Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Silver City Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 967 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

The leadership at the school is inexperienced. They have trouble handling situations outside the average or normal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2014

Not good!!! Care more about politics than teaching a child the way they need to be taught!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

5 STARS for Silver City! I have one year left with my little girl and it will be like leaving the family behind going to middle school. Thanks to all the wonderful teachers and staff leadership for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

First of all I am shocked to read the 2 obiviously bitter remarks for Silver City. This is the best school I have ever been associatied. Forsyth County is a great school district as a whole and SCES is a shinning jewel on this crown. Just look at the test scores! The teachers and the administrators are the BEST! Thanks to all of you for making my childs early years so terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Silver City Gets an A+, Great Teachers, Great Leadership! and the PTA works hard. Great Experience! I was very nervous about my child leaving SCES for NFMS but it has been a breeze.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I have had the pleasure of working at Silver City the last five years. It has been a wonderful experience through and through. From the minute you walk into the doors you can get a feel of the warm caring climate it carries throughout the building. There are many friendly faces greeting parents, students, and colleagues each morning. If I were to ever need help with any project, there are many who volunteer their services with open arms. The relationships between the teachers and students and parents is one that is truly geniune. Teachers are always happy to have parent support throughout the day. Students are actively involved and enjoy learning with many engaging activities. I could go on and on, but I can honestly say it is the "best" place to work. The administration are totally supportive of their faculty and our philosophy as a whole is to do what' s best for kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 14, 2013

My child has gone to SCES for 3 yrs and we loved it the first year for Kindergarten, but it has gradually become a nightmare. If your child struggles in the classroom you will be lucky to get him the he needs to succeed. The second grade curriculum is ridiculous and my child never brought home any spelling words to learn how to spell, much less any other academic material. The "homework" was easier than what he did in Kindergarten. The teacher was not engaged at all in her students success. A lot of things have gone wrong in this school the past 2 yrs. I hope it starts living up to the high standards that Forsyth County schools are rated, but until then, we will not be continuing our children's educations there. What a complete disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

My kids went to Cumming Elementary last year, but we moved and now they're going to Silver City. I was sad at first because we LOVED everything about CES. I have to say that SCES is even better. Great teachers, very caring, and my kids are getting excellent educations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

This school, the staff and teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

I have two kids in Silver city, they love it, and so do I great caring staff and excellent, clean building with current technology......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

LOVE this school! 3 of my children have gone here for the past 2 1/2 school years. The administration is great. The teachers are awesome. Special needs program is easily navigated & administered. The school is clean & safe, and everyone seems to really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

My daughter's kindergarten teacher, who was also the designated ESOL teacher, had every child reading by the end of the year. The parent participation is incredible; the principal is great and the teachers are superb. My only complaint is the playground equipment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Amazing school. Great communication with parents. Care for the children and creates in them the assurance that they can succeed in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

157 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

157 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

157 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

163 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

164 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

163 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

160 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 44%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6200 Dahlonega Hwy
Cumming, GA 30028
Phone: (678) 965-5020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT