Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori School of Covington

Private | PK-12 | 50 students

Montessori education
 
 

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Living in Covington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $102,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 26 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2011

My three grandchildren are all enrolled in this school. As a result of their excellent education, they are self-reliant, resourceful, and creative people. They consistently score well above grade level on standardized tests. But perhaps most important, my grandchildren are happy and they will be lifelong learners.


Posted August 3, 2011

My grandchildren attend Montessori in Covington. They love school and like and respect their teachers. They read at several levels higher than typical children their age, and devour books all year long. Their math skills are superior, owing to a particular teacher who devotes time, energy, and caring to deliver a quality learning experience.


Posted August 3, 2011

My nephew and two nieces attend this school, and I am always so happy to hear about the genuine enthusiasm they have for their school. I hear from them such great stories about interesting projects and topics they are learning about. It is clear that the school instills in the children a true love of learning. What more could a parent ask for?


Posted August 2, 2011

Love the school. Love the teachers. Love the whole concept of Montessori education. Thrilled with my childs 7 years of excellent education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

My son has been attending this school for 5 years now and is entering his sixth. Montessori isn't suited to every child but for mine it is perfect. He excels in some areas and struggles in others but as he is allowed to move forward with what he excels in he doesn't get disheartened and keeps moving forward. He gets extra help with the areas he struggles in and is still staying at grade level in those subjects. The staff are all friendly and thanks to good teacher/student ratios very aware of each child and their daily work. The school encourages parent participation and that can be seen any day that one visits. This of course is not to say the school is perfect. It has been disappointing to see some excellent teachers leave in recent years but the new teachers that have been added all come with Montessori accreditation and are, in some cases, already well known and liked in the community. I plan to have my child attend this school all the way through middle school and would recommend any prospective parents to come visit and see for yourselves how wonderful it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

As a parent of two students at this school I have to say that I m amazed at the growth I ve seen in my children since they began attending. They have really come into their own and learned to be more independent learners, finding things that interest them and knowing how to explore them on their own. I m especially excited about the changes that are being undertaken for the 2011-2012 school year with more Montessori-certified teachers with more years of experience than ever before. The school is beautiful with wonderful indoor and outdoor classrooms as prepared learning environments for the students. The extracurricular activities including piano, violin, and girl scouts are great options but more are needed. Still, this is a wonderful school with terrific students and wonderful teachers who are truly committed to the development of their students. Expect great things in the year to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

This school is small. Therefore a student who has gone to this school from age 3- eighth grade may have difficulty socially if they were to go to a large private high school school or public high school school. It is a VERY sheltered environment. Many may see this as a good thing, but socially it is not. The whole "Montessori" philosophy I personally find ridiculous, but if you want to learn about it for yourself, read some of Maria Montessori's books. Academically this school is excellent. The teachers are extremely educated and qualified for their jobs. The students are taught to be kind and helpful. Age three through third grade I believe are the best years academically and socially in this school. The problem is they group 1-3 grades as a class, 4-6 grades as a class, and 7-8 grades as a class. The maturity level of a sixth grader is higher than that of a fourth grader. The academic level of a sixth grader is higher than that of a fourth grader, yet they do "group" lessons. Overall this is a good school and I would recommend it to parents more concerned with the academic future of their child.


Posted January 25, 2011

I am a student at this school. This school is very small we don't have a gym, library, or cafeteria and there isn't a lot of students either so its hard to make friends, also we don't have extracurriculars. You don't have tests untill your in 7th grade, so you can't see the progress you are making. The thing I like about this school is that all the teachers and students are very nice.


Posted November 18, 2010

I am a student in the Middle School classroom. Ive been going here for about 7 years, and i absolutely hated my 4-6 grade years. I hated my teacher and the fact that the class barely had any people. I had no friends. I entered seventh grade this year and moved into a new classroom because you change classrooms every 3 years. I could never be happier! In 1-6 grades we didn't get grades or report cards, and me and my parents could not see my progress. Starting in seventh grade they give you midterm reports to show how you're progressing in each subject, which is really helpful in showing me which subjects I need to improve in. My teachers are also very nice! I only have 9 people in my class, but this allows me to get to know each person better. I would not recommend taking your kids there before middle school.


Posted August 10, 2009

my child spent two years in a primary classroom at this school, while I loved the social/parental involvement aspects of the school, after two years my child had made a lot of bracelets but had few math and reading skills to show for those two years. I felt like I had wasted my money. Every child is different and I would say if your child needs a little pushing this is not the right school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

My experience has been disappointing when I look at the educational levels of other children my daughter's age that attend private schools. Since there are no benchmarks, it is hard to measure her progress. The school allows students to work at their own pace and sometimes children need more leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

I have two children at the school. One has been enrolled for six years, the other for three. I am very pleased with the school. My children, who are quite different from each other, have confidence in their academic abilities and a love of learning as well as the ability to function independently in areas ranging from food preparation to research projects. Both of my children are well above grade level in reading and math. I have also noted that students who stay at the school for the full program (through grade 8) are well-rounded individuals who have gone on to some of the top high schools in the area. Making the effort to learn about Montessori education at the various levels is essential for parent understanding and communication with teachers. A good book to start with is Montessori Today by Paula Polk Lillard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

This school is little more than a glorified day care center. The academic curriculum and extracurricular activites are sorely lacking. The classes are overcrowded and poorly staffed. Based on the school's policy of no report cards or progress reports , there is virtually no accountability. There are no standards and no leadership. Please dont waste thousands of dollars on this farce. If you can teach your children to be friendly and courteous at home, you'll have acheived the full and total accomplishment of this so- called school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

I disagree with the previous response. I have been delighted with the Montessori School. The Primary Director particularly is outstanding! Besides the basics, they learn Spanish, Music, Drama,and more. The school actively teaches values that I believe in - peaceful problem-solving, self-discipline, love of learning. The curriculum is not only comparable to other schools, the hands-on methods that build a foundation for future lessons is refreshingly logical. Families confused by their methods should read some books on Montessori methods; it will begin to make more sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2005

My child has attended the Montessori School of Covington for 6 years. I believe the education technique is excellent and unparalleled. The cost is reasonable compared with other private schools. The School is very difficult to deal with as a parent and is very rigid. In all situations I'm aware of, the shool is right and the parent is wrong. It can be extremly frustrating as a parent to deal with the rigidity of the leadership. However, the happiness and education of your children is obvious.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public
Private
Religious-based
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jane Moon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Business management

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Developed over 100 years ago, the Montessori method provides a hand-on approach to learning that values each student's unique strengths, differences and educational needs. With a curriculum of math, language, science, practical life, physical education, the arts, computer science and hands-on exploration, students also participate extracurricular activities that encourage real-world application of learning, community service, leadership and peer mentoring.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
10
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
25
Students typically come from these schools
Public
Private
Religious-based

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4208 Summers Street SW
Covington, GA 30014
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 788-7779

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Cousins Middle School
Covington, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT