Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ivy League Montessori School

Private | PK-6 | 75 students

Our School is known for their outstanding teachers and home-like environment.
 
 

 

Living in Cumming

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $204,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted February 7, 2014

Ivy League Montessori School was established in 1991. As the first Montessori school in the area, we feel that we offer a truly authenic Montessori education for children from 18 months to 12 years old. Beginning with our littlest students, our 18 month- 3 year old Mother's Morning Out program consists of 2 morning classes a week. This an excellent way for us to introduce Montessori principles to children. Following the Mother's Morning Out program, children graduate into our traditional Montessori program. Classes are broken into three age levels; ages 3-K, 1st-3rd grade, 4th-6th grade. Our school makes great efforts to ensure that students are placed into the right classroom with the right teacher. All of our teachers have been certified as Montessori teachers and have many years of classrooom experience. Many have been at our school for 10+ years. Please come and experience the difference in a school and staff that has 23 years experience in quality Montessori Education.

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

Ivy League Montessori provides an amazing atmosphere for students to learn. After a negative experience at another local Montessori, we moved our son to Ivey League a year and a half ago. He has simply blossomed at the school. His behavior has improved significantly and he is way above his grade level in his skill set. We love the teachers and staff. The Parents Group is very active and supportive of the school. While we always planned to move our son to public school, we are now staying at Ivy League Montessori next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Ivy League has been an incredible experience for our son. He has thrived and made incredible strides not only educationally but in life lessons. The teachers and administrators are warm, caring, and loving to every child. Another unique aspect to the school is that the parents want to be involved in the school and have an incredible parent group. Parents are always well informed about there children and the school. I can not say enough about this school and everything about it. If I could give more than five stars I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

We are fans of Montessori education for our family but finding the right one with excellent teachers and students was tough in our area. We are on our 3rd Montessori school but have been a part of the Ivy League family the past 5 years. We started out at another AMI school in Roswell and then went to another in Cumming. I didn't pick Ivy League FIRST because of the outside structure being what looks like a small house. There is a lesson in remembering to never judge a book by it's cover because what is inside the school house is happy, intelligent, loving teachers and students that are kind, gracious and truly love to learn. I have 3 children that are in their fifth year at Ivy League and they love school, love the work and love to learn. I never even knew that was possible! I thought kids at that age thought of school as a "had to" and not a "want to". We have a happy home life so it says a lot that my children enjoy going to school AS MUCH as they enjoy being home on the weekends. The teachers, the materials, the parents, the clean environment, the cultural field trips- everything about ILMS is FIRST CLASS. Driving 22 miles so that my kids can attend ILMS is worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

ILMS has a 4 week 'trial period.' On Day 29, they informed us that our child should see an occupational therapist, so we did. The OT, however, did not feel that treatment was necessary. We withdrew our child from ILMS. We had paid for 3 months of preschool; our son was only there for 1 month. The other two months tuition ($1186) was not refunded to us, accompanied by the statement "We are sorry that you chose to withdraw from our school." This money would have covered 6 months of pre-school at our son's new school (where he is thriving and doing very well).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

Both of my sons have been at ILMS for three years and I couldn't be happier with their progress. We moved to Cumming from another state and another Montessori school that we thought was doing a great job. It was only by enrolling our boys at ILMS that allowed us to see what a huge difference there is between schools. Both of our boys started the Montessori way of learning when they were just three years old. I recommend that you get your children going as early as you possibly can, there is no better way for a child to learn and actually retain knowledge than the Montessori way! There is definitely a reason that ILMS has been in business for over twenty years, they are the best by far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

My 3 boys attend this school and I cannot say enough good things about it. My oldest son has been there for 5 years now. The teachers take the time to get to know each individual child and meet their needs accordingly. It truly has become our home away from home. I am thankful everyday that my children are surrounded by such loving, intelligent and patient educators. I love ILMS!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

Ivy League Montessori School is by far the best Montessori school in the area! There are few words that can adequately describe what this school means to our family. Our journey with Ivy League began over 5 years ago when my oldest daughter had just turned 3. When my husband and I toured the school we immediately felt a comfort that we had not felt before while looking at other schools. We now have two daughters in the primary level and one in the lower elementary. Each year ILMS continues to exceed our expectations. The teachers are absolutely phenomenal! Their desire is to provide the best Montessori education in a warm and caring environment. We are blown away by what are children have learned under their instruction. Academically, they are years ahead compared to peers outside their school. I can honestly say that each staff member cares deeply for my children and for my family as a whole. I consider my daughter's teachers and the director of the school to be the individuals that I turn to the most when I need guidance as a parent. ILMS is my children's home away from home. Needless to say, it will be a very sad day when our youngest graduates from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

My daughter has been at this school for three years now. This school and it's staff and teachers has been one of the greatest gifts to my daughter's life and our live's as parents. My daughter is reading on the 2nd grade level at the Kindergarden age 5.5. But, this is not all that is happening there at home our child has now began to do her own laundry, get herself dressed, make her own bed, clean up her own room, keep her play room clean, sweep the floor, and wash the windows to just name a few. This school provides as superior education but also my child's teacher heard about how at home my child was not handling her responsibilities so the teacher immediately called a meeting with myself and my child and she gave us parenting tools. Every time I have used these tools my child is excelling at home too. So as a result my relationship with my child continues to improve because we do not have power struggles at home because I have learned from the ILMS teacher how to empower my child in the home too !! This school demonsrates true love, harmony and compassion to every child and to every parent. You have to come and observe to understand what I am talking about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

I give great respect to ILMS. The environment and teachers both have tremendous influence over my son becoming a well rounded child both educationally and from a character development standpoint. ILMS helps me to parent better while also making parenting a little easier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Do yourself (and your children) one of the biggest favors and tour this school before you commit to one. I searched for a year and visited countless schools and knew the second I met the teachers and tour the school. My children are receiving the best international education with legendary teachers that truly care about the development of your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

We have been part of Ivy League for about 7 years already, having our kids in this school has been one of the best decisions that we have made. The faculty is amazingly good, we have only good words to say about this school. If you are serious about the education of your kids, I cannot recommend a better place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

ILMS has really great teachers and a wonderful group of parents. True Montessori education that adheres fully to its practices and curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

My daughter's friend's son goes there and they love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

Great attention to the children


Posted October 29, 2010

Because the kids love it and thats what counts


Posted October 29, 2010

Best school I've ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

ILMS has the best educational environment for students, parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

Because my friend's sons are BOTH enrolled in this school and they love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

It is a hands on learning center and it teaches above the public school system. all children should have a chance to learn this way
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

Caring teachers with happy students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 32% 3%
Hispanic 11% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 37%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Spanish
Tagalog
Finnish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • MSG Foundation Award (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Finnish
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Becky Carty
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Finnish
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Yoga
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Yoga

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Science club
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Our school is the first Montessori school in Cumming. We have outstanding teachers and amazing families. Our environment is set in a picturesque country setting with a home-like quality. We are accredited with Associate of Montessori Internationale and the Georgia Accrediting Commission for private schools.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
75
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
100

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Other Private Schools
Public School
Virtual Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1791 Kelly Mill Road
Cumming, GA 30040
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 781-5586

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT