Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Jackson Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

Awesome school .. Both children exceeded on all state test, and part of the fit club. Also part of the science team that travels and competes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2013

We love East Jackson Elementary, I have three girls two of which attend the school. The teachers are very hands on and encourage me to visit the school regularly and be as active as I can in my child's education. I am definitely pleased with all staff workers as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

they could care less, bad to the bone! Needs lots of improvement.All they want is a pay check.


Posted January 18, 2013

We have been attending East Jackson Elementary for the last 5 years. I have 3 children at the school and we have been extremely satisfied with all aspects of the school. My children have excelled academically and they are supported by a wonderful group of caring teachers. The leadership is second to none and parent involvement is actively encouraged. Thank you East Jackson. We moved to the area 5 years ago and you have definitely exceeded our expectations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

The principal physically put her hands on my child and threatened her. I would not recommend this school to anyone. My daughters teacher constantly yelled in the classroom upsetting my daughter. The principal is not concerned about the health of the students, only her attendence record. She is not friendly at all and she should not be the principal of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

We have spent the last 2 years at EJES and Have been Tremendously pleased!! My daughter has excelled so much and encouraged throughout every step. Everyone is so friendly and I feel very encouraged and comforted knowing that my child is cared for so much while at school. I have been able to be very involved and continue to be a part. We have been so blessed to have had wonderful teachers for the last 2 years and are thankful to be a part of such a caring group of people. Keep up the good work EJES!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

I am so very pleased with EJES beyond what I could have imagined! I started out as a member of the EJES Eagle Aides. I have been so excited about the level of parental involvment encouraged by the administration, especially after reading these reviews. They have such high expectations and help the children achieve a great education. I have also been extreamly proud of the special education program! They are so involved with the children and am not at all concerned about my son receiving a lesser education in their care! I can't thank them enough for all they do for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

I love EJES!!! My son started EJES in Kindergarten when the school opened, he is now a 8th grader at EJMS. This is the ONLY school I would have my children attend. I currently have my girls there in 3rd and 4th grade. The teachers are awesome and are always willing to go that extra mile to ensure the academic success of the students. I appreciate that this school opens its doors wide for parent involvement and I enjoy my time there as part of there Eagle Aide program for parent voluteers. I know that with EJES my children and I will always get the support needed from both teaching staff and administration. Thanks you EJES for helping my children be successful!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

I am not happy with EJES on so many different levels. In my opinion this is not a good school for your child with special needs. They are ill equiped in both training and strategy. Instead of teaching the child they spend more time blaming and attacking the parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

My main problem with this school is that they do not encourage parental involvement at all. They also do not make school fun for the children. They do not offer children the opprotunity to put on plays or have class room parties for special events like some other local schools do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

My daughter attends this school and I the level of teacher involvement, school activities and genuine concern for students is unsurpassed! This is truely a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

I have a son in the 2nd grade and i love this school my other 2 kids also went to ejes that are now at ejms i would not have my kids go to any other schools...East jackson schools are the best good job ejes keep up the good work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My daughter is just about to complete 1st grade and is doing wonderful. She has had wonderful teachers both years and I keep my fingers crossed for that to continue. Her teacher this year has been fabulous. She LOVES what she does and the children respect her. I'm not sure the parental involvement isn't encouraged, but more that you have to seek it out and TELL what you'd like to do vs asking. I tried very hard last year to volunteer and felt I was turned away, but I also have 2 younger kids I would've needed to drag along. I've since made friends with another mother and we alternate weeks between watching eachthers kids while the other goes into the school. It has worked beautifully and I feel my daughters teacher truly appreciates the help. I think there is probably more I could do, but I have to seek it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

My son is in kindergarten this year and is doing extremely well. I could not be more pleased with his teacher and parapro, the specials teachers, the entire staff and especially the Principal. After spending a little time with all of the teachers at EJES, I would not think of having my son go to any other school in this county. Thank you Mrs. Halley and EJES for your professionalism, respect for parents, and love for children and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

My daughter will be attending EJES this year. She will be in Second grade and did attend Kindergarten and First grade as well. As far as the quality of the teachers and academics, there have been no problems, however, there are problems with the standards and leadership qualities from the principal. This area really needs improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

We have three childern that attend EJES and our reviews are mixed. The parent involvment is not at all encouraged, the adminastration does not like to include a hands on approach from parents. The teachers are very eager to help if there are problems, but the adminastration lacks the leadership for this school to be a terrific school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

This school is great as far as the teachers and the gifted program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2006

My daughter is currently in First Grade at EJES. We attended Kindergarten at Commerce Ele last year, and have been much happier with EJES. Their general systems seem to be better planned out, and my daughter now has much more access to music and computer classes. She has learned faster here and likes her teacher much better. I have not really had enough detailed relations with the principal to rate anything, but so far I feel that she does a fine job. I do recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

The academics are fair however the leadership is very poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

At East Jackson Elementary the administration and staff are second to none! The parent-teacher communication is not only welcomed, but encouraged. The student's best interest always comes first. The test scores, quality of teachers, learning environment and level of accountability from administration to support staff is exceptional. From a parent's standpoint, these aspects of a school are very important. I commend everyone at EJES for the job they do! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

90 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

91 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

90 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 44%
Black 7% 37%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Lynn Halley
Fax number
  • (706) 336-7919

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1531 Hoods Mill Rd
Commerce, GA 30529
Phone: (706) 336-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Providence Academy
Commerce, GA





Jefferson Academy
Jefferson, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT