Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northside High School

Public | 9-12 | 1563 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2012

Mr. Hern wants to put down other people in class (local business owners) but doesn't realize when people fail at life they become high school English teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The newest high school in Columbus, highest scores in testing without being a 'total magnet' and choosing who gets to attend! Wonderful stdent body, very highly qualified staff, strong parent support.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2009

It is consistently at or near the top in academic endeavors, and in many sports endeavors. It has a caring faculty, and guidance department. It is welcoming to learners of all kinds, from autistic students to slow learners, and tries to enable every student to live up his/her potential. It is a magnet school for engineering, so it serves all kinds of learners.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 3, 2009

As a 2007 graduate of Northside, I would like to think that I benefitted greatly from the academic challenges offered to me through my four years of attending NHS. I am now a Junior at the University of Georgia, have maintained the HOPE scholarship, and have intentions on graduating with honors. After much debate and collaboration with my parents and the administration, I left Brookstone school (a private school in Columbus) for the engineering magnet offered at NHS. I ended up leaving the magnet, but still received an AP/honors education from Northside. I was extremely involved with extra curriculars at school and I know a good education may be attained through Northside.


Posted April 17, 2009

The jrotc program is the best! sergeant major guynn is the best. Also lieutenant colonel brewer is a very nice man and they teach the kids structure and do not pressure them about joinig the army. The drill team is fun and they are good also the rifle team is good! the jrotc is the best, hands down, part of the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

My child started at Northside as a sophomore, when we moved here from another state. She is a senior now, and has really enjoyed, and excelled at, NHS. If you are relocating to Columbus, and have a high schooler, consider the following: 1. Northside is the newest school in Columbus, (five years old.) The facilities are great, except there's no auditorium (yet!). However, school spirit at NHS is not quite what it would be at an older, more established school. 2. Northside has block scheduling--not a problem for my child, but still something to consider. She really likes block scheduling--it reduces the amount of homework. 3. The administrators and teachers are excellent, and very responsive to the concerns and needs of new students and parents. 4. As a magnet school, NHS students are used to seeing new students, and are generally friendly and accepting--a plus when you're a new student! (Extracurricular activities help!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2007

Northside High has the best choral program in the county. My son was afraid to sing in High school with fear of a stigma attatched to it. After singing for this year he is sold on staying in chorus. Janet Maple is a wonderful teacher who really deeply cares about her students. My son will continue to sing through high school thanks to Ms. Maple. She showed him he really has a gift. He now wants to follow in her footsteps and become a choral teacher too. This program is not the only thing that makes this school wonderful! A school with a staff like this one has is going to be wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

no real education goes on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

As a teacher myself, I am very picky as to what school I would have my child attend. Together, my daughter, my husband, and I decided on Northside after much discussion. There are several high schools that were acceptable but Northside was by far one of the best. (Being an old Hardaway grad myself, this is huge praise.) The entire faculty and staff are very accessible and helpful. The school is in great shape and has a very nice campus. My daughter has truly loved her four years there. She will graduate in May and I have found Northside so appealing, that in August, my son will begin as a freshman. He never even considered another school after my daughter's great experience. I only wish that the powers that be would see fit to build us an auditorium.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

The extracurricular activities are great! The teachers try to make everyone show their potential! There is alot of parent involvement! This is the school to come to!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2005

I'm currently a sophomore at Northside High. I have recently moved here from West Virginia and my last school did not have block scheduling. It was a hard adjustment and almost everyone made me feel welcome and got me into the new system. Also Northside has a very good band program which I am in. The band shows real school spirit and it is a great atmosphere for any kid. I recommend Northside High to any new students that are going to high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2004

Very good school with caring and compassionate teachers and faculty. This school operates efficiently and with diciplinary guidlines that need to be copied at other area high schools. The Principal and Assistant Principal really care about their students and listen to the parents. The facility is always neat and clean and the students are following order and seem to be respectful of one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

329 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

331 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

328 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

328 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
66%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
70%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
42%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 44%
Black 34% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2002 American Way
Columbus, GA 31909
Website: Click here
Phone: (706) 748-2920

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Shaw High School
Columbus, GA




Brookstone School
Columbus, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT