Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
831 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 75 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pinecrest Academy 1

Posted February 09, 2016
- a student
I have never experienced such disrespect from administration to its students. Not only is the entire school incredibly disorganized, but it is also very selective in the students they target and punish. A student who gets to class one second late receives the same punishment as a child who skips class. Where's the logic there? Additionally, I have found the school to have double standards for men and women. While the boys can get away with wearing sleeveless shirts and chubbies, a girl who wears a dress to her knees with leggings will get publicly persecuted on dress down days.

Pinecrest Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
Some are amazing (balancing rigor and learning), some are there for a paycheck, some are unnecessarily rigorous and some are just...there.


Pinecrest Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
What is sleep? The teachers do not communicate well. So some days some people will have 3 tests and 2 quizzes. Also the religion and theology department give too much homework. You get a grade for a religion that colleges can see. Most teachers try to be extremely annoying and hard assigning useless homework or giving unnecessarily difficult quizzes and tests. Religion should be a discussion and project based class, not a test/quiz/memorize/homework/grade class.

Pinecrest Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
They respect you if your parents know all the administration. There is favoritism of students whose parents work at Pinecrest.

Pinecrest Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
The gender separation is not fair. I know a guy who's male rank is in the low single digits, but when ranked with boys and girls all together, he's in the high 30s.


Pinecrest Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
If you are a different race, they'll treat you like you dont exist. In other words, you arent treated fair if yiu sre new.

Pinecrest Academy 1

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
i hate this school because the bullying is insane. Apparently the academics are 2 years behind the average oublic school.

Pinecrest Academy 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a community member
We have been at Pinecrest for 7 years and as someone who has read the reviews of the schools for those who actually attend, I would agree that Pinecrest is way above any of the local public schools and as good as the best private schools. Yes you can find examples of specific schools who have a better XYZ program, and maybe a better CDE program at another school. But you are not likely to find a better school across the board. We are also non cathoolics, and I know that is a concern for many in attending a Catholic school. Once we got past the shock of Ash Wednesday, we quickly realized that their teachings are very much in line with our non Catholic Christian teachings (Baptist to be exact). There are not many non catholics at the school, but again their approach is so perfected that it's not the "Catholics Vs. the non Catholics". It's we believe in teaching the values of Christ and how to be a better person both academically as well as spiritually and Morally. I'm not so sure an Atheist would find the school's teaching style as forgiving as other Christians do. So for those of you who are not cathiolic and weary of sending your child to a Catholic school (Just like we were), rest at ease. There will be some questions that come up as to why we don't celebrate Ash Wednesday, or practice confessions. But not once has our child been told that they must do confessions.


Pinecrest Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 06, 2015
- a community member
Not trained well in current educational trends. Consultants are outdated and not based in America.

Pinecrest Academy 2

Posted January 18, 2015
- a parent
This is the fourth year of sending my children to Pinecrest. This is probably the best school for academics and has the safest atmosphere. I am giving it 2 stars because tuition seems to go up every year! I am paying more than most people pay for a year of college! This year, Pinecrest made all the families purchase all the textbooks. These textbooks are not cheap. Even if you purchase them on amazon, it can cost hundreds. I really want my children to stay here, but I cannot financially fulfill that.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pinecrest Academy
955 Peachtree Parkway, Cumming, GA  30041
(770) 888-4477
Last modified Pinecrest Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Pinecrest Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. Top