Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Eastminster School

Private | K-12 | 150 students

Our school is best known for rigorous academics and individualized instruction.
 
 

 

Living in Conyers

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $108,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2014

EASTMINSTER EXPLOITS CHILDREN FOR RECRUITMENT!! We have not attended this school for 2 years and they're still using my daughters name and website to recruit future students. I have spoken to board members as well as admin personnel for them to remove their banner from my daughters information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

We are an Eastminster family, and happy to be so. Schools we support with our taxes are not functioning well. We are content to work and pay to be at Eastminster. I give a recommendation commonly given by those who believe in their product. See for yourself. Talk to families who are here, those who have been hardy enough to survive cold front porches and teachers who yell at kids. I have heard seemingly similar experiences referred to as "being a teenage kid at school in the winter." Kids who stay here are excelling in areas of meaningful challenge and becoming strong and useful adults. All of our current seniors will be attending one of the many Universities that have accepted them come fall, excepting one who has deferred several university acceptances until after active service in the United States Air Force. These internet discussions do tend to spiral downwards. The recommendations and counter recommendations for every school covered by "Great Schools" are poor substitutes for first hand observation. I advise prospective Eastminster families to do what I always tell my students to do. Find out for yourself based upon direct observation.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 5, 2014

There are a lot of other private schools that cost less to go to. We're a medium income family who sacrifices and scrimps to send their child to Eastminster School. Our child loves to learn and that's what she does at Eastminster. Regarding the post about a teacher leaving the kids outside in the freezing cold...I find that amusing since my child complains when she doesn't get to go outside because it's too cold and that her teacher forces them to wear heavy coats when it's 60 degrees. Like the weather this winter, there are extremes everywhere! Either way, I highly recommend Eastminster School to any parents looking for a great education in a small school setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

This school is not all that they claim it to be. You pay over $10,000 to go there and you wonder what do they spend the money on. The teachers keep you outside in freezing temperature. One a teacher had forgotten she had a class and they were left outside in 28 degree temperature freezing. One teacher has anger issues and takes it out on his class by yelling at them for something another teacher does. In my opinion this school is just not prepared to be a real school. I suggest they need to have another building for middle school, so that they don't have to wait outside when its freezing cold or raining.


Posted February 26, 2014

Parents pay big money to go to this school, not for advanced academics, but for the opportunity to control their kid's environment, grades, discipline, you name it. However, if you are not in the circle of rich parents who can afford this, your out of luck. Your child's homework, classwork, activities, class environment will be controlled by the few who designed this school to be a bubble for their children. They don't care or want exceptional academics. They want to be able to go on vacation when they want, have their kid never get in trouble, and get A's. There are a few exceptional teachers at this school, as in every school, but unfortunately they can only do so much. We decided we could go to public for free and the kids would actually have a chance at gifted classes where the parents CAN NOT stop a class from progressing because of a few kids whose parents have a large bank account and equally large mouth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

With all due respect for the previous post, Eastminster School will graduate its first senior class on May 29, 2014. Each senior has been accepted into several colleges of his/her choice, with many colleges offering Merit (Academic) Scholarships to these seniors. We could not be prouder of our first graduating class.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 30, 2013

I attended this school until last year. I absolutely loved the teachers there and think that the curriculum was diverse and unique. I also think they have an amazing lower school. However, as a former student of their middle school, I wouldn't recommend it for someone interested in attending. I found it to be dysfunctional and cliquey. The high school isn't outstanding either. The teachers aren't qualified and the program has fallen short on preparing students for college as promised, which is ultimately the reason why I left.


Posted December 3, 2013

I heard that the school is moving to Covington. Not sure when. Maybe for the next school year, or maybe the one after that? The thing is, no one has said anything to the parents. When we ask the staff and school Board members, they just dodge our questions. Why? What's there to hide? Why does Covington badly want Eastminster School there? Peachtree Academy, an independent school is already there. We were told that the school was looking to move into the old Cousins Middle School building in Covington. We heard that that building has many issues, not including asbestos, a detention center located on the same property, and a 911 call center in the back. Parents need to know before they pay any monies for the 2014-2015 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

I'm surprised at some of the negative comments posted here. Eastminster is the best decision my family ever made! My son is in Middle School, and he's attended Eastminster since kindergarten. The motto "Excellence in MIND, BODY, and SOUL" is fitting for this gem of a school. My son has been challenged academically and pushed ahead in math. I'm incredibly impressed with the rigorous curriculum and the project-based learning. They get to take Spanish, Latin, and Mandarin. They have game design and coding classes. The students spend time outdoors every day at break and lunch and take PE all year long. They get to participate in numerous after school sports and clubs. They are active, healthy, and happy. The fine arts program is amazing-- music, studio art, performing arts, and band. The whole-school activities bring a sense of community from kindergarten all the way to the seniors in Upper School. The school has a chapel service every Wednesday, and every child in the school speaks at chapel during the school year. They promote "green" living and community service. I cannot imagine my son in a better learning environment than Eastminster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

Do not keep your child in high school or enroll them for high school. The grading scale will mess them up , in event that they have to move. Teachers sound great on paper, but in the classroom they don't do so hot. Elementary and Middle school program is great but Upper School is failure. Also the headmaster is just plain sorry, then had the audacity to curse at a student in his office. Ridiculous, biased, school. Not worth the money at all.


Posted September 4, 2013

Eastminster School is exceptional. The curriculum is perfect for the advanced student. My children are learning things that are well above their actual grade level. The class sizes are small which allows the teachers to give more attention to each student. The school is overall a perfect environment for an advanced education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

Eastminster School is such a wonderful place to send your children. The small class size and atmosphere of the school really help make students feel comfortable and at home when they come to school. The teachers have a great connection with the students and their parents to help continue the child's learning outside of the classroom. Eastminster is a great place for a child to be challenged academically, mentally, and physically and give them the confidence they need to be successful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 2, 2013

If you are looking for a private school in East Metro Atlanta just to get your kids out of public school but you don't really care about academics, we probably aren't a good fit. If you are looking for a school that offers religion instruction, we feel parents should have that responsibility . But if you want your child to soar academically and be guided by professionals who care about them and treat them as part of a loving community, you owe it to them to contact Eastminster. An actual visit will allow you to experience what our families already know. We have awesome students with supportive families who help make this school very special.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2013

A needle in a haystack! In the search for a school, you won't find another like Eastminster. There's a true sense of caring for each other. It's a school where kind words are the norm and students feel safe. At the same time, students are challenged to reach their potential. If you care deeply about not only your child's education and their academic preparation, but also their character and self-esteem, Eastminster is the place for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

Love, Love, Love Eastminster School. We have been part of the Eastminster family for 8 years now. My child's education is top priority. It is still a young and small school. This makes personal attention easy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

If you're going to send your kids to this school, be sure to read the contract! If you move (even across the country), change schools, or even if your child is expelled (ask the administration how many kids they expelled last year), you will still be responsible for paying tuition for the rest of the year - no exceptions. We moved over 1400 miles away in the middle of the school year and was horrified when the school continued to withdraw money from our bank account after we were gone, and threatened us with collection agencies and lawsuits if we refused to finish paying tuition for the remainder of the year. They claim to be family-friendly, but beware wolves in sheep's clothing. Additionally, not all of the teachers teach the Judeo-Christian principles promised upon enrollment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

I have been at this school for three years now. My children have attended other private and public schools before this one. So, I do have a broader perspective than someone who has only attended one school. I will not pretend it is perfect. No school is perfect. However, I chose this school for its curriculum. And it is outstanding. I have one child who has some special needs and for the first time feels at home. This child was bullied at other schools. Here, this child is accepted and has friends inside and outside the classroom. Academically, my children are challenged above the norm and are supported in areas in which they struggle. Both love the school but will admit it is not for everyone. Not every child is a perfect fit for every school. You have to find the school that best fits your child. In saying this, I would definitely advise you to keep Eastminster on your short list. In response to GOAL: The GOAL scholarship is based on income and the State of Georgia determines how much you are given if the school has the funds available. Your income is reviewed each year and adjusts accordingly. Mine was the opposite. Less the first year, more the next.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

Eastminster is an amazing school. The academics are far superior than other schools. ITBS test scores in the 99th percentile. Teachers are there for every student. While the facilities are not those of an established school my student is getting a great education and experience! Thank you, Eastminster
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2013

This is a sinking ship. Problems include: tuition is too high; money wasted on a teacher this year who was not needed; no lunch room; catered lunches that are too expensive; unqualified teachers hired for upper grades; teachers teaching out of their field; upper school director is rarely on campus; no counselors and no help for special needs students who are accepted. The fitness for acceptance is a joke. Students with issues were accepted and now those students are causing problems in the class that disrupts the good students. Academics are not more in depth than private school. Classes offered in upper grades are limited. Great improvements are promised every year and none of them ever happen. Too many helicopter parents who assume that paying tuition ensures their children are recognized for every minor accomplishment, that their child should be given straight As, and that their child should not be disciplined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

NO LIBRARY. NO COMPUTER LAB. NO SCIENCE LAB. Average academics. Cannot understand parents paying $1k/month for this --- its throwing good money after bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Italian
Spanish
Latin
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Roy Alexander
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (678) 210-2686

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
  • Virtual school
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Field trip transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Bird Watching
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Game club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Sign Language
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
36
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
53

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2450 Lennox Road
Conyers, GA 30094
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 785-6780

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT