Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wynnbrook Christian School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2013

My children have been at WCS for the last 2 years. I am very pleased. I have seen my children grow academically and spiritually. It is great to know that my children are surrounded by a staff of professionals who love and care for them. I am very pleased with the principal and teachers. They are willing to communicate with me anytime I have concerns or questions. I would not hesitate recommending this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

Very difficult to write this review. My child has attended Wynnbrook Christian School for several years. Unforunately, we have been forced to make a school change this year. There is no longer a school board with parent involvement. The administration doesn't want parent input. Teacher salaries have been decreased and several outstanding, qualified teachers have made tough choices not to return. New principal for the 2012-2013 school year with questionable experience. Not certain if she even has a degree in education or management. Sadly, parents and teachers only discovered all of this change during the few weeks of July. Shame of Wynnbrook Christian School for the deceit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

My child has been at Wynnbrook Christian School for many years, and I have seen a positive progressive growth in her academic performance. As a practicing teacher in the public school system, I can certainly compare the advantages Wynnbrook has to offer. Smaller classroom numbers, frequent teacher communications, numerous after school activities and a sense of being one big family with Christian values, makes this school an excellent place for your child to grow academically, spiritually and personally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2011

Christian in name, only. From the church leadership down to the principal. Don't waste your time or your money with this school. There are a lot better ones in the community.


Posted June 24, 2011

First rate facilities, first rate teachers (up to 4th grade only) terrible administration. Unless you want your kids to be guinea pigs for a social experiment, I don't recommend. We were here for one year and left. Joke of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

Our daughter has been attending Wynnbrook Christian School since kindergarten and is currently in the 4th grade. With great regret, we moved her last year to the best public school in this area. We quickly saw how even the best academic public school could not compete with Wynnbrook when it comes to academics. Compare Wynnbrook's national test scores to any public or private school in this area and you will see that WCS is by far the highest. Not only did we miss the challenging academic program, but more importantly we missed the loving, nurturing, Christian environment of WCS. The faculty/staff really enjoy doing what they do and it shows. They love the children as if they were their own. The children love each other and are so supportive of each other. We quickly returned our daughter to this wonderful school! Come for a visit and you will love it, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

A wonderful school it is very well rounded in acedemics, athletics, and you can feel Gods presence as you walk in the door.


Posted January 9, 2010

I am so thankful for this wonderful school. As a parent of three children I have experience with both public schools and another private school in the area. This school far exceeds either. Academics are challenging, but presented in a way that does not cause sress for both parents and students. I feel totally confident that my child is receiving a top-notch education, and also that she is exposed to and surrounded by a loving, Christian environment. The facility is breathtaking and the faculty is some of the best that I have ever encountered. If you are interested in a state of the art facility, caring and talented teachers, and your child being surrounded by intelligent, and well-mannered peers, I would encourage you to visit Wynnbrook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2009

It is a great school. I am so thankful that a friend recommended it to me. I can't encourage people enough to take the time and check it out in person. Incredible facility, excellent academics, with the absolute best and totally committed faculty and staff. Check it out!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

I am the athletic director of WCS and I want to say that Wynnbrook Christian School is the BEST kept secret in the Columbus area. We have a fantastic brand new facility, with highly qualified teachers for all grades K-6th. Our athletic programs of cross country running ,wrestling and basketball are some of the only programs offered in the Columbus area. Our Physical Education Program provides your child with professional instruction twice a week. Your child will also have Spanish, Art and Music electives. If you are looking for a school to build Biblical values along with strong academics into your child, Wynnbrook Christian School is your choice.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 11, 2009

My husband and I have had our daughter in Wynnbrook since kindergarten and she is currently in the 3rd grade. We are so pleased with the high level of academics, positive christian values, and family atmosphere of Wynnbrook. The brand new school facility is amazing. The gymnasium is wonderful and the classrooms have state of the art technology with Smartboards. I am so thankful that we can send our daughter to Wynnbrook Christian School. Gracie loves the school and we are so thankful that the faculty and staff love each student and are committed to providing them with an outstanding christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 44%
Black 7% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 River Knoll Way
Columbus, GA 31904
Phone: (706) 323-0795

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brookstone School
Columbus, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT