnold. Arnold was the worst school year ever for me, and I got locked outside when i was in 1st grade and the teacher didn't care, and several others things happened. But anyways, There was a lot of great teachers there when i went :) They seemed like a they really cared. I was even in a play in my advance language arts class! :D :P well i was a person that moved the furniture xD but it was fun. I really felt apart of something. I even hung out with some people, out of school c: ...which we aren't really friends anymore. I would recommend this school to anyone that knows how to follow orders and not talk all the time. It seems like the people that would misbehave had a horrible time. I'm in 10 grade now and my review probably means nothing, sigh i'm scared to go to public high school, since i did home-school last year. I just really hope this helps someone out and someone actually reads it ^-^ :) Thank you so much if you actually read this. Good luck.


Posted May 23, 2012

This school's environment directly reflects its rating. It is a 2 of 10. My child was regularly exposed to fights in the hallway, children stealing from other children, and teachers that are only attempting to insure students are minimally passing the crct. They do not teach comprehension and problem solving. My child was an honor roll student, but her performance academically and her homework directly reflected someone being taught the test. I literally spent hours each night teaching her things she supposedly learned in school. The children in this school are allowed to dress like thugs and discipline is very poor. I would imagine the poor learning environment has something to do with why they perform so poorly on standardized testing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

This school is great! I went here 2 years ago and may be coming back soon. The teaching here is really high level. The only problem I have ha with it, is the students. I was a student myself at the school, and I was getting very disappointed at some students because the way they would act towards me. Maybe they were going through some tough times. I don't know. Well, all I have to say is that it's a great school and I can't wait to be back!


Posted May 31, 2009

I requested a hardship for my son this year and it was the best thing that could have happened to him. Last year he had teachers who didn't care about the students (and he knew this). He almost failed. This year He made it to the National Junior Honor Society and had A's and B's all year. He actually likes reading now and loves the teachers. I really believe this school has had such a major impact on my son's life. I couldn't be more grateful to all his teachers this year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

Being a military family, this is now my sons 4th middle school in a little over two years. This school is wonderful! The teachers are wonderful! Linander, K. Roberts, S. Roberts, Clark, and Raines. Everyone has went out of their way to help him adjust and to help me stay on track of my son and his work. Mr. Carter in Guidance is outstanding and the open door policy is in fact open door! Sad to say we are being transferred yet again. We will miss Double Churches Middle School 'great'ly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

Lack of discipline, the kids are really not getting the education they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

We are a military family who moved middle of the school year. My son had failing grades from the previous middle school he attended. He also has ADHD. This school is the best middle school I have ever encountered with our travels. The team of 602 Cares for your child like there is no other. They want to see your child succeed in every aspect of learning! I am so appreciative of Double Churches teaching staff, Mr. Carter, Mr. Hendrickson and everyone involved. My son is now passing with A's! I would recommend this school to anyone! Thank you Double Churches Middle School for your caring support of my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

Being a military family, we moved here just after Christmas 2003. Our son has adjusted to the new school very well. This is in part due to the teachers on team 702. Every teacher shows a genuine concern for their student and they are all very approachable. We feel our son is receiving a top notch education. The Orchestra is small but they pack a punch when they play. The director puts in alot of personal time for one on one instruction after school. The design of the school is awesome along with the different sports offered and elective classes. We only wish they had a baseball team. In all we are very happy with Double Churches and would recommend this school to anyone that asked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2004

We have been very pleased with Double Churches Middle School. We are military and this is our son's third middle school and the best. Dr. Hudson is a terrific principal who is very involved and available. He was at every game home and away, for our son's basketball team ensuring all the kids got safely on the bus most times in the dark. The 8th grade teachers are super and it's been a great preparation for high school. We highly recommend Double Churches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

The Principal as well as other staff members are very friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 37%
White 37% 44%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7611 Whitesville Rd
Columbus, GA 31904
Phone: (706) 748-2678

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brookstone School
Columbus, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT