Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shiloh Point Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2014

I love Shiloh a lot! And our motto is "Shiloh is a home for the sprit."One reason I like it better than my old school as that we are at lunch at my old school we had cups and if accedently talked you would get in very big trouble and at my new school we can't talk when we were at lunch when there is this soothing kinda ocean music and if u did talk u would some one would have to tell on u.Thats a reason why I like Shiloh point!!!!!!


Posted October 8, 2013

Shiloh Point Elementary has been an incredible experience for our son, whom had transferred from a Private school. The learning and social environment are only exceeded by the level of attention to detail from the Principal to the Classroom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

My daughter goes to first grade and I must say that we are very pleased with her progress. It is an excellent school, great infrastructure, caring teachers, parents are quite involved. I'm sure this one will rise to the top five in the elementary school ranking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

I love our school! We are very satisfied and look forward to a great learning experience! - parent of a 2nd grader, been here since kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

My first grandchild attended Kindergarten at Shiloh Point this past year. I was amazed and delighted with the variety of activities out of the classroom - PE, Media, Art, Music, etc and astounded by the fact my granddaughter was reading within a matter of weeks! Her teacher and parateacher were caring, loving, attentive all with a healthy dose of discipline. Well done!


Posted July 28, 2009

Shiloh Point is an excellent school with outstanding teachers and staff. My son is going to forth grade. I am greatfull for all the school offers and the dedication they have for the students and in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

My daughter was in kindergarten this year at Shiloh Point. We had a wonderful experience with our first year of elementary school here. Our teacher was incredibily professional, attentive, hard-working and nurturing. She recognized my daughter needed to be challenged more and acted on it by individualizing her work to be a little harder than the rest of the class. The technology is great and the parent involvement is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

Shiloh Point is a great school! The principal is very experienced and did a great job on her first year. Teachers are qualified, techonology is very advanced, the Gifted program is superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

teacher turnover is horrible. My daghte had 3 teachers in one year. It is impossible to learn if the county has staffing issues they can not resolve
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

We've moved from overseas in January, and we are so pleased to find such a great school. From the infrastructure to the great care of all the staff and teachers, everything is great. Thanks Shiloh Point. Go sharks !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

After moving here from maryland i have found that this is one of the best schools i have ever come in contact with. the faculty is the most caring i have ever come across. I love the fact that my kid goes to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

162 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

163 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

162 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

166 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

166 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

166 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

200 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 3%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Black 3% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8145 Majors Rd
Cumming, GA 30041
Phone: (678) 341-6481

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pinecrest Academy
Cumming, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT