Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
831 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 94 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pinecrest Academy 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
We came to Pinecrest when my daughter was in middle school. She did not want to switch schools and leave all of her friends, most she'd known since PreK. Within a month at Pinecrest, she'd adjusted to the new environment, began making friends and loved the school. She flourished, and by senior year, was in several honors societies, successfully completed seven AP classes, excelled on the soccer field, and was recipient of several formation and athletic awards. She didn't want to graduate and leave Pinecrest her senior year!

Pinecrest Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Pinecrest is a challenging school, and students work very hard to make the grade. Students who are struggling are lifted up by the teachers and encouraged to strive harder. I think by nature of the curriculum and educational method, students are trained to be determined and to not quit...to keep working. Being a faith-based school, students seem to be willing to persevere through the tough times, all the while being encouraged by their teachers. Many have overcome obstacles and have flourished.


Pinecrest Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Showing respect and dignity for every person on campus is of utmost importance. Children are taught very young to look at their teachers when they're speaking and to respect others at all times. Flash forward to the high school years...I've heard comments that the Pinecrest teenagers are different - in a good way. Well behaved, respectful, nice young ladies and gentlemen. That's what outsiders say about these students.

Pinecrest Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Children are taught to have servant hearts, and service is a huge part of the curriculum. When someone is having a difficult time the entire community rallies around that individual. Acts of charity are very commonly seen on the campus.

Pinecrest Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Because Pinecrest is a Catholic school, its method of education factors in all of these virtues, and the teachers are glowing examples for the students to follow. The children WANT to be honest and they WANT to act with integrity and they WANT to be fair.


Pinecrest Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
Absolutely! PA teaches our students about human dignity and the dignity of others. It is reiterated among the school counselors and teachers as well. They also give The code of Ethics to be signed by each student and the school has had to enforce it on occasion. However, they help them develop the skills to reconcile with God, teachers and other students, apologizing and forgiving and learning to start again.

Pinecrest Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
This MS teacher stayed after class one day to share his personal testimony with my son so that he wouldn't make the same mistake. He saw my son not putting forth his best efforts and knew that he could do better. He had a long drive home but stayed afters school to meet with my husband and I and our son for an hour. My son is now in high school and he'll never forget that day nor the impact that this man made on him. I can't be more grateful for the faculty/staff really putting themselves out there and the way they put their hearts into this school!

Pinecrest Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
Of course there are always some that shine above the rest but I am proud to say that our school is careful in its selection of teachers. I have been so grateful over the years to have teachers who are great role models as well as qualified in their subject. It is obvious that they believe in the mission of the school and they take what they do as formators seriously. I recall a teacher that I was concerned with several years ago. I met with her and she listened to me, we came up with a solution and there was a lot of receptivity.


Pinecrest Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
My little kids have about an hour, my 5th grader about 1-2, same for MS, and my high schoolers anywhere from 1-4 depending on whether they have a paper, test to study for. This seems appropriate. I think what I appreciate is how the school has taught my kids to organize and manage their time. But it is a partnership with the parents, I also echo what the school is teaching about time management.

Pinecrest Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
the sports leadership program is awesome! The coaches have developed this program to really help student athletes see the bigger picture when it comes to sports. The students learn that success does not come easily. It needs to be earned and its up to them to do it. With a lot of encouragement and strong student morale on teams, its a great thing to see these kids push themselves beyond what they thought they could achieve. I can say the same for the faculty who makes themselves available constantly during lunch, before and after class, etc to push and challenge the students to succeed. I am also very grateful to our wonderful academic counselors who regularly meet with students to be sure they are reaching their goals.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pinecrest Academy
955 Peachtree Parkway, Cumming, GA  30041
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 94 reviews. (770) 888-4477
Last modified Pinecrest Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top